Old 02-03-2009, 11:52 PM   #31 (permalink)

Credits: 4,912
Originally Posted by stargate View Post
You see why i stop come on this forum. To much soca KKK business going on in here. i see a person like trini trini trying her best to bridge the gap of misunderstanding and seperation between small island soca enthusiatsts and the trini soca enthusiasts and i commend her for that. but then there are people like this BEAN dude and bake and shark (how I see is still holding his postition as the grand dragon of the soca KKK who might as well be shouting white power and calling all small island soca fans, bands and artists NIGGERS) who bring hate, prejudice and bias in the whole thing thus destroying the whole intention of trying to unify and bring togetherness to the whole soca loving caribbean community. sad really. me gone back to largeradio forum.
Stargate? boy i taught u dead somewhere in the gaza stript!
Old 02-04-2009, 12:04 AM   #32 (permalink)

Most of the SONGS are MEDIOCRE. Aryo TRYING to FORCE RIPE the SONGS to mek it look like 2009 chunes BAD like YAZ.

out of over 600+ songs, there R like 3 or 4 HIGH QUALITY chunes out there....the REST are just MEDIOCRE.

But hey, I have an EXTREMELY HIGH STANDARD and ah CAAH LOSER my STANDARD fo MEK ARYO FEEL GOOD about de music that came out for 2009.
I Agree with you. Sometimes I stop myself from responding to some threads involviing some artist because I know ill be labled a hater or bias. But real talk 80% of the tune people on this thread hype up is so average compared to 6-10 years back. Ever since Onika passed each year soca is dry.
Old 02-04-2009, 12:08 AM   #33 (permalink)
IN DE AIR

Credits: 86,828
Originally Posted by Awire View Post
I Agree with you. Sometimes I stop myself from responding to some threads involviing some artist because I know ill be labled a hater or bias. But real talk 80% of the tune people on this thread hype up is so average compared to 6-10 years back. Ever since Onika passed each year soca is dry.
dais true, but i still post cuz i really couldn't give 2 shit wat anyone ah dem has to say.
Old 02-04-2009, 12:10 AM   #34 (permalink)
Gadget Freak

Credits: 4,937
Originally Posted by wadadli 2 the rescue View Post
dais true, but i still post cuz i really couldn't give 2 shit wat anyone ah dem has to say.
+1

Old 02-04-2009, 12:22 AM   #35 (permalink)
soca revolutionary

Credits: 2,708
faye -ann - meet super blue
bunji - plenty gyal
destra - sassines and bacchanal
alison, saucy and desrta- obssesive whiners
iwer -ready
blaxx - thusty
senelle dempster - touch me up
kerwin dubois - put me out.
saucy - licks
see the 10 songs there! 10 out of 100's that have been released so far in TNT. nothing else is worth my time! and trust me i hear them alllllllll!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 02-04-2009, 01:45 AM   #36 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Credits: 36,166
boss

u were in ya right mind, wen u said dat? i doubt yuh fellow trinis would agree wit u on da one deh.
Now he said non-trinis. I would not say non-trinis I would say some non-trinis are like that. Now some members come in here and every season repeat the same thing for whatever reason and it is like wow. Trinbago artist should just stop producing music then since it not quality due to some people's comments.

There is one thing to state an opinion and another thing to generalize because one generalization saying we accepting the mediocre music. Which music is mediocre? What one deem mediocre I in meh glee. Some would make some people feel they are delusional to say yeah that is a good song. I don't have any control over what song is played in a party, fete or on a radio station plus on Carnival day unless the djs give you the option to make requests I have to accept it so. Unless certain things change certain things will stay the same.

Originally Posted by Bean989 View Post
learn what a context clue is.

i'm talkin about people who b!tchin about the music like if somebody owe them something. If it's so easy to please a people with music and live up to potential... why not get hard on your country instead for the same reason?
Some people might act like that but I still don't know why you say non music but ok. You know why some might act so because of some Trinis on here and offline are doing some real fighting down tactics and some Trinis have a pompous attitude like no other island is better than us and we run things. How can we have good relations if some of us behave like Trinis are superior. Heck even some Trinis do this to some Tobagonians. So because of some Trinis act they will come at us hard. Now what will have me creating threads and talking with any member specifically if I catch generalizations and statements not conducive to proper discussions or just plain unfairness.

