Old 10-05-2008, 05:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 7,305
Thumbs up Jamaica 2009 Soca... !

Fab 5, gearing up ! Mr Lee and company getting ready....

But the first track to hit the airwaves :

" Jamaica Bolt "

Out of Port Antonio, Jamaica, Noel " The Dancemaster Stevens as laid out the foundation and theme for Carnival 2009 ! celebrating the Black , Yellow , and Gold with his Big Soca Track ! " Jamaica Bolt "

Pure madness.... when we step off Air Jamaica in Kingston Jamaica in 2009 for the bacchanal with the sea of Black, Yellow ,and Gold waving towards the sky !

Per Mavado: We On The Go !

The Dance Master - Jamaica Bolt

Run The Big track !

Last edited by socapineman; 10-05-2008 at 05:18 PM..
Old 10-05-2008, 05:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Credits: 37,842
Maybe you need to hear Ninja Kid - Ina Di Road cause da dance master track not touchin it at all
Old 10-05-2008, 05:23 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 81,007
Thumbs down

WTF is this bullshit?
Old 10-05-2008, 05:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Originally Posted by Optimus Prime HD View Post
Maybe you need to hear Ninja Kid - Ina Di Road cause da dance master track not touchin it at all

Mr., Massive B buss that tune long time, in NYC..... if you are a student of the art, you will know Ninja Kid tief Fab 5 song : The Track above all to me is Fab 5 Biggest hit :

call Ring Road jam, Ninja F' it up , the track to me is too fast !

listen to the original "

Ring Road...

But this is about a new era in JA, I rather give props to Dancemaster ! now this is a tune will mass -up dance !

Last edited by socapineman; 10-05-2008 at 05:40 PM..
Old 10-05-2008, 06:05 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 11,861
Old 10-05-2008, 06:47 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 686
Originally Posted by socapineman View Post
Fab 5, gearing up ! Mr Lee and company getting ready....

But the first track to hit the airwaves :

" Jamaica Bolt "

Out of Port Antonio, Jamaica, Noel " The Dancemaster Stevens as laid out the foundation and theme for Carnival 2009 ! celebrating the Black , Yellow , and Gold with his Big Soca Track ! " Jamaica Bolt "

Pure madness.... when we step off Air Jamaica in Kingston Jamaica in 2009 for the bacchanal with the sea of Black, Yellow ,and Gold waving towards the sky !

Per Mavado: We On The Go !

The Dance Master - Jamaica Bolt

Run The Big track !
My main problem with this song is his flow and verses.

How many times can you repeat yourself over and over about put dem up, fling dem, jamaica jamaica, you know ? Put some story or lyrical finesse into it.
Old 10-05-2008, 10:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Originally Posted by small_island_descent View Post
My main problem with this song is his flow and verses.

How many times can you repeat yourself over and over about put dem up, fling dem, jamaica jamaica, you know ? Put some story or lyrical finesse into it.
No worries, it is just a matter of time before we get it right and a Big Time producer take notice and do it right. it's all good , your point well stated !

But, Noel is really into to it like Mikey Ruff and a few others from JA that have place soca music front and center in JA.

But on the real, taking into consideration what is coming out of these soca land, I can sincerely tell you that it is no better or no worse than what I see and hear what is put up in Soca chat that they are Biging Up !
Old 10-05-2008, 10:55 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 686
No worries, it is just a matter of time before we get it right and a Big Time producer take notice and do it right. it's all good , your point well stated !
Homie, trust, there is no doubt in my mind that jamaican artists can become ridiculously strong in soca industry. The island has plenty talent. But it's the mentality that I find some JA singers come to soca with that bugs me. Jamaican reggae music is lyrical, and I can't help but think that jamaican soca artists should take the same mentality of strong lyrics into their soca instead of saying "wave, jump" over and over.

But on the real, taking into consideration what is coming out of these soca land, I can sincerely tell you that it is no better or no worse than what I see and hear what is put up in Soca chat that they are Biging Up !
Agreed.
Old 10-05-2008, 11:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Originally Posted by small_island_descent View Post
Homie, trust, there is no doubt in my mind that jamaican artists can become ridiculously strong in soca industry. The island has plenty talent. But it's the mentality that I find some JA singers come to soca with that bugs me. Jamaican reggae music is lyrical, and I can't help but think that jamaican soca artists should take the same mentality of strong lyrics into their soca instead of saying "wave, jump" over and over.

Agreed.

