Old 01-31-2009, 11:00 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 6,184
kaiso....soca needs to learn from its roots

artist getting more and more lazy with soca music each year. soca music is just losing its creativity. man like crazy who singing "cock cyah stand up" is rel big tunes. member when kitchner and mighty sparrow brought calypso to the world? what happened to those days? those guys used to sing with humor, politics, a story to there song.... but soca continues with wine, jump, and wave. i understand that superblue started this phenomenon in the early 90s, but come on our music hasnt evolved beyond that yet? member blue didnt create soca! so soca isnt just about jumping and waving. he got creative and did something different, which was a huge success. but that success has also created huge draw backs to the soca genre as more and more artist getting lazy and not creating something new. look at mustafa performance on SSS4
Login | Facebook
scroll to 9.20mins in...

this guy just killed it with this song. tune rel bad, and the man performing bad too. i mean this kinda style isnt new to the calypso industry, but this is what the soca industry needs. story, comedy, hook lines, politics etc...
i shall also add mustafa singing reggae/dancehall well good
SynergyTV.net | sss4 Extra IP Seg1

why do u think he choose a calypso song vs a soca? i think its because he see the flexibilty to be more creative, as soca lacking this kinda creativity!

your thoughts?

Last edited by readingtrini; 01-31-2009 at 11:02 AM..
Old 01-31-2009, 11:04 AM   #2 (permalink)

btw another reason why fayann meet super blue is the best uptempo soca this season!!!
also like kmc- im not drunk, yeast

Last edited by readingtrini; 01-31-2009 at 11:07 AM..
Old 01-31-2009, 11:20 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 17,037
The "Cock cya stand up" kinda music Is just totally stupid. That's why I despise people like Impulse for creating this stupid music. Its not even cleverly done.
Old 01-31-2009, 11:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Boonoonoonoos

Credits: 12,619
Its music in general that is crap nowadays. Dancehall, R&B, Hip Hop, Soca. No effort. No innovation. But the masses are not complaining so it only gwine get wuss.

SMH
Old 01-31-2009, 12:11 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 56,842
Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post
The "Cock cya stand up" kinda music Is just totally stupid. That's why I despise people like Impulse for creating this stupid music. Its not even cleverly done.
That was a bess tune, still is. No its not some innovative, complicated composition or anything like that but who cares? Music evolves at its own pace, some trends stay around awhile and others come and go quickly. It may or may not be true that soca is evolving slowing right now but who cares? I don't understand what allyuh want. The purpose of music..matter of fact the purpose of all art is to express and to evoke feeling. If the music makes me feel good I don't care if its as simple as jack & jill went up the hill. No music or any art is going to appeal to everyone. If the tune make you smile, make you want to buss a wine or to hug up your partner then do so, if it evokes no feeling at all move onto the next.

All these dissertations about the future of the music, the pace it evolving etc just killing me. If is certain typa tunes allyuh want to hear then write the tunes and go record it already lawd.
Old 01-31-2009, 12:31 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 140,514
Originally Posted by readingtrini View Post
artist getting more and more lazy with soca music each year. soca music is just losing its creativity. man like crazy who singing "cock cyah stand up" is rel big tunes. member when kitchner and mighty sparrow brought calypso to the world? what happened to those days? those guys used to sing with humor, politics, a story to there song.... but soca continues with wine, jump, and wave. i understand that superblue started this phenomenon in the early 90s, but come on our music hasnt evolved beyond that yet? member blue didnt create soca! so soca isnt just about jumping and waving. he got creative and did something different, which was a huge success. but that success has also created huge draw backs to the soca genre as more and more artist getting lazy and not creating something new. look at mustafa performance on SSS4
Login | Facebook
scroll to 9.20mins in...

this guy just killed it with this song. tune rel bad, and the man performing bad too. i mean this kinda style isnt new to the calypso industry, but this is what the soca industry needs. story, comedy, hook lines, politics etc...
i shall also add mustafa singing reggae/dancehall well good
SynergyTV.net | sss4 Extra IP Seg1

why do u think he choose a calypso song vs a soca? i think its because he see the flexibilty to be more creative, as soca lacking this kinda creativity!

your thoughts?
The WORLD Is WATCHING de POTENT KEYSTROKES of de POWA of de VINCY. EVERYTHING SAID in those PIECES were COVERED DAILY for YEARS in SOCA CHAT by I n I.

For the MUSIC to MOVE FORWARD, yuh CAAH BRING de SAME THING, OVER and OVER and OVER and OVER again. It is called STAGNATION....it is called NO PROGRESS....it is called LACK of INNOVATION and LACK of VISION.

But like I said, MANY SOCA ISLANDS want to MOVE ON, but the ALBATROSS in de BIZNIZ is HOLDING them back.

Imagine a CERTAIN THEME has DOMINATED an INDUSTRY for 16 YEARS....16 YEARS...THINK about it....16 YEARS. Where do you EVER hear that in the HISTORY of MUSIC?

The ONLY THING that has been MORE DOMINANT than that PARTICULAR THEME is the DICTATORSHIPS in AFRICA. And we KNOW what has been the RESULTS of those DICTATORSHIPS to those NATIONS and to the PEOPLE.

MUDDERWUK!!!

