Old 02-01-2009, 09:34 AM   #31 (permalink)

Credits: 3,300
Originally Posted by soca control View Post
the issue I take with calling these "innovative" or "imaginative" is that they are all songs that have "crossed over" in some way, and I think that there are a lot of innovative, imaginative tunes that haven't crossed over that people don't give credit to because they live in these Hot97/MTV/BET worlds where only songs that pick up steam with the "mainstream" they deem as "great" and I think they either aren't open minded or maybe they fail to support soca music as a whole

when I think of creative or imaginative tunes that represent soca music and the true carnival vibe, I think of:

Imij & Co- Leh Go
Kes The Band- Stay With Me
Kes The Band- Heads High
Krosfyah f/ Khiomal- Til Morning
Teddyson John- Wine Up On Me
Machel Montano HD- Unconditional
Mista Vybe- Life
Ragga- Miss Lady
Taxik f/ Claudette Peters- Things
Zan f/ Machel Montano- Heart of A Man
Zoelah- Together Now
Burning Flames- De Rebel In Me
Maddzart- All The Wine
Lorenzo- So Sweet
Lorenzo- Nice & Easy
Lorenzo- Don't Stop
Lil Bitts f/ Bunji Garlin- Love U Forever
Levi Myaz- Music of My Land
Krosfyah f/ Tony Bailey- There For You
KMC- Up In D' Air
Kimberly Inniss- Carnival Symphony
HS Phaktor- Is Only Love
Harella- Give It To Me
H20 Phlo- A Little Closer
Farmer Nappy- Festival Time (Own Gyal)
El A Kru- Stand Up
El A Kru- Maria
Nnika Francis- Do Meh Wey Yuh Want
D'Landlord- Find Me Dey
Destra Garcia- Sign
Dale Saunders- Never Wanna See You Cry
Blazer f/ Maximus Dan, Bunji Garlin, and Fayann Lyons- Somebody
Mr Killa- Turn It Up
Basil Yarde- Raindance
Atlantik- Sexy Body
i can agree on many of dem.
Old 02-01-2009, 09:44 AM   #32 (permalink)

Credits: 3,300
see VP, I too would like soca music to stretch to the 4 corners of the earth, but I don't need it to be watered down to why something is big hit or for soca music to lose the vibe that currently draws me to it- if you lose the spirit and the vibe of what carnival is all about- then what the point of the celebration of life, love, and carnival through music anymore? I'm not willing to give that up just to get on TRL or Hot97 like you are by not talking about playing mas, j'ouvert, jumping, waving, winin, grindin, fete'n, roti, rum, and all the things that make carnival and the Caribbean special, unique places from the rest of the world- for someone who so passionately represents the POWER OF THE VINCY- you seem to not want to represent what differentiates your island from America or somewhere else that's not in the Caribbean

VP, I appreciate your passion for this issue- I really do- but I would just caution you, like I would caution an artist or a producer to not to sell out for the $$$ or the fame and to support and/or make music that you believe in, make music that makes you feel good, make music that represents the carnival spirit- make music that people want to party to during Carnival for Christ sakes! tunes like Soul On Fire, Pump Me Up, Hot Hot Hot, Tempted To Touch, Turn Me On, whatever are great, well known groovy tunes, but to be honest with you, if that's the formula you want to push, people will get just as tired of that as you are tired of the "flag in the air, rag in the air" style that dominates the soca world now- differentiation is key- for every Vincypowa out there, there are thousands of other folks like me who I appreciate the jump and wave and wine as long as it is accompanied by great production, great lyrics, and that true carnival spirit

for the record, I really love the vibe of where we are at now with soca, and I think that over time (gradually), soca is and will continue to be on the rise

regards,

-SC
dat is de problem with soca now:too much of de music is carinival chunes, which are disposable after carnival season.
Old 02-01-2009, 09:52 AM   #33 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

