Old 10-03-2009, 09:48 AM   #31 (permalink)

Credits: 1,101
Originally Posted by JAM CREW productions View Post
who say he back with small axe??
SKNVibes.com: St. Kitts, Nevis,Caribbean, Entertainment Center, News, Reviews, Shows, Photos, Music and more

yea man...i shocked like blerd....

im happy he back with axe because the chemistry is better, but i kind of wanted him to start his own band. that wouldve been mash-up because that wouldve make like 4 big band in skb...
Old 10-03-2009, 03:46 PM   #32 (permalink)
rum rum and more rum

Credits: 30,138
Originally Posted by mansell View Post
SKNVibes.com: St. Kitts, Nevis,Caribbean, Entertainment Center, News, Reviews, Shows, Photos, Music and more

yea man...i shocked like blerd....

im happy he back with axe because the chemistry is better, but i kind of wanted him to start his own band. that wouldve been mash-up because that wouldve make like 4 big band in skb...
yeah dread i just saw it yesterday me done with all these bands now they nuh ready yet.....i rooting for ODISI now

I love Sweet Original Creative Audio (SOCA)
Old 10-04-2009, 10:26 PM   #33 (permalink)

yeah dread i just saw it yesterday me done with all these bands now they nuh ready yet.....i rooting for ODISI now
nah man. all the bands dem in good shape except for nu-vybes. but they'll be alright in a year or so once their new musicians get seasoned.

masters in top form

axe got kelly back......u know that's the band he fit in with best. they need another singer too....wha happen to me boy imran, he aint singing no more?

kollion up and coming

odisi, well u done know they second to masters and getting bigger. i want them to go skb this year for carnival. I think they have a great chance to be the first band from nevis to win the title.

ultra steady too, but they fell off a lil bit....

ultimate new. they need a couple more years to get a real name...
Old 10-04-2009, 10:31 PM   #34 (permalink)
rum rum and more rum

nah man. all the bands dem in good shape except for nu-vybes. but they'll be alright in a year or so once their new musicians get seasoned.

masters in top form

axe got kelly back......u know that's the band he fit in with best. they need another singer too....wha happen to me boy imran, he aint singing no more?

kollion up and coming

odisi, well u done know they second to masters and getting bigger. i want them to go skb this year for carnival. I think they have a great chance to be the first band from nevis to win the title.

ultra steady too, but they fell off a lil bit....

ultimate new. they need a couple more years to get a real name...

i fed up with this riddim box only bullshit...... the bands in sk now a days just singing bullshit and not performing....we don't have goood keyboardist now a days like long time ago....all we got now is PROGRAMMERS(riddim box man).... the bands in st.kitts lacking performance and thats why we not getting pull over seas fast enough....until we get good songs good performance down pack....we gone just be playing for ST.KITTS PEOPLE and ST.KITTS PEOPLE ONLY no matter where we go

Old 10-04-2009, 11:39 PM   #35 (permalink)

i fed up with this riddim box only bullshit...... the bands in sk now a days just singing bullshit and not performing....we don't have goood keyboardist now a days like long time ago....all we got now is PROGRAMMERS(riddim box man).... the bands in st.kitts lacking performance and thats why we not getting pull over seas fast enough....until we get good songs good performance down pack....we gone just be playing for ST.KITTS PEOPLE and ST.KITTS PEOPLE ONLY no matter where we go
man you tripping...

alot of good songs come out the federation the last couple years that were filled with box riddim. i have no problem with them as long as the riddim sweet.

i dont know why people in skn keep complaining about our muscians and their performance because they are just as good as most other performers from the caribbean. and defeinitley better than alot of artists here in the states. they arent any worst than anybody esle. we style of soca better than that stuff coming out of the bigger islands...

you telling me songs like "bobo cane", "tools man", "love ultimate", "in de middle", "lion paw", "sell off", "back shot", "in de street", "roll it", "iron band", "sweetness dey", "new style", "a want whale", "ballance", "go gal" aint good?....man i can list like 20 more songs that could mash up anything from any other island. we soca aint big because other islands bias, that's all....
Old 10-05-2009, 06:44 AM   #36 (permalink)
rum rum and more rum

man you tripping...

alot of good songs come out the federation the last couple years that were filled with box riddim. i have no problem with them as long as the riddim sweet.

i dont know why people in skn keep complaining about our muscians and their performance because they are just as good as most other performers from the caribbean. and defeinitley better than alot of artists here in the states. they arent any worst than anybody esle. we style of soca better than that stuff coming out of the bigger islands...

