Old 03-20-2003, 06:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
loving my blessed life

Credits: 228
IMIJ & com is definitely an under rated band in T&T, why aren't they in the US???????

it's a very refreshing and put together band, they have everything down to a science, I was so impressed with there performance, and that's one of the benifits in going to trinidad for carnival, because apparently no one is bringing them up so you would never experience their fire on stage ghetto flex is multi talented his voice is so powerful it's amazing, and the girl in the band is also amazing, and the guy who sang push his voice is so refreshing, I personally find it's the same bands every year for all the after carnival parties in new york and I guarentee you'll that, that band will blow your mind, I just wanted to share that with you'll peace, :cool2
Old 03-20-2003, 06:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
We Not I

Credits: 713
Re: IMIJ & com is definitely an under rated band in T&T, why aren't they in the US???????

Originally posted by guesswho
it's a very refreshing and put together band, they have everything down to a science, I was so impressed with there performance, and that's one of the benifits in going to trinidad for carnival, because apparently no one is bringing them up so you would never experience their fire on stage ghetto flex is multi talented his voice is so powerful it's amazing, and the girl in the band is also amazing, and the guy who sang push his voice is so refreshing, I personally find it's the same bands every year for all the after carnival parties in new york and I guarentee you'll that, that band will blow your mind, I just wanted to share that with you'll peace, :cool2
They really sounded good for carnival , I think after this season they will get some recognition , all new bands have to pay their dues , If they stay together they will be right up with the big guns ....
Old 03-20-2003, 06:53 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 4,274
Yeah, they are real good. But the word is they don't ask a lot of the promoters that want to bring them, like hotel rooms, limo, etc.
And personally, I don't see why they shouldn't be allowed these things.
Old 03-20-2003, 08:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
engineroom

Originally posted by brownskintrini
Yeah, they are real good. But the word is they don't ask a lot of the promoters that want to bring them, like hotel rooms, limo, etc.
And personally, I don't see why they shouldn't be allowed these things.
could you rephrase this- i am not following what you're trying to say...

in regard to why they shouldn't be allowed those things, just like the artists, is only a few promoters making real money to spend on luxury things (limos i mean, not hotel rooms)

they are wicked though.

what is the relation, if any, to Second Imij?
Old 03-20-2003, 08:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
We Not I

Originally posted by engineroom

in regard to why they shouldn't be allowed those things, just like the artists, is only a few promoters making real money to spend on luxury things (limos i mean, not hotel rooms)

they are wicked though.

To me it's the same band with some new members ....
Old 03-20-2003, 08:52 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 4,274

they are wicked though.

I will rephrase and say I believe that all soca artists should be able to ride in limos and want hotel rooms. Promoters just gotta work a lil harder to come up with that $$$. Janet Jackson wouldn't sleep on someone's couch now would she?

What do you mean: what is the relation, if any, to Second Imij?
Old 03-20-2003, 10:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
engineroom

Originally posted by UpTown
To me it's the same band with some new members ....
who is left over?
Old 03-20-2003, 11:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
engineroom

Originally posted by brownskintrini
I will rephrase and say I believe that all soca artists should be able to ride in limos and want hotel rooms. Promoters just gotta work a lil harder to come up with that $$$. Janet Jackson wouldn't sleep on someone's couch now would she?

What do you mean: what is the relation, if any, to Second Imij?
Janet Jackson will guarantee promoters make money, very few soca band can say the same, Imij & Company is not one of them (yet).
Old 03-21-2003, 12:25 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 28,850
Personally, I think if you're good enough the artistes should move on solo because carrying an entire band is too expensive. Look successful man like Bunji, KMC, Sean Paul, and 50 cents does move solo. And also you must put out a hit song of you own to be recognized. None of dat singing other people song stupidness. I'm sure some of them are not lazy enough to not have their own songs. In the current times it is most successful to move solo like a Hip-Hop star with your own hit. And when you make those hits and make enough money, then bring up your people like Eminem, Nelly, Juvenile, Bounty Killer and others did for their people.

► "91.9 Morning Show" w/ Isha Wells, Brother B, & Mad Indian. Weekdays, 9a-12p. http://www.soca919.com/play.asx

► http://www.myspace.com/trinidaduniversity
Old 03-21-2003, 12:42 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 112
They really are not the same band, the only former members are Ghetto Flex (Hilton Danzel, de original 'Golo' man) and the guitarist, Joey.

They were very good for carnival and they have proven themselves and paid their dues. The only new band I have seen to not pay their dues but take a free ride because of famous siblings is Invasion, I never see a band lacking musical talent rise to such fame in their first year of existence.

I do wish Imij would add at least get a keyboardist and even a horn section and rely less on sequenced music. Yuh cyar beat that front line though, very good!
Old 03-21-2003, 12:56 AM   #11 (permalink)
loving my blessed life

Credits: 228
I agree julie mango, in trinidad for carnival invasion was very disappointing, thank god for iwer, you have to take off your hat to him he is a great sales man, some of the other artist should follow his lead because apparently he could sell sand on a beach, but to be quite honest we have eyes and ears and we know bull shit when we see it, the first time I heard them performed when I went to trinidad I tried to be opened minded, maybe there tired or something, but night after night oh my goodness, one word POOOOOOOORRRRRR!
Old 03-21-2003, 07:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
We Not I

who is left over?
I know Ghetto & the lead guitarist is from the original Second Imij.
Old 03-24-2003, 03:09 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 9,298
Imij and Co. sounded okay at Insomina. Ghetto Flex really has talent and had great chemistry with Denise Belfon & Rocky. Of course, they have a long way to go but they are working hard and sounding better than some of the better known bands out there I really wish them all the best.