Soca chat has to change and I will make it my business to ensure that. I don't want see people not feel free to comment. Many of us in here need to learn how to talk to people and state something without being offensive... plus other things. I will come down hard on Trinbagonians if I see other nations being treated unfairly and things being thrown in their faces intentionally and certain non-Trinis who do similarly.
``
President Barack Obama!!!!
Be the change you wish to see in the world.
Let us work with others to change our communities.

Last edited by TriniTrini; 02-04-2009 at 01:49 AM..
Old 02-04-2009, 01:50 AM   #37 (permalink)
Will work for rum

Credits: 57,265
Originally Posted by TriniTrini View Post

Some people might act like that but I still don't know why you say non music but ok.
That was a low blow retaliation to a certain poster to open their eye.
BTW I'm more about defense for my country rather than promoting superiority.
Old 02-04-2009, 01:56 AM   #38 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

You see why i stop come on this forum. To much soca KKK business going on in here. i see a person like trini trini trying her best to bridge the gap of misunderstanding and seperation between small island soca enthusiatsts and the trini soca enthusiasts and i commend her for that. but then there are people like this BEAN dude and bake and shark (whom I see is still holding his position as the grand dragon of the soca KKK who might as well be shouting white power and calling all small island soca fans, bands and artists NIGGERS) who bring hate, prejudice and bias in the whole thing thus destroying the whole intention of trying to unify and bring togetherness to the whole soca loving caribbean community. sad really. me gone back to largeradio forum.

You know mister I often thought about you and small island descent and and a few others and I wonder how allyuh don't come back. Life goes on but if certain members caused allyuh to not feel free to come back that is not good. I hope allyuh don't continue allyuh fights in this thread though. I hope every member contributes to help change the soca industry.

I see most of us here in soca chat who want to see real progress in the industry yet many of us don't know how to talk properly to each other without sounding like a royal a$s since certain comments are so offensive.
``
Old 02-04-2009, 02:00 AM   #39 (permalink)

Credits: 720
bunji - plenty gyal
iwer -ready
blaxx - thusty
saucy - licks
see the 10 songs there! 10 out of 100's that have been released so far in TNT. nothing else is worth my time! and trust me i hear them alllllllll!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
So you really don't rate any of the songs below? Man get out of here with your nonsense about "nothing else is worth my time! and trust me i hear them alllllllll!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

I'll post some more later!

Drunk Again - Benjai Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Till Morning - Kes Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Wanna Make Love - Shurwayne Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Fiyah - Sizwe Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Hold You Down - Zan Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Bumpers - Devon Matthews ft. Ziggy Rankin Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Whole Day - Benjai Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Tanty Say - Benjai Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Jumpie - Blazer Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
3 Colours - Bunji, David Rudder and Faye-ann Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
My Name is Fireball - Fireball ft. Ziggy Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Love Me - Keron James ft. Ziggy Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
This Feeling - Kes the Band Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Thunder - Kes the Band Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
We Own - Kes the Band Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Can't Forget - Jimmy Nutron Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Magic Drum - Machel Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Push Bumper - Machel Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Fly Away - Machel Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Block to Block Remix - Umi and Machel Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Bam Bam - Roboman Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Heavy T Roadmix - Faye-ann Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Jab Jab - Vybe Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Wining Time - Vybe Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Roll Back Yuh Bumper - Terry Seales and Vybe Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Sway In D Mas - Patrice Roberts Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Chippin Down De Road Remix - Ragga Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Sexy Now - Sean Caruth ft. Jamesy P Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Gimme De Wine - Terry Seales Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
No Behaviour - Yung Fire Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Slip Away - Zan Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Out On De Road Remix - Zan ft. Machel Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Nah Nah - Ziggy Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
This Time - Ziggy Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Mr. Walker Remix - Keegan Taylor and Sparrow Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Sexy Shorts - General Gramt http://www.trinijunglejuice.com/musi...exy_shorts.ram
Old 02-04-2009, 02:01 AM   #40 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Originally Posted by ken_yatta View Post
Well, Trinidad, more than any other English speaking Caribbean state is made up of nationals from all over the region and the globe. It has linkages to the French speaking/Afro Creole Caribbean as well as Spanish cultural elements. The Orixa/Shango/yoruba religion links it to Cuba, Page Ranking, Brazil and back to the motherland. I've even read about rada in Trinidad, thought it may have disappeared. Rada survives in Haiti and Colombia. There's a strong East Indian culture, Syrian and other minorities. Before Marley took JA, reggae and rasta international in the late 1970's, Trini kaiso was the dominant sound of the whole English speaking Caribbean (for most of the 20th century). It was an overwhelming influence on Guyanese shanto and Jamaican mento. Calypso was one of the root sounds of Ghanaian highlife and well as the popular music of Liberia and Sierre Leone and was very big in the US and Western Europe in the 1950's. And Trini style carnival brings the region together more than any other form of cultural expression. Though I'm very critical of the current state of the music (recorded soca, not necessarily calypso) the carnival overall, is perhaps, still the best show on earth.
Interesting post wow.
I don't even know what is Rada
I heard about mento but not shanto.
I would appreciate it if you would create a thread or threads on these three and share your knowledge.
As far as the Syrian influence, I think about Mighty Trini. I love him as a singer.
Wow your knowledge is immense too.
``
Old 02-04-2009, 02:22 AM   #41 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

