Old 08-29-2005, 12:39 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 4,541
If you thought "Kick It Whey" was sick... Maximus comes back:

EVEN SICK!!! Has anyone heard his "Soca Warrior" chune? Maximus real love his National TnT Soccer Team... because this chune is AMAZING!! Even though he's clearly talking about the soccer team, I feel his energy towards the mission of SOCA MUSIC...
if-you-thought-kick-whey-sick-maximus-comes-back-maximus.jpg  
Old 08-29-2005, 12:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
thick P.O.S. dumplin'

Credits: 209
empress: off topic, we have tuh talk

Yes girl, i feel his energy. I love "Zion". But did you hear the unplugged version of "order"? Blessings to him for bringing spirituality and positivity into d soca.
Old 08-29-2005, 01:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
De Scribe

Credits: 295
The Gladiator has been working overtime lately. Look out for another new one, "Soca Rise" produced by Michelle "Miche" Williams for Catalyst Productions. Its one of the hot singles off our upcoming compilation "Soca Rizin'"
Old 08-29-2005, 02:51 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by chinee
empress: off topic, we have tuh talk

Yes girl, i feel his energy. I love "Zion". But did you hear the unplugged version of "order"? Blessings to him for bringing spirituality and positivity into d soca.

GIRL I'VE BEEN VIBZIN ALL WEEKEND!!! ESPECIALLY ON DE UNPLUGGED.. yes dahlin, we need to talk definitely!! Do you hear de vibes.. His music is on point, and his lyrics are sometimes not even understood... call me later so we can vibes

MidnightRobber- I can't wait... I can't wait, i know you told me about it and I can just imagine de vibes man!!
Old 08-29-2005, 03:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
thick P.O.S. dumplin'

Emp: no lie. In the beginning, people dismissed this young man, even myself because of the accent with which he delivered his music. It was around that time when bunji, treason and a whole slew of others were coming out with their material, so unfortuately, he fell into the brunt of the attacks. Only after watching an interview in 2k2, did I become appreciative of his music and his lyrics because i finally understood the message and the messenger.

MR: wha goin on meh bedren, long time no see, but i still in d loop. blessings on the upcoming work and congrats to Miche n Juicy on their nomination at d soca awards

Last edited by chinee; 08-29-2005 at 03:05 PM..
Old 08-29-2005, 03:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
De Scribe

Originally Posted by HoneyEmpress
GIRL I'VE BEEN VIBZIN ALL WEEKEND!!! ESPECIALLY ON DE UNPLUGGED.. yes dahlin, we need to talk definitely!! Do you hear de vibes.. His music is on point, and his lyrics are sometimes not even understood... call me later so we can vibes

MidnightRobber- I can't wait... I can't wait, i know you told me about it and I can just imagine de vibes man!!
The vibe is nice. Real nice. I hope people listen to the lyrics closely. I eh go lie but every time he comes to the studio I feel honored. We do not respect our artists enough inthis genre and its evident in how we treat them. His music is the type to last years and years to come.
Old 08-29-2005, 03:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
thick P.O.S. dumplin'

Reminds me of Ras Shorty I, a re-incarnation of sorts, in a sense. He thinks on a higher level, not willing to lyrically bash, but to uplift.

MR: If you deliver ish, you will be treated like ish
Old 08-29-2005, 03:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Old School Member

Credits: 563
Originally Posted by Metro Robber
The Gladiator has been working overtime lately. Look out for another new one, "Soca Rise" produced by Michelle "Miche" Williams for Catalyst Productions. Its one of the hot singles off our upcoming compilation "Soca Rizin'"
Yo..I heard this track this past weekend. Dis man is spittin' pure fyah on the track. BIG tune fuh real. Bless up Catalyst on that production.
Old 08-29-2005, 03:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
De Scribe

Reminds me of Ras Shorty I, in a sense. He thinks on a higher level, not willing to lyrically bash, but to uplift.

