Old 02-03-2009, 01:54 AM   #16 (permalink)

Credits: 140,726
Originally Posted by ken_yatta View Post
I probably have more music from Trinidad and Tobago than many of you diehard soca defenders. However, like many soca lovers, I don't care for much of what I hear today. Maybe it's because I'm not Trini and can be more objective or an artist myself, so I have higher standards. BTW, I can't tek American rap or R&B. I have over a thousand CDs from Angola to Zimbabwe, Aruba to Surinam, so I have plenty ah music to tek meh away. An older Trini friend, who's a well known artist there, told me that most Trinis "don't care about music." He meant music as an art form, not just seasonal fluff that you jump up to. I wonder if he was right.
HE RIGHT yes, because he ah TAWK TRUTE.

SPARROW said EXERCISE chunes are what TRINIS CONSIDER GREAT music.

Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 02-03-2009 at 02:37 AM..
Old 02-03-2009, 02:32 AM   #17 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Credits: 35,928
Let me make it clear eh this is not a thread to bash ken_yatta eh.
I asked pointed questions because I detest generalizations and blanket statements.
To understand a mindset I have to ask to know more.
To encourage discussion in soca chat I will ask pointed questions.
I can dislike a person or I can have opposite point of views to my nemesis but at the same time agree to some things. And quite possibly I will modify mine if it makes sense.

I will address the first post ken_yatta's posted in this thread next.
``
President Barack Obama!!!!
Be the change you wish to see in the world.
Let us work with others to change our communities.
Old 02-03-2009, 02:42 AM   #18 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

I probably have more music from Trinidad and Tobago than many of you diehard soca defenders.
Nuff respect and I am betting not pirated copies right? But what are they defending? Some are diehard fans, some love Trinidad and Tobago bad bad and won’t tolerate certain comments especially how it is phrased, and genuinely know of some quality coming out of Trinbago and are highly pissed at some of the crap coming out of some people's posts, which show that they have absolutely no clue of our talent. Some are friggin bandwagonists too….

However, like many soca lovers, I don't care for much of what I hear today. Maybe it's because I'm not Trini and can be more objective or an artist myself, so I have higher standards.
You are entitled to do that but what about those who are die hard fans of some artists and love it how they bring it. I listened to some soca this year and a good bit are wining, jamming songs yet I have not listened to all yet but I am impressed. Zan, Shurwayne, Kerwin Dubois, Sean Caruth, Destra, Bunji, Faye-Ann, Kes the Band, Hunter, KMC... have at least one song I like bad from their released songs. Now this is the more popular crew I listed. I still have a whole bit to listen to.

Nooner is not Trini and he has good taste in Soca. He posted a thread with about 6-8 songs and they were great. Not many people took the time to take a listen. I bigged up Bajan, Antiguan, Vincy Music before and I am a proud Trinibagonian. A friend of mine shared a mix he has with me and man Trinbago Soca sounding nice if only DJs and radio stations etc would do things right and push the good good ones no matter the entertainer’s name. You don’t have to be Trini or Trinibagonian to know good music. You know what you like you know quality and you have your tastes Kenyatta. There is nothing wrong with having your tastes at all. You are unique and you have given good opinions in the past.

What I have a problem with, is your statements, you are entitled to it and when I broke down your comments in 3 or more quotes, I asked pointed questions because your posts comes across as generalizations. I will expand on my thoughts of this year soca some other time. Some are excellent, some good, some okay, some blah....

When I was at work late, I blasted uptempo soca music late last week and man it had me in meh glee and distracted me from my tiredness. It was not even the boss tunes of yesteryear. It was 2008/2009 soca. It have the ruff winers crew, the powder posse, the get on bad crew, they need songs that will give them what they need. And Carnival needs get on bad wine, jump, jam, wave tunes for the nature of it. Now, does a Carnival song need to have the words I just mentioned? No. It should make you want to sing along and have a time.

I can't tek American rap or R&B. I have over a thousand CDs from Angola to Zimbabwe, Aruba to Surinam, so I have plenty ah music to tek meh away.
I read your posts before you seem knowledgeable. I wish I obtained a lot of collections like you. The world has a lot of beautiful music.

An older Trini friend, who's a well known artist there, told me that most Trinis "don't care about music." He meant music as an art form, not just seasonal fluff that you jump up to. I wonder if he was right.
I don’t know if most Trinis don’t care. I know there are those who don’t but I can’t say what segment. But the question becomes what music some Trinis don’t care about.