Credits: 16,267
explain how soca music artists are suffering? seems to me if they are talented musicians that put out compelling music for the Carnival season, they can take their act on the road like most bands do and tour throughout the world for their carnival seasons- HD, Kes, Destra & Atlantik, Krosfyah, Shurwayne Winchester & Y.O.U., Bunji/Fayann & Asylum, etc and do fairly well- are they going platinum or diamond in record sales, perhaps not, but any talented musician that understands this industry will tell you its about diversifying your revenue streams and understanding how to make money versus relying on the mainstream to push your music and get you on the Billboard 200

even the artists, as well as brand new artists that hardly leave their islands are still getting booked on their islands to perform shows and as their music and prominence increases, and as they hone their craft and develop their own musicianship and abilities, they to will have the chance to move beyond their islands- things like that take time and patience is a virtue

and VP hate to break it to you, but playing the Hard Rock Cafe in Orlando, FL is like playing a TGI Friday's with a stage- it's not like selling out (even the theatre) at MSG, or playing some massive stadium in the United States

honestly, the two of yuh just sound like stubborn old timers that not every song is a groovy grammy winner and you want your opinion to force the hand of soca music to some groovy-watered down version so you can make imaginary millions of dollars forcing slow tempo'd r&b performed by caribbean artists out into the mainstream

when in reality- where supporters and promoters and producers of soca music need to focus their efforts in terms of getting people all over the world to understand what CARNIVAL actually IS- where it happens, how it differs from island to island, what it is a representation of, the historical significance of it, and how the music, both past and present is an influence and also the driving force of it- so that the MUSIC in itself has a much deeper meaning than "flag in the air, rag in the air"- and people can look deeper into it and not be so quick to typecast it as "nonsense" music like you two always do...I would figure the two of you- of all IMIX posters- would have a deep understanding the significance of celebrating the "flag"- but instead you want to sing "Turn Me On" and "Pump Me Up" la la la la la until millions of dollars come your way to go push Kevin Lyttle in Japan

and honestly, you can release total bullcrap music in countries like Japan that will do considerably well because young Japanese people are so anti their own culture that they will, instinctively gravitate towards anything that is not original Japanese culture- why do you think dancehall is bigger over there than it is in the US or Canada?

Last edited by soca control; 02-01-2009 at 09:56 AM..
Old 02-01-2009, 11:33 AM   #34 (permalink)

Credits: 7,234
soca is at its best when it retains a strong hard rock + r&b influence

it's at it's worst when it gets infiltrated by dancehall or hip hop- and is riddim this and riddim that and contains negative vibes
I'm drawn to an innovative or unexpected rhythm or riddim (it really doesn't matter to me) and i beleive soca provides that. Its just that the quality of the sounds heard is poor.

I've been turned off to brassy songs often because they use a synthesizer which takes away from the passion of the music. I like to hear little imperfections in the song; those are missing.

I beleive Soca artists need to learn what sounds to take from Dance Hall and Hip Hop otherwise they just sound like posers. In general there is a lack of grit and rawness that Soca has and i think most artists percieve that and try to bring that, but fail simply becuae they don't posses it.

And another thing. Soca needs to encorporate other genres. Zouk and Kompas Samba and Axe. They should be marketing to large carnival markets like Brazil, Colombia, France and Central America as opposed to the US. They'll definitely be better off for it.

Dem Bahians done teif we tings and calling it Axe. We should giddem de Dub I (W.I.) wine.
Carnival: carne valle: farewell flesh means it is time to be myself in all my godly glory. I am a man created in God's image, making me beautiful. We get half naked in the bright sun, soak up some vitamin D and jump to a rythm because as human beings, rythms entrance us; they harken to our mothers' rhythmic heartbeat in the womb. Its a natural, healthy experience.

Last edited by Kjaja07; 02-01-2009 at 11:39 AM..
Old 02-01-2009, 02:52 PM   #35 (permalink)

Credits: 140,858
explain how soca music artists are suffering? Seems to me if they are talented musicians that put out compelling music for the carnival season, they can take their act on the road like most bands do and tour throughout the world for their carnival seasons- hd, kes, destra & atlantik, krosfyah, shurwayne winchester & y.o.u., bunji/fayann & asylum, etc and do fairly well- are they going platinum or diamond in record sales, perhaps not, but any talented musician that understands this industry will tell you its about diversifying your revenue streams and understanding how to make money versus relying on the mainstream to push your music and get you on the billboard 200

it seems like u do not get it. Why do you think that winer boy has worked with wyclef, mop, lil john, doug e. Fresh, etc.?

