Old 01-29-2009, 11:12 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 15,612
Iwer's Songs "Ready" and "We Like It"

What r ur opinions on these songs? I for one like both of them. I think they are really nice but I also know that there r alot of ppl who dislike both of them becoz they think they r simplistic. They note the constant repeating of single words over and over in both songs and the throwaway lyrics. What do you think of them?

We Like It

Ready
Old 01-29-2009, 11:16 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 15,679
love dem both from day 1
Old 01-29-2009, 11:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

Credits: 16,270
formula:

Step 1: take word
Step 2: repeat 27 times
Step 3: tell listener to "jump" and "wine"

now I like these tunes, and in the fete and on the road yes I will be jumping, but I can't listen to these tunes otherwise, irritating to say the least, give me some lyrical content if you expect listens and spins after the fete done
Old 01-30-2009, 01:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Will work for rum

Credits: 57,290
These rookies don't know shit bout soca. Iwer "Di Boss" George has been repeating words and making hits since the 90s... whats new about it? All he needs are these 2 songs to take on the road after carnival along with his other his other hits and he'll be making more money than most artists. This year he juss turned up the repeats a notch.
Old 01-30-2009, 02:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Above and Beyond

Credits: 43,083
Originally Posted by Bean989 View Post
These rookies don't know shit bout soca. Iwer "Di Boss" George has been repeating words and making hits since the 90s... whats new about it? All he needs are these 2 songs to take on the road after carnival along with his other his other hits and he'll be making more money than most artists. This year he juss turned up the repeats a notch.
lol Boi I dont even waste my time with some people..when tune released they like it, same tune get popular they love it...Raving and Sway in D mas was not liked by many but now loved by almost everyone...same will happen for Won't stop and Wanna love you

Last edited by Lieutenant; 01-30-2009 at 02:30 AM..
Old 01-30-2009, 02:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
STREETS R WATCHIN

Credits: 4,990
these fools........ dont they know iwer is de boss he dont give a fack bout mainstream let the rest ah dem run down that bloodclaat while he do what he do best.............which is be the longest consistant artist in the history of soca lol
Old 01-30-2009, 06:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

Credits: 16,270
Originally Posted by Bean989 View Post
big deal if he's been using the same tired formula for years and years! was never questioning how long he had been doing it- but I'm saying come with something meaningful if you are going to claim a tune to be the biggest of the year

the hypocrisy in Soca Chat is a little out of hand though- I don't see people saying OK Iwer- since you've repeated a standard formula of the past years, you need to come with something new and different every year like they do with the HD camp

what was his last big tune before this year? 2007's "Fete After Fete" where he repeated words as well? in 2006 it was "We Reach" right? We Reach was cool but in Fete After Fete he sounded like Goofy from the Scare Dem Crew. Is that all he has left to follow the same repeating words formula?

let's not forget that Ready is on the Xante riddim and We Like It is on the Coconut Tree too- with that said, I have a hard time saying yeah a tune is the top tune out of Trinidad if it's on a riddim as well, because with a riddim- you always consider the other tunes voiced on it versus an original production where you have basis to say- this is the only tune on this instrumental that was built for the purpose of one song only- and as a result this is what I think, etc

will these tunes be big this year and will Iwer have a successful season- probably- will people jam to them all season long- without a doubt- they are highly simplistic lyrics over sonically pleasing riddim versions and people have a tendency to gravitate towards the most simple music- so that doesn't surprise me...

what does surprises me is that a lot of IMIXers seem to want to shelve other tunes released this year on account of these tunes and they need to clean the mafia wax out of their ears and listen to more of the quality music that has been released this year and not be so blinded by the hype that is swirling around these two tunes specifically- there's plenty of music out there, that in my opinion, bring more to the table for TnT 2009 than these two tunes- and sooner or later- I hope people figure it out for themselves instead of being lemmings about what's hot or is going to make the most $ this year

now, if you want to let "D' Boss" Iwer george carry the flag for TnT this year, so be it- but before you make this proclamation, stop and check for some other tunes and LISTEN to them before dismissing them as something you can't give a nice forward to because you think "Ready" and "We Like It" are so stinking big

Last edited by soca control; 01-30-2009 at 06:19 AM..
Old 01-30-2009, 07:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
De Cocoyea kid!

Credits: 1,333
Originally Posted by direct_effect View Post
What r ur opinions on these songs? I for one like both of them. I think they are really nice but I also know that there r alot of ppl who dislike both of them becoz they think they r simplistic. They note the constant repeating of single words over and over in both songs and the throwaway lyrics. What do you think of them?

