Old 07-09-2005, 02:59 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 2,916
Jabae

OK...so I listenin online www.cbc.bb. Dem sound good...but the new girl talk too damn much. Probably wouldn't mind so much if I was there, but since this on the radio, she should jus sing the fackin tune (and stop singing Onika song - not good). Barry & Bruce soundin sweet though
Old 07-09-2005, 03:04 AM   #2 (permalink)

I totally agree! the boys build up a nice vibe and then she cut it up talking for nearly 5 mins! and in every single song she sing. I mean damn, not every single song. I find that she sounds ok but tonight she shouting too. Somebody needs to tell her stop talking so damn much before she spoil the vibe that jabae creating. They having a great season so far, hope it continues....
Old 07-09-2005, 03:06 AM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by socavampire
I totally agree! the boys build up a nice vibe and then she cut it up talking for nearly 5 mins! and in every single song she sing. I mean damn, not every single song. I find that she sounds ok but tonight she shouting too. Somebody needs to tell her stop talking so damn much before she spoil the vibe that jabae creating. They having a great season so far, hope it continues....
Wopatee wopatee wopatee
la la laaaaaaaa

Praise Jah for Cropover!!!
Old 07-09-2005, 03:25 AM   #4 (permalink)

she still talking omg!
Old 07-09-2005, 03:39 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by socavampire
she still talking omg!
LOL...yeah, talk too fackin much in truth. Wopatee & We Dey Oh sounding sweet. The crowd responding well to Barry this year.
Old 07-09-2005, 02:23 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Rummacita
LOL...yeah, talk too fackin much in truth. Wopatee & We Dey Oh sounding sweet. The crowd responding well to Barry this year.

She is doing good and she aint talking to much she is working the dam crowd if you see how dead the crowd does be you wouldn't sit they and talk.... the twins does sing and thats all they don't make any contact with the crowd and thats what she is doing it looks like to me from watching the pefformamnce.

When i saw them last year they sound good the band but the image and the stage presents is what i am talking about.. and i find she is adding that stage presents
Old 07-09-2005, 02:36 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by barbadossocapoilice
She is doing good and she aint talking to much she is working the dam crowd if you see how dead the crowd does be you wouldn't sit they and talk.... the twins does sing and thats all they don't make any contact with the crowd and thats what she is doing it looks like to me from watching the pefformamnce.

When i saw them last year they sound good the band but the image and the stage presents is what i am talking about.. and i find she is adding that stage presents
Cool...can't wait to see them. They sound nice, I jus think she was talkin way too much last night.
Old 07-09-2005, 05:08 PM   #8 (permalink)

i aint dissing her. But talking for over 5 mins in EVERY song is NOT working no crowd. Its killing the vibe. This aint trinidad. Bajans dont like to jump and wave, they like to wuk up. Just because u dont see hands in the air doesn't mean people aren't enjoying themselves. I think she's beautiful and can add to any stage. But she doesn't need to overdo it.
Old 07-09-2005, 05:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
dev

Credits: 18,408
She new to de bajan scene... give her uh chance
woopatee... praise jah fuh cropover ..... chunneeee
Old 07-09-2005, 10:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Culture First

Credits: 252
Thanks Dev, that was what I wanted to say also give a a chance she is still learning the game. Rummy just like how barry has improved i'm sure she will..
Old 07-11-2005, 03:09 AM   #11 (permalink)
Beware of the Beast

Credits: 192
I don't know bout wunna, but when de soca beast leave home to party, it's soca I want to hear, not conversation. Don't like no talkaholic DJs, and I don't like no talkaholic lead singers.

However, I like what she does with Onika's song. It's not just talk, it's entertainment, and I can live with that.

But in general (to my mind), the best way to hype up a crowd in Barbados is to drop big tune after big tune - a really tight action-packed set. More often than not, conversation kills the momentum.

As you say though, I'll give her a chance, see how she develops.

Jabae ROCKIN' this year though - two huge tunes, and de one wid Lil Buggy is pretty good too. Dey gettin gigs left, right and center.