Where do you think winer boy wants to go with his music? Where do you think most soca artists want to take their music?

Anyhow, soca artists have been taking their show on the road right after carnival, and for donkey years too, so there is nothing new here.

By the way, look at your list of bands or acts mentioned, practically all are from one particular place. The soca industry cannot develop when you have such a huge disparity on who is truly eating inside and outside the region. Right there is one of the cancers that have caused the industry to be stagnant.

I am sure it is quite disheartening, for example, that soca artists from vincyland are getting pennies at venues in their own land while acts like what you have mentioned are getting 10 times as much. We know that if vincy artists are performing in trinidad, with the acts mentioned, the fee that they're going to get are likely to be 10 times less than what those acts will command.

I use that example to demonstrate that there is an vast imbalance in the industry that needs to be addressed and remedied.

But first, we have to address and understanding what is causing this disparity and then make the necessary corrections/adjustments that will enable the other acts/artists to eat healthy too.

even the artists, as well as brand new artists that hardly leave their islands are still getting booked on their islands to perform shows and as their music and prominence increases, and as they hone their craft and develop their own musicianship and abilities, they to will have the chance to move beyond their islands- things like that take time and patience is a virtue.
it is that attitude of, things like that take times and patience is a virtue, which are at the heart of the stagnation of the industry. This has been going on from jumpstreet, so how long are we going to be patient and how much time do we still have to wait?

When you follow that practice, it means that you're continuing the same script which has been failing the industry. And if you follow the same scrift, no amount of patience or time is going to change anything.

If you're about change, u have to find out what are the problems and address them. Because without the proper mechanisms in place to transform the industry, forward progress will forever escape the industry.

and vp hate to break it to you, but playing the hard rock cafe in orlando, fl is like playing a tgi friday's with a stage- it's not like selling out (even the theatre) at msg, or playing some massive stadium in the united states.
you're not breaking nothing of worth to me, and that is why i know u do not grasp the fullness of what i am articulating.

Again, performing at msg is nothing new for the industry, this practice started from since the 80's and into the 90's. The industry was even performing at radio city music hall as well. So what might be new to u is really old news in the industry and to me.

That being said, there is a huge difference between performing at msg and at the hard rock cafe. The people going to msg are basically the same people that attend shows at those fete clubs in brooklyn. So basically there is nothing new there. It is the same audience attending a show at a different venue. Those people are always going to be there.

What is needed is to build on that base by attracting a new audience, thus making the tent bigger. When the tent is bigger and more diverse, then is when you're making progress...then is when more people are going to eat.

The hardrock cafe crowd, frankly, is more influential in the wider music industry. And it is that crowd that you want to capture if you looking to take soca music and the industry to higher heights.

honestly, the two of yuh just sound like stubborn old timers that not every song is a groovy grammy winner and you want your opinion to force the hand of soca music to some groovy-watered down version so you can make imaginary millions of dollars forcing slow tempo'd r&b performed by caribbean artists out into the mainstream.

again, you're demonstrating that you're neophyte on this issue. In the history of soca music, name me one chune that made it big internationally that had a carnival theme, of the kind i detest, and which played at around the speed of 155 rpm??

You will find none, nada, zero, zilch.

You keep talking about watered down as if soca music has stayed the same from since the 70's. Dude, music evolves...nothing stays the same forever. And that is why the industry should always strive quality....quality from the producer, artist and writer, at all times.

When "hot hot hot" came out, that song was not the norm heard on a consistent basis in the industry. One could have easily said that was a watered down version of soca music during that period in time. The same goes for "teaser"....the same goes for the kind of music that we heard from david rudder....the same that we got from "teaser"....the same that we got from "pump me up" ...the same that we got from "turn me on"....and the same we got from "nookie."

take a listen to any of those songs and then listen to tracks that came out the very year those songs first appeared on the market. You will see how clearly those songs standout. They standout because of being different than what was coming out from the industry, musically, and even lyrically, at that period in time.

