Credits: 2,883
Comical but true, this is a link for Peter Boyce's blog (while it says cropover, we know the soca industry is facked up everywhere...there are other topics too within the blog).
Boyce Voice » Crop Over 2007 This one makes me laugh, though it's still very much true: 20Apr Boyce’s Advice for New Entertainers (Should also be read by oldsters to refresh skills) Hello New Entertainer person. Welcome to the Barbados Entertainment circuit. My name is Peter Boyce and this is my voice you are reading or hearing in your head, some what like Edwin’s song. I am not very well liked in some circles of government and with good reason too, some of them describe me as quite a nefarious character. I am considered to be a key instigator of the “withholding music” boycott in 2004 among a multiplicity of other issues my name is called in, and I assure you it is all deserved. In order to keep you from falling into the same pitfalls as me if you want to get liked and keep getting put on the government shows I have prepared a list of 10 Do’s and Don’ts for your edification ….. Read carefully!…. #1 You are making your 1st mistake right now, reading carefully, any time they give you a performers contract to sign, never read it or query any clause, and for heavens sake never suggest that your lawyer should see it, just sign it and skin your teeth! Good! #2. You are on the right track skinning your teeth, what ever they say about the industry publicly just keep skinning your teeth, even though you know it is not true! Just keep showing those pearly whites baby! Now you are learning….. Click link for the rest... |
Credits: 16,196
Numbers 8 & 9 have me dying!!!!!!
#8 Do not feel because foreign acts coming about here and them paying them big money ($20,000 us and thing) that you could ask for more money, who you think you is? #9 Do not make the mistake of being socially conscious and making annual donations to any major charity, they will spite you for it and drop remarks at meetings, you feel you is a business? |
Go peter boyce!!!!!! ya right like shaite!
Beware of the Beast
Credits: 192
I received my daily dose of edumafication from that link. Thanks Rummy! He's funny, but what he is saying is sooo true.
steups...
Credits: 16,321
Credits: 4,246
He is so funny, but it is not Barbados only. The contracts for carnival participation are so not funny - the artist has no leg to stand on in a court of law.