Soca is an artform. It includes seasonal fluff which I consider necessary even if I don’t want to hear some ever again. It served its purpose for that year. This is why I created the 5 Quality Soca:” threads recently. I tired hear what soca is not. I want more discussions of what it is, what is good about it and where we have to take it. Also, I am seeking how to support those who think outside the box and make soca for not just round Carnival time.

to be continued off to bed......
``

Last edited by TriniTrini; 02-03-2009 at 02:45 AM..
Old 02-03-2009, 04:35 AM   #19 (permalink)

Credits: 14,067
I have the original of this song somewhere and it wasn't done by Baron. I've stated several times on imix that Trinis have the richest culture in the English speaking Caribbean, you people just not living up to your potential. It's you who need to love your own first (I should post the old Stalin chune) and demand the best from your artists.
Oh lord here we go again....how you quantify this breds?
Old 02-03-2009, 07:17 AM   #20 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Originally Posted by BRIAN View Post
Opinions are something else huh? Everyone has them, and the fricking thing about it is they feel like they're free to express them. And no, I don't agree with him, as long as folks are jumping up, enjoying, and vibesing to the music that's all that matters to me..... but like you, he's expressing how he feels.

He is entitled to his opinion. Won’t knock him for that but I am preparing to start off some intense discussions because some things can’t be said without keeping in mind some factors that keeping certain things the way they are. And I detest generalizations which I see in this forum a number of times. So this is why I asked pointed questions. He could very well present some good insights if given the opportunity.

If we chase away people who have different opinions from us we might miss on a good discussion and an interesting point of view. Sometimes if we ask what do you mean by what you said here they can get a chance to explain themselves and might see that they made a bad statement.

Sometimes people ask a question and because members of the imix class feel it stupid they will diss them. The stupidest question is the one not asked. But this is my approach. Others entitled to their approaches.

Why can't the blasted question get an answer instead of some of us insulting the person. We can't push away those with differing opinions. Persons with opposite opinions to mine should not beat me on the head with theirs. It does not ensure I agree with that person any faster or will guarantee that I do.
``

Last edited by TriniTrini; 02-03-2009 at 07:29 AM..
Old 02-03-2009, 07:36 AM   #21 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

I have the original of this song somewhere and it wasn't done by Baron. I've stated several times on imix that Trinis have the richest culture in the English speaking Caribbean, you people just not living up to your potential. It's you who need to love your own first (I should post the old Stalin chune) and demand the best from your artists.
Please talk about the original some more. Thanks for your comments. Although flattering, you might be better off saying "one of the richest cultures" or simply a rich culture. We have to keep in mind
Trinis are not the only ones on this board. Many Trinis have doh study it attitudes or don’t want to try to look forward in to the future etc to put things in place for the betterment of our culture and a number of things.

Those of us who are forward thinking are trying to make changes but there should be some sort of body formed to finally take things to a different level. And frig mainstream eh for the moment. Can we have fairness, equality and more professionalism? Please go in the Quality Soca threads and share you input. I also want to demand more from my artists. There are many who display good talent but the question is who is fighting them down. And there is a lot of that going on.

Well I see you did not answer the questions in my first post.
If you don't want to fine.
I still would like to have a discussion.
``
Old 02-03-2009, 07:45 AM   #22 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Originally Posted by Bean989 View Post
Why are non Trinis only studyin we and we music
Some genuinely care about our betterment and success. Others have other agendas.

...when they could waste their time studying how to make music in their non music country?
explain this part please especially the last 3 words

If you like it, say so. If you don't, say so. But don't come talkin no shit bout we only care to jump up to garbage and dont care bout music. If we didn't care about music we wouldn't have all these genres (besides soca) still alive in the country. And you must be alone if you thinking soca 2k9 is garbage.
I agree.
Steups I have not even gotten a chance to check on Rapso and other forms man. 3 Canal and Remy I wonder about. Ken_yatta mentioned 3 Canal. People doh be afraid to big up non soca songs outta Trinibago ah mean who stopping yuh. All Trinbago artists need support.
``
Old 02-03-2009, 08:04 AM   #23 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Most of the SONGS are MEDIOCRE. Aryo TRYING to FORCE RIPE the SONGS to mek it look like 2009 chunes BAD like YAZ.

out of over 600+ songs, there R like 3 or 4 HIGH QUALITY chunes out there....the REST are just MEDIOCRE.

But hey, I have an EXTREMELY HIGH STANDARD and ah CAAH LOSER my STANDARD fo MEK ARYO FEEL GOOD about de music that came out for 2009.
What are the three or 4 that are the high quality songs you are referring to? Surely you could have listed what they are here. Why use brevity now? Surely you realize people will be curious, especially with yuh reputation and all (good and bad)?

As far as your high standard goes, God bless yuh. However, I feel good about 2009 soca. This is all that matters to me and numerous other Trinbagonians. I agree there could be better. Nobody eh stating not to state your displeasure but yuh could ease up. I don't think Trinbagonians take the time to diss other soca as much as we get blaze every flicking year unfairly.

Some Trinbagonians might not even bother to give a listen to non-Trini music. That is sad. Like I said before I have bigged up many songs from soca producing nations. If I can do that why is it so hard to state what yuh like without putting down my entire nation with the usual or should I say the Trinis, the damn flicking Trinis. If is so people like it lehwe go down the road. I can go outside of my nature to prove a point.