It seems like you want to stifle innovation. If you stifle innovation and creativity, you will have a stagnant industry. Sorry my friend, that is not progress...that is not change. ...that is more of the same shit....and it is that same shit that has caused the industry to be stuck in a time that we need to move away from.

when in reality- where supporters and promoters and producers of soca music need to focus their efforts in terms of getting people all over the world to understand what carnival actually is- where it happens, how it differs from island to island, what it is a representation of, the historical significance of it, and how the music, both past and present is an influence and also the driving force of it- so that the music in itself has a much deeper meaning than "flag in the air, rag in the air"- and people can look deeper into it and not be so quick to typecast it as "nonsense" music like you two always do...i would figure the two of you- of all imix posters- would have a deep understanding the significance of celebrating the "flag"- but instead you want to sing "turn me on" and "pump me up" la la la la la until millions of dollars come your way to go push kevin lyttle in japan.
again, u simply do not get it.

Again, did carnival started in 1993? Did soca music started in 1993? Did the golden age of soca started in 1993? Did playing mas started in 1993? When did soca got its first international recognition, was it 1993? Has there been any song with the theme created in 1993 made any international impact in the music industry? Did foreigners started to attend carnival in 1993?

Waving a flag and rag, jump up and wave, wining and wukking up, along with other aspects of carnival, are not going to change much, so outsiders are still going to see and enjoy the cultural of that festival.

Unbeknownst to u, people were waving their rags and flags, and people were jumping and waving before the year 1993 came about. But in terms of putting it to music on the level that superblue did, it was not done before. And that is why he revolutionized the industry because the central theme became making songs of that nature from that point on.

What that revolution did was make people become lazy, creative and innovative, which then led to the poor quality in lyrics, vocals, compositions and and musical arrangements heard in many songs over the years. And it is at that point the industry began to become stagnant.

What needs to clearly change is the theme of the songs, if you're looking to build the soca music industry. You cannot build a music industry making carnival songs. It is simply not going to work, no matter how hot the carnival song makes us "get on bad" on the road.

It is obvious u r looking at things from the aspect of a once per year festival. How is that going to help build the soca music industry? Come on dude, u need to think deeper than this.

continue
Old 02-01-2009, 02:57 PM   #36 (permalink)

and honestly, you can release total bullcrap music in countries like Japan that will do considerably well because young Japanese people are so anti their own culture that they will, instinctively gravitate towards anything that is not original Japanese culture- why do you think dancehall is bigger over there than it is in the US or Canada?
Are you saying that DANCEHALL is SHIT?

Where do you get the IDEA that DANCEHALL is BIGGER in Japan than it is in the USA or CANADA?

Base on your Japan example, one should CONCLUDE that the AMERICAN music culture is BIG in JAPAN, because the YUTES there are REJECTING their own CULTURE, therefore SOCA should be BIG BUSINESS there to, no?

I guess music from the USA is BULLCRAP too, and that is why it is BIG in JAPAN?

Furthermore, are you saying that if SOCA makes it in JAPAN, it means that it is BULLCRAP too?

I could have posed MANY other QUESTIONS because your COMMENT on JAPAN LENDS itself for such action. In other words, your JAPAN EXAMPLE is a POOR CONCEIVED one.

But I know the REASON why you make the JAPAN comment and it is TOTALLY ABSURDED on MANY LEVELS. I will leave it at that for NOW.
I will END on this NOTE by posting a QUESTION put to Umi Marcano and his ANSWER.

"What is the one thing you would like to accomplish before you die?

To put Trinidad on my back and take us to the world with my music and stamp us there!"

So yes, I RECOGNIZE what NEEDS to take PLACE in the SOCA INDUSTRY for our MUSIC to make it to the NEXT level, and and that is why I do what I do, FREE of CHARGE.

