Credits: 140,978
The YEAR was 2004 and the Vincy calypso tent was having preliminary competition at Cafe Omar for the CALYPSO COMPETITION of VINCY MAS in VINCYLAND.
A calypsonian by the name of John Dougan came on stage to sing a song called "BE FAIR." Backing up the calypsonians was Frankie McIntosh's band. When the band started off and I heard Frankie on the synthesizer, I was like, this man has to be the GREATEST. The band had me CHIPPING before John Dougan even started to sing, because the BEAT was VINTAGE Vincy. Although John's voice wasn't that POWERFUL, the LYRICS, IMO, were....and his performance was of QUALITY. But I must ADMIT the BAND actually CAPTURED most of my ATTENTION.....them FELLAS really KNOW how to PLAY. Well, John was not one of the calypsonians chosen to REPRESENT the New York tent in VINCYLAND. But I just LOVE this SONG. The BEAT is real CATCHY and John's lyrics are TIGHT. Nice PRODUCTION.....STRONG LYRICS....GOOD MELODY....DECENT VOCALS=REAL GOOD song. Listen to the instrumental INTRO of this KAISO SONG, it is what CAPTURED by ATTENTION. I think it is a nice LITTLE GEM that anyone has HARDLY HEARD. Take a LISTEN....I PROVIDED the LYRICS as well. BE FAIR - John Dougan BE FAIR lyrics You’re sounding real GOOD, John Dougan We can hear the message in yuh song De musical structure and the melody are reallll superior But you just caah come from nowhere and get in the big yard Dah go mek dem fellas real mad Ah party must pick you as the champion (or you caah make calypso final in VINCYLAND) You have to hah famalee in de business (or you caah make calypso final in VINCYLAND) You must born or live around de Kingstown vicinity (or you caah make calypso final in VINCYLAND) Oh why oh why are they behaving so Why they caah leave politics out de carnival Oh why oh why caah someone tell Why they caah be fair and let the best man win or woman They have the same names and faces Every year like clockwork in de finals One of them even BUSS in New York PRELIM And STILL he was SELECTED Like them judges aint have no shame Because of fortune and fame, their places are guaranteed You have stop thinking, independently (or you caah make calypso final in VINCYLAND) Forget bout creative, use de same melody (or you caah make calypso final in VINCYLAND) When you BUSS BIG on STAGE, just keep on singing (or you caah make calypso final in VINCYLAND) Oh why oh why are they behaving so Why they caah leave politics out de carnival Oh why oh why caah someone tell Why they caah be fair and let the best man win or woman We have AH LOT of TALENTED people Right here in this country, singing kaiso But they’re being discourage and treated unfairly Because of class and creed Just because our family, doh have big jobs and money We are destine to be ignored You have to have some hookup with those high in society (or yuh caah make calypso final in VINCYLAND) Or have a very good friend in politics (or yuh caah make calypso final in VINCYLAND) You have to dance ah jig with de big wigs (or yuh caah make calypso final in VINCYLAND) Oh why oh why are they behaving so Why they caah leave politics out de carnival Oh why oh why caah someone tell Why they caah be fair and let the best man win or woman We celebrated Emancipation Day But can you tell me are we really free We’re at the mercy at those in authority Constant fearrrr still controlling we But nuh boddee go silence me I am going to sing what I see They can leave me out again You have to sing happy songs when things are going wrong (or yuh caah make calypso final in VINCYLAND) You must pretend you’re glad even when you’re sad (or yuh caah make calypso final in VINCYLAND) You have to sing and dance anytime they want (or yuh caah make calypso final in VINCYLAND) Get down on their hands and knees and kiss their feet (or yuh caah make calypso final in VINCYLAND) You must born or live around the Kingstown vicinity (or yuh caah make calypso final in VINCYLAND) You have to have family in de business (or yuh caah make calypso final in VINCYLAND) Ah party must pick you as de champion (or yuh caah make calypso final in VINCYLAND) Yesssssss me brotha (or yuh caah make calypso final in VINCYLAND) Ah tel yuh….hhhhmmmm…ma ma maayyy (or yuh caah mek calypso final in VINCYLAND) Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 08-31-2006 at 01:16 AM.. |
Obviously next year Kartel and Peter Ram will be in T&T
Best Road March & Worst Road March for 2k6