Old 01-11-2007, 08:24 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 279
Its Official.. "de Big Artiste Crew"...

Thursday 11th Janurary, 2007

Soca gets big album for C2K7

The Big Artiste Crew, from left, are Nadia Batson, Mista Vybe, Michelle Sylvester, Terry Seales and Miss Alysha. Photo: Wendy-Ann Duncan

By Carol Quash

Apart from the wide variety of soca music to party to for Carnival 2007, soca lovers can expect the added bonus of an album produced by five of the biggest names in soca.

Referring to themselves as the Big Artiste Crew, Terri Seales, Mista Vybe, Michelle Sylvester, Nadia Batson and Miss Alysha have decided to pool their talents to compile a CD comprising some of their old music, as well as their new releases for 2007.

“We are individual artistes, but we are also very good friends. We just decided to get together and do an album,” Sylvester said. “It was something we have been discussing for a long long time. We want this to become a business and actually got the idea from our fans,” Vybe quipped in.

Regarding the name of the group, Sylvester said it all started as a joke. “We just jokingly called ourselves the Big Artiste Crew, and when we decided to do this album, we stuck with the name.”

The group is currently working on a video to accompany the title track entitled Get Together, on which they will all be featured. While I managed to solicit a promise from them that I would be featured on the video, I strongly suspect it was a promise made while under the influence of laughter, which erupted continually throughout the entire interview.

“Of course,” they almost shouted in unison when I asked. “I hope when we call you you come,” Sylvester added almost threateningly. The video, they said, will be about unity, love, come together, and have a good time.

Among the new tracks that will be featured on the album are Sylvester’s Oh Yeah, Unity by Miss Alysha, Spirit Call by Batson, Would You Mind by Mista Vybe and Seduction by Seales. The group also took a decision to include Sylvester’s Groovy Soca 2005 winner Sleeping In Your Bed, and Vybe’s Ting For De Road.

According to Batson, each artiste brought their individual touch to the album. “We bring our special spices to the pot, and I am the main ingredient,” she joked, causing the others to raise mocking objections.

“Nadia brings her prolific writing; Alysha brings a kind of karma; and I bring the euphoria,” Seales interjected, much to the amusement of his friends.

The fact that four of the group members were Sagittarius born, Seales said, brought a type of cohesion to the group.

And in addition to their collaborated work, Seales, Vybe, Batson, Sylvester and Alysha are committed to supporting each other’s individual efforts during the Carnival season.

©2005-2006 Trinidad Publishing Company Limited
Designed by: Randall Rajkumar-Maharaj · Updated daily by: Sheahan Farrell
Old 01-11-2007, 08:33 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 15,505
Cool

dem fellas not looking too right, or maybe left
Old 01-11-2007, 09:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Reppin' TnT

Credits: 4,758
This is their year.....
Old 01-11-2007, 09:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
ah like chupidness

Credits: 13,825
Originally Posted by Phœnix 7.6(N) View Post
leff dem eh...

buh freal doh..big up to dem dem doin dey ting fuh true..tiyad ah d backbitin ting..it geh'in ole
Old 01-11-2007, 10:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Credits: 16,099
whuppps pause for ah cause dey palos mek yuh joke but dem other clongs, but leave dem alone aight

Anyways, congrats to De Big Artiste Crew for makin this big step. I'm one of their biggest fans and I know this year they'll enjoy mucho success.
Old 01-11-2007, 10:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Rastoruba

Credits: 4,375
Arrow

Dem fellas lookin Jamaican.

Old 01-12-2007, 12:51 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 701
Originally Posted by Val3nie2debone View Post
whuppps pause for ah cause dey palos mek yuh joke but dem other clongs, but leave dem alone aight

Anyways, congrats to De Big Artiste Crew for makin this big step. I'm one of their biggest fans and I know this year they'll enjoy mucho success.
Big up de Bid Artist Crew....individually they are a talented bunch, hopefully they won't find the necessary synergy elusive and continue to do big things as a unit.
Old 01-12-2007, 02:49 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 15,505
Originally Posted by limintrinibwoy View Post
leff dem eh...

buh freal doh..big up to dem dem doin dey ting fuh true..tiyad ah d backbitin ting..it geh'in ole
stop playing and tell d trute
Originally Posted by Val3nie2debone View Post

pic still ent looking right, ah suggest a re-shoot, even Anecryste in he altered state of mind say dem look Jamaican aka.....well..a bit sweet
Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
Big up de Bid Artist Crew....individually they are a talented bunch, hopefully they won't find the necessary synergy elusive and continue to do big things as a unit.
Yeah ah like dat tune they all did together.
Old 01-12-2007, 03:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
.......not ah shotta

Credits: 2,368
BIG UP tuh dem, dem full ah talent fuh real

buh how mr vybe & nadia lookin so boi?....lol

Last edited by gunta; 01-12-2007 at 03:06 AM..
Old 01-12-2007, 03:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
Your Royal Sexiness

Credits: 127,948
stop playing and tell d trute

pic still ent looking right, ah suggest a re-shoot, even Anecryste in he altered state of mind say dem look Jamaican aka.....well..a bit sweet

Yeah ah like dat tune they all did together.

I wish them success ...I like their music
Old 01-12-2007, 08:08 AM   #11 (permalink)
Rastoruba

Credits: 4,375
Question

...even Anecryste in he altered state of mind say dem look Jamaican aka.....well..a bit sweet...

Old 01-12-2007, 10:40 AM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 1,777
My gaydar detecting something too especially the second from left but I love his music and that is all that matters
Old 01-12-2007, 10:44 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 32
I tip my hat.....good for them yes. Glad to see the unity
Old 01-12-2007, 11:09 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monday, August 6th, 2007

Credits: 108
Music is top notch.

The picture need deleting....that'll messup my frame a mind the next time I see them...

How Vybe got his hip push out so? Both them fellahs looking too in touch with they feminine side.
Old 01-12-2007, 01:38 PM   #15 (permalink)
STREETS R WATCHIN

Credits: 4,989
ENT ......But they talented still diaz how it is sometimes