True. But I've seen the best treated like $hit.
Old 08-29-2005, 03:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
thick P.O.S. dumplin'

True. But I've seen the best treated like $hit.
You're right on dat too. Do you think it's not enough respect for the culture on a whole?
Old 08-29-2005, 03:32 PM   #11 (permalink)

The vibe is nice. Real nice. I hope people listen to the lyrics closely. I eh go lie but every time he comes to the studio I feel honored. We do not respect our artists enough inthis genre and its evident in how we treat them. His music is the type to last years and years to come.

Shux, to me I find they're (promoters, dj's, etc.) are honoring some people with NO SKILLS ATAL, don't get me wrong the jump up vibe is sweet, I LOVE IT... but I think some of these chunes out here are being glorified and are not even worth the credit compared to what this man has under his belt! I feel honored everytime I get to see him and meet him, and when I talk about him to people I make sure to tell them to go up to him, his musical spirituality is AMAZING and I'm going to add him to my Soca Curriculum for my children.

chinee- lawd girl, I took to Maximus from since his magga dan days, but for some reason when I heard "Food Fight", he GOT MY ATTENTION. Then I heard Zion (don't get me wrong the Uncut version is sick) but the original version put me in a place of complete ecstasy... I was able to connect my spiritual vibes to my cultural vibes... and that together is very VERY POWERFUL... As a matter of fact I witnessed this very feeling this weekend in Boston, where some people just couldn't handle de energy and just as we put it "LEH GO":

When yuh get d warning put on yuh wings
When yuh get d call drop everyting
When yuh hear de trumpet put on yuh wings
Babylon go call drop everything

Find ah bag
Pack yuh luggage
Doh be coward
show me courage
Doh be late by de gate
For de fadda cyah wait

Fly (4)
To Zion I (2)
Old 08-29-2005, 03:36 PM   #12 (permalink)

Reminds me of Ras Shorty I, a re-incarnation of sorts, in a sense. He thinks on a higher level, not willing to lyrically bash, but to uplift.

You know what sis... you're right... Like when Ras Shorty I did a 360,changed his name, his lyrics, and himself HE BECAME MORE POWERFUL... I mean the talent was already in them, but when yuh spirit calling you to deliver messages, YOU'RE GOING TO HAVE TO JUST DO THAT... and Maximus reminds so much of that. There are a few people in the business who do just such, but people are not listening to the words clearly... Man there are a few who are also talented but they're wasting their skills with rubbish, fast food lyrics... (let me don't get on that) Me an an imixer were talking about this all weekend...
Old 08-29-2005, 03:38 PM   #13 (permalink)
thick P.O.S. dumplin'

Dis iz exactly what i'm talkin about. Emp. is like you dere but yuh juss gone...only for ah minute!

When yuh get d warning put on yuh wings
When yuh get d call drop everyting
When yuh hear de trumpet put on yuh wings
Babylon go call drop everything

Find ah bag
Pack yuh luggage
Doh be coward
show me courage
Doh be late by de gate
For de fadda cyah wait

Fly (4)
To Zion I (2)
[/B] [/FONT]
Old 08-29-2005, 03:40 PM   #14 (permalink)

Dis iz exactly what i'm talkin about. Emp. is like you dere but yuh juss gone...only for ah minute!
GiRL GONE IS NOT DE WORD!! lol... I like where I go with his music, sometimes I don't even want a fella to come up behind me while this is playin, yuh understand.. Girl... are you on msn, I want to send you something?
Old 08-29-2005, 07:08 PM   #15 (permalink)

EVEN SICK!!! Has anyone heard his "Soca Warrior" chune? Maximus real love his National TnT Soccer Team... because this chune is AMAZING!! Even though he's clearly talking about the soccer team, I feel his energy towards the mission of SOCA MUSIC...

he really love soccar fuh true, i happened to be on a bus with him over the weekend and all he and the man dem chatting bout was football