islandmix.com register | Connect with Facebook islandmix rss feed | Contact Us | Static Radio Live
Old 02-07-2012, 09:20 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 17,590
kartelization of soca, and where Machel went wrong in 2012

Looking at most of machel's song this year they are great songs. the problem is he released way to many song in such a short time span. Vybz kartel is known for releasing a new single almost every week, i.e kartelization. He saturates the Dancehall market to remain on top. Personally i don't think this can work in Soca, especially when there is competition involved. songs like vybes cyah done, represent, mr. fete, etc are all good songs. The problem is when u trying to enter a competition you have no idea which song to push most. Your songs end up being watered down, and diluted because the fans are briefly hearing it. In addition when your songs are on riddims, it also dilutes the song. All the riddims machel's on this year, the other artist on those riddims got bigger leverage than he did. In my opinion bachannalist is just a clone of wotless; don't get me wrong it is a awesome tune, but personally i like vybes cyah done more. its something new and its not the "no pain" to "come to meh" as "bachannalist" to "wotless." ...I hope machel learns from his mistake, cuz i dont think he winning nothing this year.

Join me on twitter Petition @intlsocamonarch in support of @1FarmerNappy . we need justice. @CNC3Television @TriniGuardian #internetisstrong

Old 02-07-2012, 09:32 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 98,276

Machel contributions taken as a whole...PYF not withstanding...is outstanding this year. Right now i'm counting five of his songs which are definitely on my playlist for this coming summer.

I also whole heartedly agree about too many good songs being crammed into this short two month season. It doesn't make sense. A lot of those songs will get ignored despite the fact that they are good songs....and i'm talking about trini soca as a whole. People must have enough courage to start releasing songs in April and August as well.
Old 02-07-2012, 09:39 PM   #3 (permalink)

yes PYF was the only shit tune...every other i thought was good. in fact i think his album is going to be awesome. In terms of number of hit song this year i have to give it to him and bunji. I look forward to both their albums.

Join me on twitter Petition @intlsocamonarch in support of @1FarmerNappy . we need justice. @CNC3Television @TriniGuardian #internetisstrong

Old 02-07-2012, 10:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Credits: 22,127
Originally Posted by readingtrini View Post
yes PYF was the only shit tune...every other i thought was good. in fact i think his album is going to be awesome. In terms of number of hit song this year i have to give it to him and bunji. I look forward to both their albums.
Nothing is wrong with Machel releasing loads of greats songs especially if he is doing a double album this year in celebration of 30 years in the business!

The problem with us is that so many of us are caught up with our seasonal carnival mentality that we can’t see that some of these great songs by Machel are designed to be played all year round and will be played by DJs like myself once carnival is over if we have any ambition and want to support good music!!

This is why I have to laugh at folks who keep crying about PYF and even the video! The man already has another great uptempo song in "Revelling" and his album will be one of the best to hit the street for years but men still sitting there and criticising!!

I just waiting for PYF to win SM or RM to hold my belly and laugh at some of you folks on this site who have been trying to condemn MM for one song when he has so many other great songs out this year!!

All I have to say is good going Machel and keep doing your thing!!

Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer"
Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London
On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM)
www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd
email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk

Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!!
Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology!
Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!!

Last edited by Socapro; 02-07-2012 at 10:24 PM..
Old 02-08-2012, 07:05 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 5,960
Originally Posted by Socapro View Post
Nothing is wrong with Machel releasing loads of greats songs especially if he is doing a double album this year in celebration of 30 years in the business!

The problem with us is that so many of us are caught up with our seasonal carnival mentality that we can’t see that some of these great songs by Machel are designed to be played all year round and will be played by DJs like myself once carnival is over if we have any ambition and want to support good music!!

This is why I have to laugh at folks who keep crying about PYF and even the video! The man already has another great uptempo song in "Revelling" and his album will be one of the best to hit the street for years but men still sitting there and criticising!!

I just waiting for PYF to win SM or RM to hold my belly and laugh at some of you folks on this site who have been trying to condemn MM for one song when he has so many other great songs out this year!!

All I have to say is good going Machel and keep doing your thing!!
Not to mention his 30 yrs contribution of steady hits. one shit tune cant faze me. i got other tunes to listen to.
Old 02-08-2012, 10:12 AM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by PineHill View Post
Not to mention his 30 yrs contribution of steady hits. one shit tune cant faze me. i got other tunes to listen to.
But that one shit tune is over shadowing the other tunes, cuz machel is pushing it the most.