I Agree with you.
Again, just like I asked another member exactly what you agree with?

This Trinbagonian fuh damn sure not trying to force ripe songs to make it sound like 2009 songs seem like more than they are.

This Trinbagonian actually enjoys a good bit of songs I actually heard. I still have a lot to listen to. I can't say most are mediocre cause I have not listened to all but why it has to be mediocre. I might say the concept has been overdone for some and they needed to do more with certain songs.

But what I find with many of Trinbago's critics fail to realize is that we genuinely feeling a huge amount of songs. So why we have to be made to feel like we real dumb for thinking so by some people. It is Trinbago music so of course most of us will be satisfied because many of the songs serve its purpose and many of the nationals are satisfied.

So you mean to tell me you agree that only 3 or 4 are high quality?
What is the criteria that determines a high quality song?
If it is strictly off of foundation soca we can't always compare. This is the age of collaborations and creativity and riddims. How do we know if the 'high quality soca' was fought down and we will never hear it.

And who say we want anybody to make us feel good about our soca. Again it serves certain purposes.

I created 5 Quality Soca threads and if many of you feel Trinbago not producing quality well I created those threads for people to state the quality etc. But only a few bothered. And I appreciated those who took the time.

Sometimes I stop myself from responding to some threads involviing some artist because I know ill be labled a hater or bias.
If you are an adult brush it off. If you are stating something that will have people perceive you as a generalizer and your thought process is not explained properly or other things yeah some will come down on you. But if you don't like Machel or don't like a song feel free to state it. I don't like some Machel songs over the years. Nobody can't tell me anything. I am entitled to my opinion and you too.

But real talk 80% of the tune people on this thread hype up is so average compared to 6-10 years back.
Okay you perceive it as average. I might perceive it as average and sweeeeet. Certain average songs serve its carnival purpose. Do you ever listen to all the songs per year how do you know if all were not given the chance to be heard. Don't forget eh certain die hard fans like a certain style and deem it as good.

Ever since Onika passed each year soca is dry.
You are entitled to say this but share with me what is not dry soca.
``

Last edited by TriniTrini; 02-04-2009 at 02:25 AM..
Old 02-04-2009, 02:40 AM   #42 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Keep stating your opinion. I don't think you ever said anything to rile up or offend anyone.

However, what some of you don't realize that many Trinbagonians are open-minded and will embrace new concepts and collaborations. At first I did not feel Floor on Fire to dance to it. I was happy to see Machel trying something new. And lil John's sillyness is kinda fun. Now I feel like I can dance to it. It have a song with the words Kung fu stylin.... and in part of it I hear wahtaaaaaaaaaaaaaa and I laugh because it sounds unique and I am like I would not have thought of creating a song like that.

I am not a writer or producer but every year these people have to try to come up with a song that works and for people to say all or damn near 96% not good I feel like I get slapped. I see a lot of creativity.

