islandmix.com register | Connect with Facebook islandmix rss feed | Contact Us | Static Radio Live
Like Tree13Likes

Old 02-18-2012, 04:36 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 58,717
Thumbs up International Soca Monarch winners are...

Play Whe Groovy Monarch are: 1st- Machel Montano, 2nd- Kerwin Du Bios, 3rd-Benjai, 4th-Nadia Batson, 5th-Kees

Digicel Power Soca Monarch: 1st- Machel, 2nd-Iwer, 3rd-Destra, 4th- is a tie between Prophet and Blaxx

courtesy of Slam 1005fm
Socapro and Mrs. Vega like this.

Digga D - Unity Krew (UK)

www.twitter.com/diggasoca
www.largeradio.com/ every sundays 4pm to 6pm US (8-11pm UK)
http://calaloo.podOmatic.com
www.ustream.tv/channel/diggasoca
www.myspace.com/diggasoca

Old 02-18-2012, 04:53 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 255,348
This

is

sparta!!!!!!

http://www.facebook.com/triniboi11

for expedited music uploads: 1. Dattriniboi1@aol.com
2. Julianspromos@gmail.com
3. music@islandmix.com

i is a badman... doh cross d border

Old 02-18-2012, 07:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Manchester United

Credits: 92,479
People was acting like deh dunno what Double M stands for, lemme tell allyuh = Double Monarch.

Road march in allyuh mudda cunts now, So now we understand why the results was late - all dem chupidee Iwer fans woulda mash up de place cause deh feeling pain.

United we stand, divided they fall. GGMU

Old 02-18-2012, 08:34 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 1,488
Machel copied Fay Ann winning performance complete with Rose , Tan Tan and Saga boy for Groovy and when he done he even copied her Silver Surfer for Power Soca, guess that is all yuh great talent right dey
Old 02-18-2012, 08:42 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 98,276

Didn't see the power performance and Machel wasn't my favourite groovy performance but people I cannot argue with that one.

1. Like i've been saying from jump the song is just a brilliant song

2. He had terrific crowd respnse

3. He three everything but the kitchen sink on the stage for his presentation

all of that equals a deserved win.

I'll have to watch the power performance on youtube.

Old 02-18-2012, 09:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Icon

Credits: 435,701
Originally Posted by cocotrini View Post
Machel copied Fay Ann winning performance complete with Rose , Tan Tan and Saga boy for Groovy and when he done he even copied her Silver Surfer for Power Soca, guess that is all yuh great talent right dey
And if he win the road, then he will truly accomplish what she did 3 yrs. ago.
Socapro likes this.

ENOUGH, ENOUGH, ENOUGH

-Mahmoud Abbas

Old 02-18-2012, 09:30 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 98,276
Just saw part of the power song and the man flew off stage oui.
Socapro likes this.
Old 02-18-2012, 09:55 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 1,488
Machel talk through the dam song if you all want to admit it, getting a man to fly off the stage is talent that deserve to win anything? This nonsense killing soca. As for the Groovy it was like a water down Power soca, maybe two song that I would say was a nice groove, but the rest eh eh.
Old 02-18-2012, 10:01 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 17,001
Choops.... I had Kerwin winning the Groovy and Machel winning the Power Soca. I stayed until the end and was disappointed that we could not get the results...Now I am even more disappointed that Kerwin did not win the Groovy title.

I still believe that Kerwin won the Groovy. He sang his song and Machel brought the Power Soca element into the Groovy show. This is not good that Power Soca vibes won the Groovy show. I take no issue with Machel winning the Power Title but not the Groovy!

Choops, Steups and more friggin' choopsing.
Old 02-18-2012, 10:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
Manchester United

Credits: 92,479
Originally Posted by Trinizagada View Post
Choops.... I had Kerwin winning the Groovy and Machel winning the Power Soca. I stayed until the end and was disappointed that we could not get the results...Now I am even more disappointed that Kerwin did not win the Groovy title.

I still believe that Kerwin won the Groovy. He sang his song and Machel brought the Power Soca element into the Groovy show. This is not good that Power Soca vibes won the Groovy show. I take no issue with Machel winning the Power Title but not the Groovy!

When yuh have ah fan base like Double M yuh dunno how de vybz go turn out, Texting adds up. People does say yuh vote don't count, My whole family foreign and local counted.

United we stand, divided they fall. GGMU

Old 02-18-2012, 10:47 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 590
Congrats to the Mr HD and his camp on the professional performance/Presentation they presented @ISM.
Socapro likes this.
Old 02-18-2012, 11:46 AM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 11,472
Originally Posted by Trinizagada View Post

Kerwin have alot more to learn...de crowd was all for kerwin before he even began his performance so he didnt have to worry about about dat part, what he had to worry about was havin a proper presentation and props etc. those guys dont be creative enough on that part they need to take ah note out of Bunji and Machel book when it comes to havin proper presentations and props etc

Man was singin bout "Oh Bacchanal" well atleast have some sort ah bacchanal on stage nah, make ah woman ketch she man cheatin or some shit so and as she's about tuh buss dey head freeze everything and drop yuh "oh bacchanal" n start yuh tune one time

p.s. Benjai iz ah rhel cheap man when it comes to props ect boi, every year de man does have ah song dat cud win de groovy but his stage props n presentation always lets him down
Old 02-18-2012, 12:40 PM   #13 (permalink)
Carnival Is We Time

Credits: 52,444
Shout out to Brownilus. She is one crazy Jamaican chick that was up front and center last night at Soca Monarch in that crazy mashup crowd. I just hope she's okay and made it to the end.
Socapro likes this.
Old 02-18-2012, 03:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Credits: 22,127
Winning SM Performances from MM:

Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer"
Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London
On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM)
www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd
email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk

Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!!
Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology!
Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!!

Old 02-18-2012, 04:24 PM   #15 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Credits: 22,127
What I am trying to work out from the Power performance is, how did MM fly and keeping singing at the same time?!

Is it possible that he used a stunt double and never left the stage?

Or maybe his helmet had a built-in remote control mic?!

Otherwise MM flying and still singing at the same time is incredible!!
Doctor's Daughter likes this.

Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer"
Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London
On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM)
www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd
email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk

Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!!
Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology!
Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!!