Old 07-13-2005, 10:51 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 140,736
Jamesy P News

JAMESY P VIDEO.Jamesy p is shooting his "Nookie" video in St.Vincent and The Grenadines.

As part of the UK promotional material, this video will be filmed on the beaches of the Grenadines sometime in July.

Nookie is now scheduled for a September release in England with the rest of Europe to follow and then the US.
Old 07-13-2005, 10:53 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 16,199
Can't wait to see the video.
Old 07-13-2005, 11:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Paradise!

Credits: 8,021
Should be nice...
Old 07-13-2005, 11:04 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 31
Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA
JAMESY P VIDEO.Jamesy p is shooting his "Nookie" video in St.Vincent and The Grenadines.

As part of the UK promotional material, this video will be filmed on the beaches of the Grenadines sometime in July.

Nookie is now scheduled for a September release in England with the rest of Europe to follow and then the US.
welcome back. but i recall making a bet with you that nookie would not be a summer hit like turn me on. would you like me to find the post to see what you owe me?
Old 07-13-2005, 11:13 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by andrew72
welcome back. but i recall making a bet with you that nookie would not be a summer hit like turn me on. would you like me to find the post to see what you owe me?
I would wait to see EXACTLY when the USA version is going to be released.
Old 07-14-2005, 12:08 PM   #6 (permalink)

Oh yeah, Elephant Man went around SHOPPING his new album to the major labels. They did not like any of the SONGS on his album EXCEPT for one.

It turns out that ELE had the REMIX of Nookie on his album, so one of the EXECUTIVES basically said that the song sounded FAMILIAR, like one they already SIGNED.

To make a long story short, ELE was making it LOOK like the song was his.

Anyhow, all three MAJOR LABELS, Ministry of Sound (UK), EMI (France), Universal (North America/USA) have decided to go with the ORIGINAL and REMIX versions of NOOKIE.

So there will be no Nina Sky, Lumidee or any other FOREIGN artist in the MIX when the song hits the INTERNATIONAL MARKET.

They all agreed that those VERSIONS do not need any OUTSIDE influence.
Old 07-14-2005, 01:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
steups...

Credits: 16,321
Anyhow, all three MAJOR LABELS, Ministry of Sound (UK), EMI (France), Universal (North America/USA) have decided to go with the ORIGINAL and REMIX versions of NOOKIE.

So there will be no Nina Sky, Lumidee or any other FOREIGN artist in the MIX when the song hits the INTERNATIONAL MARKET.

They all agreed that those VERSIONS do not need any OUTSIDE influence.
That's real good to hear because it shows that soca can stand on it's own in the the international market.
Old 07-15-2005, 05:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Firewåta Løva

Credits: 63
Thanx god... I already expected a Sugar Daddy Remix for Notting Hill Carnival.
Old 07-20-2005, 10:40 PM   #9 (permalink)

Nookie is building up UK airplay as it transforms from Urban stations to mainstream radio.

The song is due to be released now in August 29th to coincide with Notting Hill Carnival.

Jamesy P will be at the Carnival on the 26th to the 29th live.

His video is being shot soon in the Caribbean.

Stay tuned
Old 07-20-2005, 10:50 PM   #10 (permalink)

yeah jamesy is gonna be a guest at AC3 Xtatik bringing nuff people. nice to see a vincy in the mix.
Old 07-24-2005, 03:51 PM   #11 (permalink)

NOOKIE VIDEO

Jamesy P's video is being shot in Trinidad and Tobago this weekend (25th July).

The Nookie man will be shooting a high end video for the US and European market.

With the directors and production company coming from London.

Stay tuned!
Old 07-24-2005, 05:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
afterdark

Credits: 3,119
Why is the Video Being Shot in Trinidad... It should Be Shot In St.Vincent.... This is what I can't stand... Vincentian who leave St.Vincent have one good year.. and then turn around and forget who got them there.... Next ting them turn into Jamacian or Trini.... what's wrong with being ah Vincentian....
Old 07-24-2005, 05:24 PM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Vincyshotta
Why is the Video Being Shot in Trinidad... It should Be Shot In St.Vincent.... This is what I can't stand... Vincentian who leave St.Vincent have one good year.. and then turn around and forget who got them there.... Next ting them turn into Jamacian or Trini.... what's wrong with being ah Vincentian....
I believe part of the VIDEO was shot in Vincy...I guess Trini is the next shoot.

But I know where you're coming from.
Old 07-24-2005, 05:35 PM   #14 (permalink)
Culture First

Credits: 251
Powa & Shotta I've respected your decisions on several issues here on Imix. i have a question for both of you as patriots of SVG. Does it matter where an artist shoots his video as long as he captures the importance elements of the song, remember where he is from and who put him there..
Old 07-24-2005, 06:04 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BajanSheriff
Powa & Shotta I've respected your decisions on several issues here on Imix. i have a question for both of you as patriots of SVG. Does it matter where an artist shoots his video as long as he captures the importance elements of the song, remember where he is from and who put him there..
BajanSheriff, I made this CLEAR, in many threads, when the issue of KL not having PLENTY Vincy flags in the TMO video, and also why the TMO remix video was shot in Jamaica instead of Vincyland, that it doesn't matter where the VIDEO is shot or how many Vincy flags are in the video.

What is IMPORTANT is the SUCCESS of the VIDEO/SONG. Once that is ESTABLISHED then VINCYLAND will AUTOMATICALLY get the EXPSOURE, because he will POINT out VINCY in all his INTERVIEWS, and his record LABEL, in their PRESS RELEASES, will make sure that St. Vincent and the Grenadines is MENTIONED.

So yes, I understand the IMPORTANCE that Vincentians put in wanting their ARTISTS have the videos made in VINCYLAND.

There is nothing wrong with that, because I am sure that the MAJORITY of Bajans, Jamaicans, Trinidadians, Grenadians, Antiguans, etc., would want their ARTISTS make their VIDEOS in their HOMELAND instead of another island.

So it is understandable if there are VINCENTIANS who might be a bit MIFF if the NOOKIE video is shot in another country instead of SVG.

Nevertheless, we need to take into CONSIDERATION that Jamesy P might LACK the TYPE of INFLUENCE needed to have the VIDEO shot EXCLUSIVELY in SVG, and then again, maybe he and his people are looking at things the way I am seeing it, which is always the BIG picture/long term.

However, I can UNDERSTAND if Vincentians get a little IRRITATED if things of this nature are not done in SVG.

Because there are MANY of us who BELIEVE that we have been in the WILDERNESS too long, because of poor MARKETING, so now that we're getting just deserve exposure, it should REFLECT in everything VINCY.

However, from a MARKETING and PROMOTIONAL standpoint, being that SVG is a small market; it might not be the PRUDENT thing to do, long term.

Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 07-24-2005 at 06:59 PM..