YUHHHHH SEEEEEEE MEEEEEEE

Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 02-01-2009 at 03:05 PM..
Old 02-01-2009, 06:02 PM   #37 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

blah blah blah

1993 blah blah blah

superblue blah blah blah

the power of the vincy blah blah blah

kevin lyttle blah blah blah

japan blah blah blah

hard rock cafe blah blah blah

did it ever occur to you that these soca artists in the industry right now enjoy making carnival-time music and perhaps it's not a matter of them making seasonal music- but to them it's more about making the seasonal soca music that they love relevant during non-carnival times with people and fans all over the world?

if you can listen to a carnival soca tune in the middle of September or October or November and you are not in Miami, and still feel the vibe- thats what im talking about- and that's a whole lot better than the stale dancehall garbage that talks about the same topics over and over again- so yeah, I'm here to say it, dancehall reggae is the most tired music on the planet right now and thankfully we have soca artists in the industry that are willing to play shows throughout the Caribbean and across the world, whether they are about carnival topics or not
Old 02-01-2009, 08:46 PM   #38 (permalink)

blah blah blah

1993 blah blah blah

superblue blah blah blah

japan blah blah blah

did it ever occur to you that these soca artists in the industry right now enjoy making carnival-time music and perhaps it's not a matter of them making seasonal music- but to them it's more about making the seasonal soca music that they love relevant during non-carnival times with people and fans all over the world?
is this groundhog day.....do i have to repeat the same things over and over again....do u lack comprehension or are you simply refusing to broaden your thinking beyond the narrow scope of your posts?

Ley me gee u a list of carnival songs, because it is obvious that u do not grasp anything that i am saying.

Feelin To Party - Black Stalin
**that is muddukhunt music right there...i done do bout 3 splits and de moonwalk to this chune**

Lorraine - Explainer

Doh back back - Mighty Sparrow

Swing Engine - Burning Flames

Shadow - Dingolay -

Dr. Cassandra - Mighty Gabby

Nani Wine - Unknown Artist

mi lover lord nelson - putfile.com

Oil In The Coil - Scrunter

**mannnn, everytime i hear this scrunter song i n i have to get up and do ah ting yes....chune sweet for days**

i could have posted like a hundred songs that do not have the theme that i detest, and every single one of them will still be playing 10 to 20 years from now, because they r timeless/good music that have longevity, and which mashup carnivals. And guess, they're carnival music. Those were songs made for the carnival season or du"ring the carnival season. And guess what, people were jamming to them on the road and in fetes.

It is that kind of music that i n i promoting....it could be slow, medium or fast pace...doesn't matter. As long as it is not music that gets thrown in the garbage once carnival is over, i n i irie.

And this is why i have stated that you cannot build a music industry with that kind of lyrical theme being at the forefront of taking soca music to the next level.

if you can listen to a carnival soca tune in the middle of september or october or november and you are not in miami, and still feel the vibe- thats what im talking about- and that's a whole lot better than the stale dancehall garbage that talks about the same topics over and over again- so yeah, i'm here to say it, dancehall reggae is the most tired music on the planet right now and thankfully we have soca artists in the industry that are willing to play shows throughout the caribbean and across the world, whether they are about carnival topics or not
well, if that is what u r talking about, then u and i r on the same page. And that is why i said the soca music industry cannot move forward....cannot strive....canot progress....cannot move out of its stagnant stage, if at the center of its transformation is a theme that goes way back to 1993.

If you're of the same mindset then we're in agreement. If not, then it obvious that u r not about progress.
yuhhhhhh seeeeeee meeeee
Old 02-02-2009, 02:07 AM   #39 (permalink)

Credits: 9,317
blah blah blah

1993 blah blah blah

superblue blah blah blah

japan blah blah blah

if you can listen to a carnival soca tune in the middle of September or October or November and you are not in Miami, and still feel the vibe- thats what im talking about- and that's a whole lot better than the stale dancehall garbage that talks about the same topics over and over again- so yeah, I'm here to say it, dancehall reggae is the most tired music on the planet right now and thankfully we have soca artists in the industry that are willing to play shows throughout the Caribbean and across the world, whether they are about carnival topics or not
You have this ting about Dancehall, you keep bringing it up. If you're a Soca dj and Dancehall is dying, wouldnt that be a good thing for you. Dancehall is not taking up the space that Soca should be. The cake is big enough for every genre of music out there. Wi nah watch unnoo suh unnoo nuh watch wi.
Old 02-02-2009, 11:24 AM   #40 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