you telling me songs like "bobo cane", "tools man", "love ultimate", "in de middle", "lion paw", "sell off", "back shot", "in de street", "roll it", "iron band", "sweetness dey", "new style", "a want whale", "ballance", "go gal" aint good?....man i can list like 20 more songs that could mash up anything from any other island. we soca aint big because other islands bias, that's all....
ok if our song is the sweetest in the region then how come our bands not travelling on a regular to represent the 2 islands? answer that question and i hush up........ the bands only playing for st.kitts people and st.kitts people only........how come i aint see dominicans st.lucians vincentians grenadians bajans and so fort saying god damn that song real nice.....our bands need to start thinking out of the box and stop bicker on each other......it aint have to do with other islands.....because back in the 70s ellie matt mash up trinidad because ellie matt had good quality music.....now a days we lacking plenty of that also ellie matt had performance.....we lacking that right now....also ellie matt had marketing..........we definately lacking that

Old 10-05-2009, 09:20 AM   #37 (permalink)

ok if our song is the sweetest in the region then how come our bands not travelling on a regular to represent the 2 islands? answer that question and i hush up........ the bands only playing for st.kitts people and st.kitts people only........how come i aint see dominicans st.lucians vincentians grenadians bajans and so fort saying god damn that song real nice.....our bands need to start thinking out of the box and stop bicker on each other......it aint have to do with other islands.....because back in the 70s ellie matt mash up trinidad because ellie matt had good quality music.....now a days we lacking plenty of that also ellie matt had performance.....we lacking that right now....also ellie matt had marketing..........we definately lacking that
we lacking marketing for true. that's pretty much it though. musically we good. come on man u think axe, mention, masters, ultra can't perform? u crazy.....

small island music always get pushed under the rug just like we athletes (mainly cricketers)...

and another point is our music dont get recognize by bigger islands because its a different sound, it doesnt sound like their's. lucia, trini, bajan, vinci music are very similar so their bands have it easier to break through in other countries. we music have a hard time because it's something new to them, its almost like its a new genre or something.

ellie matt make it in trini because the people their could identify with his music because sounded very similar to what people in trini was making. axe, vybes, master,. odisi and them aint sound nothing like shurwayne, fay ane (sp), montano etc...
Old 10-05-2009, 09:48 AM   #38 (permalink)
rum rum and more rum

we lacking marketing for true. that's pretty much it though. musically we good. come on man u think axe, mention, masters, ultra can't perform? u crazy.....

small island music always get pushed under the rug just like we athletes (mainly cricketers)...

and another point is our music dont get recognize by bigger islands because its a different sound, it doesnt sound like their's. lucia, trini, bajan, vinci music are very similar so their bands have it easier to break through in other countries. we music have a hard time because it's something new to them, its almost like its a new genre or something.

ellie matt make it in trini because the people their could identify with his music because sounded very similar to what people in trini was making. axe, vybes, master,. odisi and them aint sound nothing like shurwayne, fay ane (sp), montano etc...
let me tell you......nu vybes small axe and grand masters was doing excellent from the 80s and 90s...they was making music..... now a days dem guys decide to just throw pure riddim box only music.....like thats the only thing we can do..... nu vybes was going real real real good from 2001 when they brought out people's sugar and all a sudden when the band break up they turn into this riddim box only band.....i need here what grand masters have to offer cause i hear they wanna change their style of music and playing......

and ellie matt didnt sound NO TIME like the trini bands mister..... ELLIE MATT had arrangements and music....and that band was top class....ellie matt and the G.Is know how to play music and marketing...... ellie matt compose and wrote lyrics for all his songs ellie matt was a serious man in his band all his musicians in the band was serious to the bone and they work hard thats why they reach far.....now a days these bands wait for when a dancehall artist release a song to go and copy dem and remake a song off that dancehall song......where is the creativity like back when mr world and ishu rule small axe in writing they own lyrics..... the days when gregory for grandmasters wrote his own lyrics for their songs....and back den when mention was younger and he writing some serious lyrics....... anybody play the old grand masters and smallaxe and nu vybes music from back in the day gone see the total difference to now.....if these guys had keep the trend of writing they own lyrics and working together as one all these bands would of been hitting overseas by now......the musicians in st.kitts now are getting real lazy.....as they get one big chune they think they are the shit.....they aint realise they have more work to do before they reach on the big top......and thats the biggest issue we have on this island EGO to BIG...... the drum machine was introduce as a back up instrument to eliminate all the percussions and congas and irons and other stuff what bands back in the 70s use to consist of......now we have the drum machine as the lead instrument now and our musicians are getting lazy to play because they letting the drum machine do everything for them.....including play drums....because up to now only hardcore drummers i see in sk is mick stoke formerly ellie matt's drummer and offy formerly nu vybes drummer........the rest drummmers in st.kitts play lazy cause they want the drum machine play drums for them.............so singing lyrics alone and just play riddim is performance??? HELL NO it comes much deeper than that....the musicians gotta sync with each other... and that wha make a band can perform........not just no guy behind a drum machine punching buttons.....because i am a musician and i know how to operate a drum machine so i know..... the real keyboardist is a man who cna play 2 or more keyboards and let his fingers talk......... DAVID HOUSE is a PROGRAMMER not a keyboardist.....if you watch P DIDDY's making the band you gonna see what a keyboardist is....and if DAVID HOUSE put him self in there for P DIDDY's making the band he would get eliminated cause the producers gonna tell him point blank he's a programmer..........if we wanna make it big and don't wait on nobody we need to change our style of THINKING AND PLAYING.....we not playing for st.kitts people only.... we playing for the world if it gone be st.kitts music we need to arrange and compose MUSIC! and not just RIDDIM!