Old 02-08-2012, 10:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
Higher Level

Credits: 4,863
But that one shit tune is over shadowing the other tunes, cuz machel is pushing it the most.
I know right! Lord forbid an artiste to push their competition contender tune the most!
Old 02-08-2012, 11:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Originally Posted by Lynch HD View Post
I know right! Lord forbid an artiste to push their competition contender tune the most!
Yuh now see for yourself some of the narrow-minded statements that some posters on this site are prepared to proudly come out with?!

A man must not push his competition song and he had one which was not better that helped him win $2 million plus T&T road march last year!!

Well I tell you!!

www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd

Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology!

Old 02-08-2012, 01:10 PM   #9 (permalink)

Yuh now see for yourself some of the narrow-minded statements that some posters on this site are prepared to proudly come out with?!

A man must not push his competition song and he had one which was not better that helped him win $2 million plus T&T road march last year!!

Well I tell you!!
Ok u must be the trini VP, cuz u talking out your arse. Advantage is far better than PYF. Get your ears fix son, PYF is shit. This is the first time ever machel's road march contender is not on my playlist.

Old 02-08-2012, 01:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Ok u must be the trini VP, cuz u talking out your arse. Advantage is far better than PYF. Get your ears fix son, PYF is shit. This is the first time ever machel's road march contender is not on my playlist.
That is it, forming an opinion on good music is a highly subjective thing!
In my opinion "Advantage" is no better musically and as a song than PYF, but the main advantage "Advantage" had last year over other songs was timing and topic with the stage coming back and all that after many years of absence!

Apart from the topic and great timing to me personally "Advantage" is not much better than "PYF" it at all.

As a consequence it wouldn't surprise me in the least if Machel takes both the 2012 SM & RM titles with “PYF” because as everyone has already acknowledged the quality of power soca competition for Machel is relatively weak this year!

P.S.
Please don't paint me in the same light as VP or I will be forced to stop posting on here to save myself any further embarrassment!

www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd

Old 02-08-2012, 01:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
Higher Level

Credits: 4,863
That is it, forming an opinion on good music is a highly subjective thing!
And this is what most people need to realize.

Saying PYF is shit doesn't make it gospel for anyone but yourself, but hey .. if a shit song made so much people get on in fetes then the guy must be doing something right ent?

Originally Posted by readingtrini
This is the first time ever machel's road march contender is not on my playlist.
Oh no! What a catastrophe!
Old 02-08-2012, 03:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
Manchester United

Credits: 92,479
I think Machel should hire Reading Trini to write him ah big soca hit that go win everything for the carnival season, leh we geh couple verses of yuh big soca hit nah RT? leh we hear/see what yuh got.

United we stand, divided they fall. GGMU

Old 02-08-2012, 06:26 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 925,021
well said.......i stand by PYF being Antz reincarnated and the arrogance with pushing both tunes the same way..........maybe he plan to take next year off like he did before

*Recalibrating*

Old 02-08-2012, 06:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Originally Posted by iPicong View Post
well said.......i stand by PYF being Antz reincarnated and the arrogance with pushing both tunes the same way..........maybe he plan to take next year off like he did before
Unfortunately for you very few if any of the thousands of masqueraders who will be jumping up on Carnival day really care about your opinion on PYF, once they can get on bad in their costume on the road and most importantly while crossing the stage!!

Promise me one thing, if MM wins either SM or RM with PYF for 2KXII, will you take a year off from posting statements on this forum that could lead to you ending up with cake on your face?

www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd

Last edited by Socapro; 02-08-2012 at 06:56 PM..
Old 02-08-2012, 06:51 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 925,021
Unfortunately for you very few if any of the thousands of masqueraders who will jumping up on Carnival day really care about your opinion on PYF, once they can get on bad in their costume on the road and most importantly while crossing the stage!!

Promise me one thing, if MM wins either SM or RM with PYF for 2K12, will you take a year off from posting statements on this forum that could lead to you ending up with cake in your face?
how bout you haul yuh motherscunt back to 2000 where you belong before you started back posting pure kaka on here...........

*Recalibrating*