Originally Posted by BRIAN View Post
You have this ting about Dancehall, you keep bringing it up. If you're a Soca dj and Dancehall is dying, wouldnt that be a good thing for you. Dancehall is not taking up the space that Soca should be. The cake is big enough for every genre of music out there. Wi nah watch unnoo suh unnoo nuh watch wi.
perhaps it does help my cause as a 100% soca selector, but I'm not sure I can make a fully casual argument that in the absence of dancehall, that people will choose soca- I could probably only make that claim if we are talking about in the caribbean diaspora and among caribbean scenes/people/descendants- unless people understand the history and significance of carnival in the caribbean- it's not something I would sit there and force- over time perhaps, and to the uninitiated- it would take some time and some teaching

but dancehall, as a whole, has always served a purpose in briding a lot of gaps to many people even outside of caribbean scenes- my comment was that dancehall, since the death of the 7"- the quality has slacked off CONSIDERABLY, and as a result, the music has turned way too crude, violent, and juvenille- that's not say that the violence wasn't there before a few years ago, but it's even more there and prevalent now as artists that were making somewhat more positive or uplifting music have backed out of the scene because of cost-prohibitive environments, leaving nothing but violence to represent dancehall music
Old 02-02-2009, 01:37 PM   #41 (permalink)

Credits: 17,083
I love how everybody is an expert on what it takes to make susie from Kansas tune in to soca. Most of allyuh wouldn't know musical innovation if it was put on a 2x4 and smashed yuh point blank in the face. Many of the cross over music that allyuh touting is not new and was not new when it hit big. Marketing more than anything else is key to any song crossing over. You have to have access to the targeted market. Some one..some company..has to help create those in-roads for you. Of course it helps if you have a simple melody that every man woman and child can sing but that in and of itself is not innovation...its nothing new.
Old 02-02-2009, 01:59 PM   #42 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

I wonder who Susie from Kansas likes for Road March 2009?

so many good tunes this year she probably can't decide
Old 02-02-2009, 02:20 PM   #43 (permalink)

Credits: 17,083

Dude, i remember once taking a yankee co-worker with me to Eastern Parkway some years ago and he heard Xtatik "Water Flowing" and fell in love with the song immediately. He was like "man that's some great music right there". It was the first time he heard the song and probably the last time.

The point is that there is great music being made in the caribbean and because it is not getting to the ear of Susie from Kansas, it doesn't mean that it is not innovative, new and fresh. "Water" was one of those songs. It was new, fresh and different. Good music is put out there every year. Personally I am quite happy with the variety of music that i've heard for C2k9 so far. If artists want to cross over into wider markets they need to look at the music business. Great music is and has already been in place for years and years.
Old 02-02-2009, 03:39 PM   #44 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post
Dude, i remember once taking a yankee co-worker with me to Eastern Parkway some years ago and he heard Xtatik "Water Flowing" and fell in love with the song immediately. He was like "man that's some great music right there". It was the first time he heard the song and probably the last time.

The point is that there is great music being made in the caribbean and because it is not getting to the ear of Susie from Kansas, it doesn't mean that it is not innovative, new and fresh. "Water" was one of those songs. It was new, fresh and different. Good music is put out there every year. Personally I am quite happy with the variety of music that i've heard for C2k9 so far. If artists want to cross over into wider markets they need to look at the music business. Great music is and has already been in place for years and years.
excellent post and I agree with you 100%- the Susie comment was a joke- and what you just stated is what I try to tell everyone when they say a powerful tune with strong instrumentals or great lyrics is shit or to throw it in the latrine pit (a la VP) when it's not a tune that is likely to land on 106 & Park anytime soon
Old 02-02-2009, 04:39 PM   #45 (permalink)

SUSIE from KANSAS is not CONCERN about ROAD MARCH CHUNES that will be in the LATRINE PIT by the END of the YEAR.

However, SUZIE from KANSAS is HOPING that there WILL be a SONG that could MAKE it BEYOND the CARNIVAL and FETE scene.

YUHHHHHHH SEEEEEEE MEEEEEE