YUHHHHHH SEEEEE MEEEEEEE

YUHHHHH SEEEE MEEEE
Old 01-31-2009, 03:01 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 4,246
Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
That was a bess tune, still is. No its not some innovative, complicated composition or anything like that but who cares? Music evolves at its own pace, some trends stay around awhile and others come and go quickly. It may or may not be true that soca is evolving slowing right now but who cares? I don't understand what allyuh want. The purpose of music..matter of fact the purpose of all art is to express and to evoke feeling. If the music makes me feel good I don't care if its as simple as jack & jill went up the hill. No music or any art is going to appeal to everyone. If the tune make you smile, make you want to buss a wine or to hug up your partner then do so, if it evokes no feeling at all move onto the next.

All these dissertations about the future of the music, the pace it evolving etc just killing me. If is certain typa tunes allyuh want to hear then write the tunes and go record it already lawd.

You wonder why people outside and inside the Caribbean think our music is pure B.S. Soca is not evovling, most of the songs out there are ridiculous to say the least. Because of how we treat this music, most people don't realize that it is even a genre, if artist and producers continue to lack respect for what they develop, this music will never move anywhere.

Kaiso is an African word that means great words/lyrics, which calypso grew from, should we take a few steps backwards inorder to move forward - yes.
Old 01-31-2009, 03:38 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 140,514
Originally Posted by caribarts View Post
You wonder why people outside and inside the Caribbean think our music is pure B.S. Soca is not evovling, most of the songs out there are ridiculous to say the least. Because of how we treat this music, most people don't realize that it is even a genre, if artist and producers continue to lack respect for what they develop, this music will never move anywhere.

Kaiso is an African word that means great words/lyrics, which calypso grew from, should we take a few steps backwards inorder to move forward - yes.
Good POST.
Old 01-31-2009, 03:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

Credits: 16,226
soca is at its best when it retains a strong hard rock + r&b influence

it's at it's worst when it gets infiltrated by dancehall or hip hop- and is riddim this and riddim that and contains negative vibes
Old 01-31-2009, 04:30 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by caribarts View Post

My point exactly!!!
Old 01-31-2009, 04:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
Boonoonoonoos

Credits: 12,619
Originally Posted by soca control View Post

it'
Why does it have to be influenced by anything? Why can't it just be its own music?
Old 01-31-2009, 04:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

Credits: 16,226
Originally Posted by jamaicangirl View Post
Why does it have to be influenced by anything? Why can't it just be its own music?
because all music is influenced by something previous, including reggae and hip hop and modern day r&b especially- you would be hard pressed to say that the foundation of reggae wasn't birthed out of r&b and soul and jazz and ska music from the 50's and 60's and 70's out of the United States and you would be hard pressed to say that dancehall wasn't influenced by the electronic music from Europe and hip hop from the United States

and it's clear from the current music, that both groovy and tempo soca take cues from modern day rock, r&b, and and another of other genres, and that's OK because I expect it to contain various influences, but I do expect it to retain it's tempo and it's "feel" if you will

I think if you took the rock, r&b out of soca today, I doubt it would retain it's popularity and a lot of people would move on to something different

all of you that want to go back to beating on bongos and african chants- that's on you- but give me uptempo modern caribbean pop rock with a hint of groovy tunes for the ladies, and personally- that's what I expect out of modern day soca today
Old 01-31-2009, 04:55 PM   #13 (permalink)

The WORLD Is WATCHING de POTENT KEYSTROKES of de POWA of de VINCY. EVERYTHING SAID in those PIECES were COVERED DAILY for YEARS in SOCA CHAT by I n I.

For the MUSIC to MOVE FORWARD, yuh CAAH BRING de SAME THING, OVER and OVER and OVER and OVER again. It is called STAGNATION....it is called NO PROGRESS....it is called LACK of INNOVATION and LACK of VISION.

But like I said, MANY SOCA ISLANDS want to MOVE ON, but the ALBATROSS in de BIZNIZ is HOLDING them back.

Imagine a CERTAIN THEME has DOMINATED an INDUSTRY for 16 YEARS....16 YEARS...THINK about it....16 YEARS. Where do you EVER hear that in the HISTORY of MUSIC?

The ONLY THING that has been MORE DOMINANT than that PARTICULAR THEME is the DICTATORSHIPS in AFRICA. And we KNOW what has been the RESULTS of those DICTATORSHIPS to those NATIONS and to the PEOPLE.

MUDDERWUK!!!

YUHHHHHH SEEEEE MEEEEEEE

YUHHHHH SEEEE MEEEE
i agree with you? wow this is suprising!!. however i disagree with you that small islands want to move on. if you ask me, they are singing the same thing too. skinny for example, you are routing for him with his song "head bad," tell me whats different about that song. absolutely nothing. We've heard many times the LOVE TO PARTY THEMES... this is why i gaving monarch to fayann cuz her song has alot of context to it, im sure you will agree. there is history (superblue), there is the fact that she is pregnant, and there is politics (she is a woman). its a great song, released at the PERFECT time. i dont care what know body say about it should of waited till next year.

i totally understand you have to big up your country as support your artist. i know you do that ALOT. i cant blame you for doing that, its natural. but member this is what is holding back soca as a whole too. there are many islands competing for a small market. even tho a song may not be as good, it will be pushed because of loyalty and not quality. this is absolutely wrong. its hurting the genre big time!
Old 01-31-2009, 05:40 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 3,300
what de music lacks is imagination and creativity. need to move away from de same theme year after year.
tell de djs play more ragga soca and groovy soca and stop playing so much rag and flags.
Old 01-31-2009, 05:42 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 3,300
Originally Posted by soca control View Post

it's at it's worst when it gets infiltrated by dancehall or hip hop- and is riddim this and riddim that and contains negative vibes
soca is strong wen de producers show some creativity and imagination.