As people stated before your knowledge is immense ease up on your approach. If you don't want to fine. I value your opinion on many things but man yuh does go overboard.

Now if you want to respond to this fine. But do me a favor please don't respond in blue in between one quote. Can you use my technique of copying the whole quote 5 times or so and state your views. I will respond to you. I don't want extra work. If not do you.
``
Old 02-03-2009, 08:10 AM   #24 (permalink)
IN DE AIR

Credits: 86,825
Why are non Trinis only studyin we and we music and what we do to our music when they could waste their time studying how to make music in their non music country?
boss

u were in ya right mind, wen u said dat? i doubt yuh fellow trinis would agree wit u on da one deh.
Old 02-03-2009, 09:59 AM   #25 (permalink)
READY FOR SPICEMAS 2kWINE

Credits: 10,105
I probably have more music from Trinidad and Tobago than many of you diehard soca defenders. However, like many soca lovers, I don't care for much of what I hear today. Maybe it's because I'm not Trini and can be more objective or an artist myself, so I have higher standards. BTW, I can't tek American rap or R&B. I have over a thousand CDs from Angola to Zimbabwe, Aruba to Surinam, so I have plenty ah music to tek meh away. An older Trini friend, who's a well known artist there, told me that most Trinis "don't care about music." He meant music as an art form, not just seasonal fluff that you jump up to. I wonder if he was right.
and he is a ################ and so are u! i try my best to leave this alone but the generalizations is crazy in this forum!
Old 02-03-2009, 11:42 AM   #26 (permalink)

Credits: 697
Originally Posted by Picong View Post
at first i thought ken_yatta was a girl......well because of d name of course........now i realize he just a khunt
Isn't it a spin of Yatta Ken, Sizzla's judgement yard artist?
Oh well... @ Baron again.
I take it neither one of you have ever heard of Jomo Kenyatta?

At any rate, I hardly ever see eye to eye with the dude on Soca, but I have no problem with his comments.
Old 02-03-2009, 12:18 PM   #27 (permalink)
Above and Beyond

Credits: 42,663

Oil & Music F.David Rudder (Illusion Road Mix)(2008 Trinidad)(New Release!!!!) - Machel Montano

Last edited by Lieutenant; 02-03-2009 at 12:35 PM..
Old 02-03-2009, 12:43 PM   #28 (permalink)
Will work for rum

Credits: 57,188
Originally Posted by wadadli 2 the rescue View Post
boss

u were in ya right mind, wen u said dat? i doubt yuh fellow trinis would agree wit u on da one deh.
learn what a context clue is.

Originally Posted by TriniTrini View Post
Others have other agendas.

explain this part please especially the last 3 words
i'm talkin about people who b!tchin about the music like if somebody owe them something. If it's so easy to please a people with music and live up to potential... why not get hard on your country instead for the same reason?
Old 02-03-2009, 11:07 PM   #29 (permalink)

Credits: 2,290
Originally Posted by YardiePrincess View Post
Oh lord here we go again....how you quantify this breds?
Well, Trinidad, more than any other English speaking Caribbean state is made up of nationals from all over the region and the globe. It has linkages to the French speaking/Afro Creole Caribbean as well as Spanish cultural elements. The Orixa/Shango/yoruba religion links it to Cuba, Page Ranking, Brazil and back to the motherland. I've even read about rada in Trinidad, thought it may have disappeared. Rada survives in Haiti and Colombia. There's a strong East Indian culture, Syrian and other minorities. Before Marley took JA, reggae and rasta international in the late 1970's, Trini kaiso was the dominant sound of the whole English speaking Caribbean (for most of the 20th century). It was an overwhelming influence on Guyanese shanto and Jamaican mento. Calypso was one of the root sounds of Ghanaian highlife and well as the popular music of Liberia and Sierre Leone and was very big in the US and Western Europe in the 1950's. And Trini style carnival brings the region together more than any other form of cultural expression. Though I'm very critical of the current state of the music (recorded soca, not necessarily calypso) the carnival overall, is perhaps, still the best show on earth.
Old 02-03-2009, 11:39 PM   #30 (permalink)
soca revolutionary

Credits: 2,695
You see why i stop come on this forum. To much soca KKK business going on in here. i see a person like trini trini trying her best to bridge the gap of misunderstanding and seperation between small island soca enthusiatsts and the trini soca enthusiasts and i commend her for that. but then there are people like this BEAN dude and bake and shark (whom I see is still holding his position as the grand dragon of the soca KKK who might as well be shouting white power and calling all small island soca fans, bands and artists NIGGERS) who bring hate, prejudice and bias in the whole thing thus destroying the whole intention of trying to unify and bring togetherness to the whole soca loving caribbean community. sad really. me gone back to largeradio forum.

Last edited by stargate; 02-03-2009 at 11:54 PM..