We Like It

Ready
I am not a big fan of "We like it" (But I understand the appeal, especially if I was down in TnT right now), but I enjoy "Ready". Love him or hate him, Iwer is brilliant at what he does, making mindless lite party music fun.
Old 01-30-2009, 08:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
MonsterHittz Productions

Credits: 3,339
Originally Posted by soca control View Post
big deal if he's been using the same tired formula for years and years! was never questioning how long he had been doing it- but I'm saying come with something meaningful if you are going to claim a tune to be the biggest of the year

the hypocrisy in Soca Chat is a little out of hand though- I don't see people saying OK Iwer- since you've repeated a standard formula of the past years, you need to come with something new and different every year like they do with the HD camp

what was his last big tune before this year? 2007's "Fete After Fete" where he repeated words as well? in 2006 it was "We Reach" right? We Reach was cool but in Fete After Fete he sounded like Goofy from the Scare Dem Crew. Is that all he has left to follow the same repeating words formula?

let's not forget that Ready is on the Xante riddim and We Like It is on the Coconut Tree too- with that said, I have a hard time saying yeah a tune is the top tune out of Trinidad if it's on a riddim as well, because with a riddim- you always consider the other tunes voiced on it versus an original production where you have basis to say- this is the only tune on this instrumental that was built for the purpose of one song only- and as a result this is what I think, etc

will these tunes be big this year and will Iwer have a successful season- probably- will people jam to them all season long- without a doubt- they are highly simplistic lyrics over sonically pleasing riddim versions and people have a tendency to gravitate towards the most simple music- so that doesn't surprise me...

what does surprises me is that a lot of IMIXers seem to want to shelve other tunes released this year on account of these tunes and they need to clean the mafia wax out of their ears and listen to more of the quality music that has been released this year and not be so blinded by the hype that is swirling around these two tunes specifically- there's plenty of music out there, that in my opinion, bring more to the table for TnT 2009 than these two tunes- and sooner or later- I hope people figure it out for themselves instead of being lemmings about what's hot or is going to make the most $ this year

now, if you want to let "D' Boss" Iwer george carry the flag for TnT this year, so be it- but before you make this proclamation, stop and check for some other tunes and LISTEN to them before dismissing them as something you can't give a nice forward to because you think "Ready" and "We Like It" are so stinking big

i understand what u saying here but you see Iwer is a kinda type of fella eh .... he doh have to really sing anything meanigful like u say in order to have big tune....he just have that VIBE about him that im sure alot of artists wished they had....d man in a class by himself hoss
Old 01-30-2009, 09:51 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 1,188

ready (remix) - Iwer George
Old 01-30-2009, 09:57 AM   #11 (permalink)
Hot fuh so

Credits: 7,169
love them
Old 01-30-2009, 12:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
Azuuucar!

Credits: 57,268
We Like it - Love it

Ready - Flush it
Old 01-30-2009, 12:07 PM   #13 (permalink)
Enjoyin 5 Yrs On De Mix

Credits: 1,770
I like we like it. Looooooooooooooovvvvvvvvvee Ready. I does get hype when they buss that tune in da club
Old 01-30-2009, 12:12 PM   #14 (permalink)
One Sound

Credits: 717
2 Gr8 Hits, Ready - good potential for soca monarch
We Like It - Not ah fan, but its a HIT!
Old 01-30-2009, 01:10 PM   #15 (permalink)
Will work for rum

Credits: 57,290
Originally Posted by soca control View Post

You must really be new to Trinidad soca to want to expect Iwer to change his formula for success. Why you think Trinis love himso much. Maybe he's just not for your listening ears then. And that's fine too.

Because it works! And Iwer only make 2-3 songs a season vs. HD and them. No cushion room to go off venturing into something different every year. He has fans expecting his type of music.

Don't really know what point you making here but "fete after fete after fete after fete" sounds repetitive to you right? Success= Soca Monarch King. For homework go listen to : Bottom in D road, Tension, Ah Home.

I personally have not claimed either Iwer song as the top tune out of Trinidad. Maybe someone else has.

You really don't hide your dislike for the songs here. But what makes you think people haven't instantly gravitated to the songs?? And at the same time genuinely disliked the others your talking about? It's almost as if your discrediting the man's success, which is very padded by the way. The reason why we talk about the songs year after year is simple:

We Likeee Itttt!