JA Soca Ambassador
Credits: 7,360
Japanese pannist wants to become a Trini
Like Destra stated " We have a culture you can't define "
Renegades tour of Japan changed Aiko’s life Japanese pannist wants to become a Trini By Joeline Thomas MORE than anything else in the world, Aiko Sugano would love to become a Trini. This passion to be Trinidadian started nine years ago, when she heard top local steelband, Amoco Renegades, playing in her native land, Japan. Speaking in broken English, the Sutama resident told TnT Mirror last week: “It was the first time I had ever seen or heard anything of that kind. “The song was Bump and Wine, and when I heard them make such nice music out of steel drums, tears filled my eyes. “The sound was so sweet, it surprised me. “Immediately I fell in love with pan, and I wanted to find out more about it, and the culture behind it.’’ AIKO SUGANO was all smiles after the band’s performance. Later that same year, Aiko had a second opportunity to hear the steel pan. This time it was during a tour of Japan by the Pan Beri Steel-Band. It was then that Aiko decided to purchase her first tenor steel-pan for US$500 from Pan Beri. Day and night, she told Mirror she devoted her time to learning the instrument on her own, without help from anyone. After one year of great anticipation she finally decided to visit the land of the steel pan. Aiko visited Trinidad for the first time in1997. The land of Carnival, calypso and steelpan that she was so interested in. “It was the first time I had ever experienced any thing like Carnival in my entire life,” she gushed, “it was breathtaking. “I fell in love with Trinidad’s rich culture, but it was the music of the steelband that took my breath away,” she recalled. “1999 was the first year that I played pan in Trinidad,” she continued in halting English, “and I was with Curepe Moods which was a small band. “I enjoyed playing so much, that last year I returned and started playing with Exodos. “I had been a MC at an Exodos tour in Japan, and they played pan for me to sing as well. “Afterwards, I spoke with the manager of the band and he told me that I could become a member. “The rest is history; I just love Trinidad so much.” The 36-year-old,who looks a lot younger than her age, told Mirror that she still doesn’t have a good understanding of English. But she said she wants to learn the language so much, that she always views TV shows in Japan that teaches the natives English Language. As with pan, she didn’t take classes, but was self-taught. Aiko has fallen so deeply in love with Trinidad and its diverse culture that she doesn’t mind paying TT$8,000, the discounted price, from Japan to Trinidad each year. In Japan, she was a singer and DJ playing at weddings, house parties and other events. In Trinidad, she is the only Japanese woman with defending Panorama Champions, Exodos, who placed second in Sunday’s semi-final with 446 points ... only 8.8 points behind Phase 11 Pan Groove, who placed first with 454.8 points. Naturally, she wasn’t happy with the results and hopes that the tables will be turned in the grand final on Saturday. |
JA Soca Ambassador
This her doing her thing with " Exodus "
Now that is a story ! |
Credits: 140,964
Ok
Credits: 14,237
awwwwwwwww how cute
JA Soca Ambassador
Ok what ? |
JA Soca Ambassador
I am sorry I don't have anything on KL....I was looking for him in T&T but I didn't find him...what he had a MTV gig that weekend or what ? |
JA Soca Ambassador
No I put it up there so you can see it as a bad thing....next we'll be playing mas in Japan... |
WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW
it's such a great thing that she wants to become a trini! i am so happy for her!
Credits: 21,862
Wait till Phase II reach Japan-------It go be a Mas EXODUS
But to answer your question, Kevin is busy touring. |
Credits: 688
It's not a bad thing at all. Someone outside of TnT appreciate TnT culture so much, even more so than a lot of Trinis do. So I'm saying, good for her. I'm glad she likes trini culture and I am glad that she has been able to go to TnT and be accepted. Mind u, I am not too happy about her wanting to give up her own culture completely for another because that in itself is wrong. After all, she is still Japanese BUT I am glad that she has found something she loves and appreciates. If anything, this should be an eye opener to caribbeans all over to appreciate the culture they have since outside of the caribbean it is appreciated as well. |
Feelin' Nice
Credits: 298
![]() well stated |
Meh spirit is in Greenz
Credits: 3,105
The author stated she ( AIKO SUGANO) would love to become a Trini. I aint see nothing about her saying she wants to become Trini or giving up her culture.
Good for her, she can embrace and appreciate a culture other than her own. Some of us don't even have that kinda appreciation - I still hear West Indians in this day and age badmouthing pan. |