I hear you loud and clear....but what i am trying to tell you is that Noel is different, he's not trying tosay he's a reggae artist first and trying a ting ! that is his calling...soca front and center !

Well, if you can give me this much...as far as hype tune, I don't see this tune any different from Iwer Big Tune " We Reach " how is it any diff ?

That is if you feel it is a Big Tune, I am a non-Trini and I feel that that tune was a hype fete tune,what is he saying over and over " We reach! " I don't see this as any diff from that ...
Old 10-08-2008, 07:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Mr., Massive B buss that tune long time, in NYC..... if you are a student of the art, you will know Ninja Kid tief Fab 5 song : The Track above all to me is Fab 5 Biggest hit :

call Ring Road jam, Ninja F' it up , the track to me is too fast !

listen to the original "

Ring Road...

But this is about a new era in JA, I rather give props to Dancemaster ! now this is a tune will mass -up dance !
I know its fab 5 song he retooled but it still sound much better than dance masters track. Besides "de gyal dem luv fi daga daga in di rooooooooad"
Old 10-08-2008, 10:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

I know its fab 5 song he retooled but it still sound much better than dance masters track. Besides "de gyal dem luv fi daga daga in di rooooooooad"
Okay cool, I give you this much, to someone who might not know the history behind it, then yes! I like the lyrics, it is full of nuff Big lyrics,put it like this, Party Animal by Problem Child.....yeah it is a Huge tune, either way a knock off !

That is why I will give the props to Dancemaster....he's trying !
Old 10-09-2008, 12:47 AM   #12 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Okay cool, I give you this much, to someone who might not know the history behind it, then yes! I like the lyrics, it is full of nuff Big lyrics,put it like this, Party Animal by Problem Child.....yeah it is a Huge tune, either way a knock off !

He's trying but maybe a lil too hard with that one. It's patriotic which is a plus but it lacking flavor. The NK track could be a sleeper hit, not for the fact that is fab 5 retooled (since most of the current crop of DJs will have no clue as to the origin) but because it actually sounds very ketchy. BTW u can help me settle an argument, what would NK's version be considered in Jamaica, Soca or Dancehall?
Old 10-09-2008, 01:13 AM   #13 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

He's trying but maybe a lil too hard with that one. It's patriotic which is a plus but it lacking flavor. The NK track could be a sleeper hit, not for the fact that is fab 5 retooled (since most of the current crop of DJs will have no clue as to the origin) but because it actually sounds very ketchy. BTW u can help me settle an argument, what would NK's version be considered in Jamaica, Soca or Dancehall?

Mannnn, good question, I will e-mail this to my cousins in JA and ask them and get back to you, I have no clue...If i had to guess I would say dancehall, very fine line there with that track ! Given the fact that the majority of youths would have no clue who is Fab 5 muchless that track, as far as I know, only Dancemaster came out and say this is what I am putting out....soca music!

Yes, it could be a sleeper, that I will agree with you on !

Last edited by socapineman; 10-09-2008 at 01:25 AM..
Old 10-09-2008, 10:15 AM   #14 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Mannnn, good question, I will e-mail this to my cousins in JA and ask them and get back to you, I have no clue...If i had to guess I would say dancehall, very fine line there with that track ! Given the fact that the majority of youths would have no clue who is Fab 5 muchless that track, as far as I know, only Dancemaster came out and say this is what I am putting out....soca music!

Yes, it could be a sleeper, that I will agree with you on !
I say dancehall because despite the soca influence it is about reggae dances and how people behave doin dem. To me unless a song deliberately is composed to reflect a genre it can't be considered part of it entirely. I think I could accept it as a crossover dancehall that is accepted by soca fans, but to me is still dancehall. One of my friends says soca strictly because of how it sounds but to me that argument weak once you start comapring all the songs over the years that have been released on non-traditional reggae/dancehall tracks that are still at the end of the day reggae/dancehall.

Well I want it to be a hit so I stay playin it when I on the air. It sure to remind the real soca heads of Fab 5 tune and it should be fairly entertaining to the younger generation of reggae and soca listeners alike.
Old 10-09-2008, 03:54 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 863

Party Animal is a knock off, rude boi play kassav version first in the club and then play party animal...tell me there is'nt total different reaction. Just from the lyrics to the chorus totally different and way more exciting then kassav version which is also a hit....problem is chanting about what people like me do when carnival come around "know more sleep til carnival done" thats y its not a knock off.