Credits: 140,860
I think that if PEOPLE are TRULY HONEST, they too will CONCLUDE this to be the CASE as well. Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 07-13-2005 at 12:02 PM.. |
Culture First
Credits: 252
Yah know i was wondering when an article like this would surface. I know Dennis Johnson and I personally respect his opinion. I've been listening to CBC.bb & the other radio station around the clock. I still saying that I hearing bear shite from B'dos. Apart from a few like my favourite Colour, The key, Nice & easy Foreday Morning. I hearing Like de bajans does say "bare Jobby" from home. The bad thing about it is that dem ass hole DJ's in de radio Stations in B'dos accepting de shite and playing it religiously... They are some new songs by new artist but yah cant hear dem. All de Fack yah hearing is lil Ric, Krosfyah so dissapointing to me. People talking bout Do Fah Do is a hard song. Whatever. I wonder if another bajan artist did the same song that wasn't so popular if de song would of even be played. Yah got guys like Malcolm X who is a radio personality at de biggest station in B'dos singing now, and he song dey pon de top ten.. Crop over need a over haul fast ah rashole...
Last edited by BajanSheriff; 07-13-2005 at 01:31 PM.. |
Just BEING Me
Credits: 166
Credits: 16,215
I think Dennis Johnson makes a great point when he compares the music of this year to 1995! I think 1995 was truly a year that showcased the talent Barbados had at that time. But I don't think this declination in music quality is limited to Barbados or to the past 10 years. As new generations hit the scene and participate, those of us who saw a "better" year or period will continue to be disgusted with what we hear.
I do think that tourism and marketing wise, this is a good year for the festival. And I will support it as long as I can. And Dennis Johnson definitely gets kudos on the observation regarding "social" commentaries. |
that one denis johnson could really hush. he want de old time things that i does hear anitgua and st. vincent with. if wanna want to hear that old shit go to them countries. as i said earlier in a thread that i will write a critical review of how the music is this year. the music this year is excellent compared to many years. i love this year, he vex cause of the fusions, hwat de ass he don't and mek somethin and see if the blasted recordin companies gin tek he shit. the fusions r good and should remain. look at rupee and lil' kim teamin up pon a real good song, i know it ain't soca but if de people want it what ya expect to do. people don't got no sense, no wonder bajan soca seems to be home base compared with TNT and that is y Trinidad gettin recognition that them shouldn't get. i ain't care what de two asses above say but if u vex and de music this year, just don't listen. how comes i didn;t see that in the paper cause i goin to write somethi n fuh he to put in de paper if he want somethin to do.
DON'T MIND THEM, KEEP DE FUSIONS, MUSIC REAL GOOD THIS YEAR. WHO GOT PROBLEMS, GO TO THE BATHROOM AS WAT IS ENTAILED IN RPB SONG. |
Credits: 133
...i agree with the article
although i happen to like quite a few of the party tunes dis year but i'll go back to my previous statement in dat 98% of ragga soca comin outta bim is bare shite all these songs are some average person goin singin and gettin a flanger effect pun de track and dats it ....no effort is put into these songs and de fact dat if u where to have these songs released outside crop over....yuh would be left wonderin whois dis r&b artist. |
Baje Promotion Inc
Credits: 138
I do believe that Mr johnson is being a little harsh with his assesment. When you have a flood of music after a drought you are gonna get a lot of garbage. I believe the the good music that has been out for this year has been really good. Higher quality than past years but the fusions that has been out this year have been pure shite! If an artist motivation is to get singed by a major label than don't masquerade as a soca artist especially during our festival when we showcase our soca artist.
Credits: 29,968
Hm. The only thing I can verify personally about the article is that music from B'dos during the 90's was real hot. I doh really know bout the rest.
Credits: 2,718
steups...
Credits: 16,342
Couldn't have said it any better myself. Maybe they should declare themselves "Popso" artists.