Now what some of Trinbago's critics fail to realize is that some of the music has the concepts from other soca nations so if all of what we do is shit well allyuh people could be perceive as having no talent too then.

I listen to other soca producing nations soca and I am like what the hell am I supposed to do. I don't know how to do the usual dance so I improvise. Some songs I don't feel so I give it a second or third listen to wrap my mind properly to evolve from Trinbago standard to embrace the song fully because some non-Trinbago songs are nothing like some what we do in Trinbago but I will never make it seem like any of it is not quality.

I need all manjack to realize that what we like is what we like and many of us want a certain feeling from songs and we get it. Most of us not trying to get our artists to win awards or some other things some of us on here strive for. Some of us just want to wine. This year one of Iwer songs, faye-ann... does just that plain and simple.
``
Old 02-04-2009, 02:47 AM   #43 (permalink)

Originally Posted by TriniTrini View Post

Okay you perceive it as average. I might perceive it as average and sweeeeet. Certain average songs serve its carnival purpose. Do you ever listen to all the songs per year how do you know if all were not given the chance to be heard. Don't forget eh certain die hard fans like a certain style and deem it as good.

You are entitled to say this but share with me what is not dry soca.
Well I strongly believe soca is not improving...And not in reference to only Trinidad. The caribbean collectively. I see alot of bashing trinidadian sounds and trinidad bashing others when reality neither are rocking the house. Thats all! We hardly produce classics anymore. Songs that last for only that season. The fire isnt there anymore. But as I said earlier my opinion is simply just that. I guess everyone has different standards.
Old 02-04-2009, 02:51 AM   #44 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

bunji - plenty gyal
iwer -ready
blaxx - thusty
saucy - licks
I am not feeling obsessive winers and I don't like the non-remixed version of Iwer's Ready. Did not hear licks or touch me up or bacchanal

Man why you have to say it like that it it come off like you know all and what you don't like is not good. Now I am not trying to talk you bad or nothing eh. Above I just stated what I did not like and did not hear. Some of what weslee posted and I heard makes my list much longer than yours. You know what you like. I can't knock that

Originally Posted by weslee View Post
So you really don't rate any of the songs below? Man get out of here with your nonsense about "nothing else is worth my time! and trust me i hear them alllllllll!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

I'll post some more later!

Drunk Again - Benjai Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Till Morning - Kes Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Wanna Make Love - Shurwayne Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Fiyah - Sizwe Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Hold You Down - Zan Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Bumpers - Devon Matthews ft. Ziggy Rankin Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Whole Day - Benjai Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Tanty Say - Benjai Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Jumpie - Blazer Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
3 Colours - Bunji, David Rudder and Faye-ann Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
My Name is Fireball - Fireball ft. Ziggy Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Love Me - Keron James ft. Ziggy Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
This Feeling - Kes the Band Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Thunder - Kes the Band Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
We Own - Kes the Band Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Can't Forget - Jimmy Nutron Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Magic Drum - Machel Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Push Bumper - Machel Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Fly Away - Machel Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Block to Block Remix - Umi and Machel Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Bam Bam - Roboman Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Heavy T Roadmix - Faye-ann Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Jab Jab - Vybe Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Wining Time - Vybe Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Roll Back Yuh Bumper - Terry Seales and Vybe Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Sway In D Mas - Patrice Roberts Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Chippin Down De Road Remix - Ragga Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Sexy Now - Sean Caruth ft. Jamesy P Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Gimme De Wine - Terry Seales Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
No Behaviour - Yung Fire Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Slip Away - Zan Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Out On De Road Remix - Zan ft. Machel Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Nah Nah - Ziggy Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
This Time - Ziggy Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Mr. Walker Remix - Keegan Taylor and Sparrow Toronto-Lime.com - Soca Track
Sexy Shorts - General Gramt http://www.trinijunglejuice.com/musi...exy_shorts.ram
I am seeing eye to eye with some of the songs I heard that you just listed. Different strokes for different folks. It seems like I need to listen to those songs when I am not home oui cause I still have tons to give a listen to.
``
Old 02-04-2009, 02:53 AM   #45 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Originally Posted by Bean989 View Post
That was a low blow retaliation to a certain poster to open their eye.
BTW I'm more about defense for my country rather than promoting superiority.
or hor. Cool
Ah done say blaze anybody who dissing any country unfairly.
``