Old 10-05-2009, 09:54 AM   #39 (permalink)

Credits: 20,803
man you tripping...

yeh i hear ur stress man ... i hear tryin to learn the trates of d other islands i dont see dem as smal most of dem aint been RECOGNISED to d world and they defo have to work harder on their marketing but it aint hard in this era? i wud say its more easy for them than 10 15 years ago?

sure various pppls can come on here n express their love for the other untouched islands of caribbean dat also put their efforts for the soca scene..

we have ah fete ova here dedicate to this style of soca and its catchin on each time dem ah play out ... all the dj's work hard n network with various artists and bands from the islands so its jus a case of time for when them ah blow up...

as for the riddim box ting ... the artform is moving into a different style but still yall can say you got ah band where dem still ah play live pon d road i cant wait to see dat experience!

www.myspace.com/diggasoca

www.soundsbestwithsoca.com/dematrixshow
Old 10-05-2009, 10:05 AM   #40 (permalink)
rum rum and more rum

Originally Posted by Digga D View Post
yeh i hear ur stress man ... i hear tryin to learn the trates of d other islands i dont see dem as smal most of dem aint been RECOGNISED to d world and they defo have to work harder on their marketing but it aint hard in this era? i wud say its more easy for them than 10 15 years ago?
sure various pppls can come on here n express their love for the other untouched islands of caribbean dat also put their efforts for the soca scene..

we have ah fete ova here dedicate to this style of soca and its catchin on each time dem ah play out ... all the dj's work hard n network with various artists and bands from the islands so its jus a case of time for when them ah blow up...

as for the riddim box ting ... the artform is moving into a different style but still yall can say you got ah band where dem still ah play live pon d road i cant wait to see dat experience!
EXACTLY!!! we have technology now to market so getting recognise aint an excuse......and thats a big issue in sk right now MARKETING....... the managements of the bands in sk are not serious.....they have thing like bunch of KIDS in a SAND BOX playing

Old 10-05-2009, 06:08 PM   #41 (permalink)

Credits: 1,212
Jam crew stop strying to change sk style of music. The problem with people like you is that you want to be accepted by other people so bad you ready to change your culture to do it. Sk have it own style of music. What you want them to do play trini style? Will that make you happy. I wan whale is one of the biggest song that come out this year from any island. It got 3 sk bands in miami this week alone for carnival. And you say they int traveling.
Old 10-06-2009, 08:58 PM   #42 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Digga D View Post

big up to dis post, respect.....pung dat wilders in your country and mek de people dem get on wassy.

let me tell you......nu vybes small axe and grand masters was doing excellent from the 80s and 90s...they was making music..... now a days dem guys decide to just throw pure riddim box only music.....like thats the only thing we can do..... nu vybes was going real real real good from 2001 when they brought out people's sugar and all a sudden when the band break up they turn into this riddim box only band.....i need here what grand masters have to offer cause i hear they wanna change their style of music and playing......

