Old 05-27-2004, 09:35 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 2,673
Imixers Speaking Out ....

lawd hot off the presses...

As we all know, Bajan artists are boycotting this year's cropover. They have threaten to not to release any new tunes for the season. This was made official after a press conference on Tues.

After the news was made official, our own Rummy sent a letter to the news papers and other govenment officials in support of the artiste... With her permission i would like to post the letter.

Today on some of the morning talk shows in Barbados her letter has been the topic of conversation.

Way to go Rummy!

Last edited by Trinibaje; 05-27-2004 at 10:02 AM..
Old 05-27-2004, 09:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
SoCa ADdIcT-nEeD aH fIx

Credits: 763
wow! you go RUMMY!!
Old 05-27-2004, 09:37 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 19,760
Where yuh gettin to hear about it?
Old 05-27-2004, 09:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Closet Exhibitionist

Credits: 3,306
Can't wait to read it.....
Old 05-27-2004, 09:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mrs. Cimo 2

Credits: 1,290
Way to make your voice be heard Rummy!!!!
Old 05-27-2004, 09:44 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 16,180

That's great. :)
Old 05-27-2004, 09:46 AM   #7 (permalink)

Originally posted by 1trini-gyal
Where yuh gettin to hear about it?
friends in bim and www.vob929.com
Old 05-27-2004, 09:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Credits: 1,074
Re: Imixers Speaking Out ....

Originally posted by Trinibaje

As we all know, Bajan artists are boycotting this year's cropover. They have threaten to not to release any new tunes for the season. This was made official after a press conference on Tues.

After the news was made official, our own Rummy send a letter to the news papers and other govenment officials in support of the artiste... With her permission i would like to post the letter.

Today on some of the morning talk shows in Barbados her letter has been the topic of conversation.

Way to go Rummy!
nice :)
Old 05-27-2004, 09:48 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 2,877
yeah u can if u want
Old 05-27-2004, 09:53 AM   #10 (permalink)

Dear Sir/Madame,

Over the last few months I have been following news reports in regards to your Cropover festival and piracy issues with the Barbados artistes. I find it very disturbing that it is almost June and new music is being withheld due to a lack of agreement between the government and musicians. Piracy is everywhere, though I am sure something can be done from both parties to ensure the music is protected in some fashion. It seems to me, that the government is doing little to prosecute those caught, and is putting up more of a fight on not trying to help the artistes.

Soca and calypso is not looked at as major genres of music, thus anything that can be done to protect these hard-working individuals, should be taken seriously. I started coming to Barbados in 1998 after having a wonderful time whenever I visited via cruise ship. The only thing I knew from the day visits back in 1996 though 1998, was that I loved the music. After having spent a few hours and commenting how much I loved the music, I was told to come for Cropover. I’d never attended a Carnival prior, though I was intrigued. I didn’t hesitate to book a ticket to Barbados as soon as I reached home. I came for close to two weeks the summer of 1998, and have not missed a Cropover since. I’ve come during various times of the year since then, but I always make sure there is someone performing. Be it Krosfyah at the AfterDark in Christmas of 1998, Square 1 at the Boatyard that following March in 1999, Square 1’s Anniversary party at the AfterDark in 2001, or Krosfyah Old Years Night faithfully at the Boatyard, I make it a point to go. I remember going to see Rupee and Coalishun numerous Tuesday nights at the Boatyard. Even during a trip to Trinidad for Carnival in 2000, I came to Barbados that same week to attend a few shows to see Krosfyah and Double Xplojun. I can’t even count how many shows I’ve attended, but I can assure you, when I come to Barbados, I come for music.

I support these artistes as much as I can whether it is in Barbados or the United States, or other Caribbean islands. I find it so sad, that when I come to Barbados this Cropover, there is a likelihood that new music will not be playing. What will happen to Cohobblopot, Pic-o-de-Crop and the Party Monarch competitions? I listen to VOB on the internet and I am hearing Trinidad music. I attend Trinidad Carnival to hear Trinidad soca and calypso. When I come to Barbados, I come to hear my favorite “wukkup” tunes, or my favorite calypsonians such as Red Plastic Bag, Miss TC, Gabby and Kid Site just to name a few. I may be from the United States, but I’ve grown to appreciate and become more familiar with Barbados music more than any other genre of music. I love the music so much that I’ve become a DJ and ensure that plenty of Barbados music is played during my show on a local radio station in Florida.

While I love Barbados and have already purchased my ticket to come this summer, it upsets me that many of my friends will not be coming because of a lack of music. Cropover is music. For anyone who thinks otherwise, think about Kadooment Day without hearing sweet tunes by Krosfyah, Square 1, Lil Rick, Madd or Red Plastic Bag. As soon as I reach in my taxi to reach my hotel, I demand the driver turn on the radio so I can hear new music. I play the radio all day so I can hear this music. I may be one person voicing my opinions, but I think your artistes have made your festival what it is today. Barbados soca is the best in my opinion, and the calypso is so thought provoking. Your artistes deserve so much more and I hope that something can be done to make what I thought Cropover was supposed to be, SWEET FUH DAYS.
Old 05-27-2004, 09:53 AM   #11 (permalink)
Doh study it!

Credits: 288
Re: Imixers Speaking Out ....

Originally posted by Trinibaje

After the news was made official, our own Rummy send a letter to the news papers and other govenment officials in support of the artiste... With her permission i would like to post the letter.

Way to go Rummy!
IT'S ALWAYS GOOD TO SEE PPL SPEAK OUT FOR WHAT THEY BELIEVE IN :)
Old 05-27-2004, 09:57 AM   #12 (permalink)
meximadness

Credits: 642

dats a great letter rummy! good for you!!!
Old 05-27-2004, 09:58 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 19,760
Originally posted by spicydimples
dats a great letter rummy! good for you!!!
Here here...good job...now if they doh hear...they will feel...
Old 05-27-2004, 09:58 AM   #14 (permalink)
Closet Exhibitionist

Credits: 3,306
Excellent letter Rummy!!
Old 05-27-2004, 10:01 AM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 3,009
Well done.

I believe more people should follow this lead and flood the government with similar letters.