Repect Our Soca Pioneers
Credits: 22,127
This thread was inspired by a comment made by Ushawishi in another thread that made me realise that a thread like this is needed on Imix as he has no idea what Jamoo music is about!
Well here is a short Jamoo-Soca lesson for you! Jamoo (aka Jehovah’s Music) is basically Gospel-Soca done in a particular style by members of the Love Circle who are the children of Ras Shorty-I (the Father of Soca) and their various music circles!! Jamoo has been around since the mid-90’s in T&T when the “Jump & Wave” and Ragga-Soca crazes took hold! Ras Shorty-I had 13 children (who are now all grown up and play music) with his wife so you can see how the Love Circle and their addition music circles have become quite large and musically influential in T&T and wherever they have ventured to around the world. Members of the Love Circle do a lot of touring on the Gospel circuits around the world and their music is much more widely heard and appreciated internationally than many of the so-called brand name soca artists we hear of today! The most famous member of the Love Circle at the moment is Isaac Blackman. Here are some videos of Jamoo-Soca tunes from Isaac Blackman including a live performance in Kenya where he also meet the Masaai Tribe who are big fans of his hit tune "To The Ceiling": __________________ Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer" Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM) www.facebook.com/socaphd www.twitter.com/socaphd email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!! Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology! ![]() Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!! Last edited by Socapro; 02-17-2012 at 10:15 AM.. |
Repect Our Soca Pioneers
Hey folks, please checkout this thread (see videos above etc) and learn a bit more about Jamoo-Soca music and also leave your comments of what you think of this conscious Soca style that was also pioneered by the Father of Soca, Ras Shorty-I and is now being carried on by his siblings and others members of the Love Circle!
Btw "Sweet Music" is Isaac Blackman's latest Jamoo-Soca single due for official release with a new music video right after T&T Carnival 2K12. Here is link to purchase album on iTunes at only $0.99 per track! Support Isaac, he's the future and its a wicked album!! http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/wor...rs/id445485735 __________________ Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer" Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM) www.facebook.com/socaphd www.twitter.com/socaphd email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!! Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology! ![]() Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!! Last edited by Socapro; 03-07-2012 at 07:17 PM.. |
Credits: 3,918
I doh even have time to go look for de post where you call V.I music jam soca... something you admited you had no idea what dey call de music dey making which we now call soca too... you even say bouyon-soca .. utter rubbish to me.
I told you in dat other thread when I was learning de trini vibes you could have been helpful ... you have to remember man like Wellington should be "trini to de bone" get blacklisted with de quickness ... so i know de scene on went/going on a grass roots level... Since you didn't know what V.I called dere music before de soul of calypso meant indian was involved some of us called it Ringbang in dominica ... during dat time and up until now V.I people call all all you music calypso and in case you didn't know dis is happening today. Hope you find dese leads interesting enough to investigate before writing your book... In de mean time if you can post de 'underground' music from trinidad dats where i I lacking current music... see fings popular DJs doh pay much attention too dais wat i like... popular ready information easy too find... I prefer, as much as de music good, not hype up man dat does kick woman... De fing is other people come add de different contributions from all over de caribbean as to dere culture throughout de years I been on and off imix... We too similar to see we different...or too different to see we de same... Anyways I doh take your gospel as de absolute truth and accept all de consequences from its law makers... next rounds king. __________________ I'm a man of the past,living in the present, but walking in the future. A cow born in a pig pen is still a cow. ...Rastafari... "Self-Realization is the knowing in all parts of body, mind, and soul that you are now in possession of the kingdom of God; that you do not have to pray that it come to you; that God’s omnipresence is your omnipresence; and that all that you need to do is improve your knowing.” |
Repect Our Soca Pioneers
All I ask if you chose to copy me and call your thing after the name I call my thing then you need to accept my definition of the thing and stop wasting time with endless circular arguments about my thing, that's all! Otherwise I am with you breeds, we need to be more united as our cultures have more similarities than differences! ![]() Btw did you listen to the Jamoo music videos above? And what do you think of the Jamoo-Soca style? __________________ Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer" Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM) www.facebook.com/socaphd www.twitter.com/socaphd email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!! Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology! ![]() Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!! Last edited by Socapro; 02-21-2012 at 10:43 PM.. |
Repect Our Soca Pioneers
Rizon - Reach [OFFICIAL MUSIC VIDEO]:
__________________ Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer" Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM) www.facebook.com/socaphd www.twitter.com/socaphd email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!! Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology! ![]() Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!! Last edited by Socapro; 02-21-2012 at 10:46 PM.. |
Was Machel's flying stunt at Soca Monarch in tribute to his pop hero MJ?
THE OFFICIAL VINCY SOCA n RAGGA SOCA 2012 THREAD

2Likes