and ellie matt didnt sound NO TIME like the trini bands mister..... ELLIE MATT had arrangements and music....and that band was top class....ellie matt and the G.Is know how to play music and marketing...... ellie matt compose and wrote lyrics for all his songs ellie matt was a serious man in his band all his musicians in the band was serious to the bone and they work hard thats why they reach far.....now a days these bands wait for when a dancehall artist release a song to go and copy dem and remake a song off that dancehall song......where is the creativity like back when mr world and ishu rule small axe in writing they own lyrics..... the days when gregory for grandmasters wrote his own lyrics for their songs....and back den when mention was younger and he writing some serious lyrics....... anybody play the old grand masters and smallaxe and nu vybes music from back in the day gone see the total difference to now.....if these guys had keep the trend of writing they own lyrics and working together as one all these bands would of been hitting overseas by now......the musicians in st.kitts now are getting real lazy.....as they get one big chune they think they are the shit.....they aint realise they have more work to do before they reach on the big top......and thats the biggest issue we have on this island EGO to BIG...... the drum machine was introduce as a back up instrument to eliminate all the percussions and congas and irons and other stuff what bands back in the 70s use to consist of......now we have the drum machine as the lead instrument now and our musicians are getting lazy to play because they letting the drum machine do everything for them.....including play drums....because up to now only hardcore drummers i see in sk is mick stoke formerly ellie matt's drummer and offy formerly nu vybes drummer........the rest drummmers in st.kitts play lazy cause they want the drum machine play drums for them.............so singing lyrics alone and just play riddim is performance??? HELL NO it comes much deeper than that....the musicians gotta sync with each other... and that wha make a band can perform........not just no guy behind a drum machine punching buttons.....because i am a musician and i know how to operate a drum machine so i know..... the real keyboardist is a man who cna play 2 or more keyboards and let his fingers talk......... DAVID HOUSE is a PROGRAMMER not a keyboardist.....if you watch P DIDDY's making the band you gonna see what a keyboardist is....and if DAVID HOUSE put him self in there for P DIDDY's making the band he would get eliminated cause the producers gonna tell him point blank he's a programmer..........if we wanna make it big and don't wait on nobody we need to change our style of THINKING AND PLAYING.....we not playing for st.kitts people only.... we playing for the world if it gone be st.kitts music we need to arrange and compose MUSIC! and not just RIDDIM!

man, it's simple look at it this way. you think we music in skn worst than music wha coming out trini, jam, u.s.a right now? you CRAZY....wilders is just as good as any other music out right now....majority of music right now come from riddim box. no one is really playing real instruments anymore, not even diddy songs dem use real music...he getting that band to tour with...

our music isnt big because we from a small island and our market aint that big....no other small island band big like that either so you see where i coming from, only the big islands music big.....just like in the states only rap from the big cities make it, the rap from the small cities get shove to the side...
Old 10-06-2009, 09:00 PM   #43 (permalink)

Originally Posted by sexydeva View Post
Jam crew stop strying to change sk style of music. The problem with people like you is that you want to be accepted by other people so bad you ready to change your culture to do it. Sk have it own style of music. What you want them to do play trini style? Will that make you happy. I wan whale is one of the biggest song that come out this year from any island. It got 3 sk bands in miami this week alone for carnival. And you say they int traveling.
fu true...

me no know wha jam cru talking about...

man, skn music quality is great right now, no need to change shyt. we got our own style and that's how they should keep it...yea, i wish i could make it to MIA this weekend but i can't. i was attending most of them dances laborday weekend though..
Old 10-06-2009, 11:02 PM   #44 (permalink)
rum rum and more rum

Originally Posted by sexydeva View Post
only miami carnival alone?? when last one of our bands went to caribana the days when ellie matt use to rule the place travelling for months and months and months.......

the problem with sk bands is they don't wanna collab with NO ONE in the region....and thats the biggest issue.....i aint say change our music....all i'm saying we need to be serious in what we do....but your kinda post is so ignorant....only miami and NY we can go too??? wha about caribana wha about nottinhill wha bout go dominica carnival barbados antigua grenada st.vincent travel the world what about atlanta carnival we don't have to wait on a carnival to go play for its time we start travelling the big places in the outter world......and thats why we gone fall short and get the shitty end of the stick because its only ST.KITTS AND ST.KITTS PEOPLE ONLY we gonna play for....

if whale was the biggest soca song come from any island how come it aint get nominated for soca awards.....all of that we gotta look into...

i aint talking because i like to talk I AM IN THE INDUSTRY MY SELF

Old 10-08-2009, 12:28 PM   #45 (permalink)

only miami carnival alone?? when last one of our bands went to caribana the days when ellie matt use to rule the place travelling for months and months and months.......

the problem with sk bands is they don't wanna collab with NO ONE in the region....and thats the biggest issue.....i aint say change our music....all i'm saying we need to be serious in what we do....but your kinda post is so ignorant....only miami and NY we can go too??? wha about caribana wha about nottinhill wha bout go dominica carnival barbados antigua grenada st.vincent travel the world what about atlanta carnival we don't have to wait on a carnival to go play for its time we start travelling the big places in the outter world......and thats why we gone fall short and get the shitty end of the stick because its only ST.KITTS AND ST.KITTS PEOPLE ONLY we gonna play for....

if whale was the biggest soca song come from any island how come it aint get nominated for soca awards.....all of that we gotta look into...

i aint talking because i like to talk I AM IN THE INDUSTRY MY SELF
ok, well its a marketing problem with our bands...earlier you were saying it a musically problem when it's only a marketing issue. so now we both agree...

the music is fine (prominent riddim box music and all, everybody else is doing it anyway), they just need to advertise and market their music more....