Old 02-02-2009, 09:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Credits: 35,109
Question ken_yatta I would like to chat with you...

So I was viewing a thread today and I have a few questions. I like to see where people are coming from and perhaps I can learn a few things and others too.

Originally Posted by ken_yatta View Post
I agree you you totally VP.
What exactly do you agree with?

As long as these Trinis accept mediocre soca music then it will never improve.
For clarification, what Trinis are you referring to?

How is it they are accepting mediocre music?

Who deems music to be mediocre?

What is mediocre music?

How is it you know for sure it will never improve due to "mediocre music". Is it possible some people are trying to change the industry while some songs from certain artists are pushed ad nauseum? Can you admit that there has been some progress?

When trinis get some rum in dey system, they'll jump up to any garbage.
Can your garbage be my nourishment or fun?

How did you come to this statistic... was it strictly those you used as your data below?

Actually, the statement above was inspired by some Trinis that I used to jump up with.
``
President Barack Obama!!!!
Be the change you wish to see in the world.
Let us work with others to change our communities.
Old 02-02-2009, 09:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Got Kompa?

Credits: 15,634
this should be good one oui
Old 02-02-2009, 09:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
rum rum and more rum

Credits: 29,581
Originally Posted by tikreyol View Post
this should be good one oui
move over and pass the beer for me please

I love Sweet Original Creative Audio (SOCA)
Old 02-02-2009, 09:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

Credits: 15,817
if yatta thinks the soca from this year is mediocre music- you clearly don't like soca music- that goes for VP and any other naysayers as well

go jump to some Alicia Keys or John Legend or some mainstream music
Old 02-02-2009, 09:41 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 266,265
at first i thought ken_yatta was a girl......well because of d name of course........now i realize he just a khunt
Old 02-02-2009, 09:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Gadget Freak

Credits: 4,920

Old 02-02-2009, 09:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Above and Beyond

Credits: 46,103

Calypso & Soca--Baron - Portrait of Trinidad .mp3 - Baron

Last edited by Lieutenant; 02-02-2009 at 09:58 PM..
Old 02-02-2009, 09:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Freedom

Credits: 44,163
Originally Posted by Picong View Post
at first i thought ken_yatta was a girl......well because of d name of course........now i realize he just a khunt
Old 02-02-2009, 10:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Will work for rum

Credits: 54,825
Originally Posted by Picong View Post
Isn't it a spin of Yatta Ken, Sizzla's judgement yard artist?
Oh well... @ Baron again.
Old 02-03-2009, 12:36 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 2,272
I probably have more music from Trinidad and Tobago than many of you diehard soca defenders. However, like many soca lovers, I don't care for much of what I hear today. Maybe it's because I'm not Trini and can be more objective or an artist myself, so I have higher standards. BTW, I can't tek American rap or R&B. I have over a thousand CDs from Angola to Zimbabwe, Aruba to Surinam, so I have plenty ah music to tek meh away. An older Trini friend, who's a well known artist there, told me that most Trinis "don't care about music." He meant music as an art form, not just seasonal fluff that you jump up to. I wonder if he was right.
Old 02-03-2009, 12:37 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 9,004
Originally Posted by soca control View Post
if yatta thinks the soca from this year is mediocre music- you clearly don't like soca music- that goes for VP and any other naysayers as well

Opinions are something else huh? Everyone has them, and the fricking thing about it is they feel like they're free to express them. And no, I don't agree with him, as long as folks are jumping up, enjoying, and vibesing to the music that's all that matters to me..... but like you, he's expressing how he feels.
Old 02-03-2009, 12:41 AM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 2,272
I have the original of this song somewhere and it wasn't done by Baron. I've stated several times on imix that Trinis have the richest culture in the English speaking Caribbean, you people just not living up to your potential. It's you who need to love your own first (I should post the old Stalin chune) and demand the best from your artists.
Old 02-03-2009, 01:40 AM   #13 (permalink)
Will work for rum

Credits: 54,825
Why are non Trinis only studyin we and we music and what we do to our music when they could waste their time studying how to make music in their non music country? If you like it, say so. If you don't, say so. But don't come talkin no shit bout we only care to jump up to garbage and dont care bout music. If we didn't care about music we wouldn't have all these genres (besides soca) still alive in the country. And you must be alone if you thinking soca 2k9 is garbage.
Old 02-03-2009, 01:50 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 129,617
Originally Posted by soca control View Post

Most of the SONGS are MEDIOCRE. Aryo TRYING to FORCE RIPE the SONGS to mek it look like 2009 chunes BAD like YAZ.

out of over 600+ songs, there R like 3 or 4 HIGH QUALITY chunes out there....the REST are just MEDIOCRE.

But hey, I have an EXTREMELY HIGH STANDARD and ah CAAH LOSER my STANDARD fo MEK ARYO FEEL GOOD about de music that came out for 2009.
Old 02-03-2009, 01:53 AM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 80,775
Stupes hear this next cunt. ^