Old 09-27-2005, 10:01 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 10,002
If Maximus was at Calypso Monarch in 2005...

If Maximus competed in preliminaries in Calypso Monarch and sang
  • Order, the unplugged version
  • Zion, a little slower,

do you think he'd make the finals ? I think he would.

opinions?
Old 09-27-2005, 12:31 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 6,568
Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva
If Maximus competed in preliminaries in Calypso Monarch and sang
  • Order, the unplugged version
  • Zion, a little slower,

do you think he'd make the finals ? I think he would.

opinions?

definately not. He music dont fit the criteria for calypso. Not in the least
Old 09-27-2005, 02:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Culture First

Credits: 252
Maybe with a different arrangement it might work..
Old 09-27-2005, 02:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
RasGunta

Credits: 1,150
I always thought that Maximus and Bunji had a chance of making the calypso finals with the proper arrangement but then again I don't see the judges putting them any further than semis
Old 09-28-2005, 06:18 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 685
I dont think he would have made it very far.

But that doesnt detract from the excellent quality of the music.

I have heard the Order unplugged in the AVroom...personally i dont like it as much as the original.

Maximus had some great tunes in 2k5
Old 09-28-2005, 12:05 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 14,237
uhhh, maximus and bunji doh sing calypso.

i'd like it if maximus did soca monarch though, i think he'd send the crowd crazy with songs, only ting he'd need is a cute lil performance.
Old 09-28-2005, 12:20 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 4,538
Originally Posted by sharkbait

i'd like it if maximus did soca monarch though, i think he'd send the crowd crazy with songs, only ting he'd need is a cute lil performance.

Do you think they have the capabilities to sing Calypso @ all?

I think Maximus has a chance to be a great Calypso artist if the tempo and arrangement of his music changed. But lyrically, INCREDIBLE!! I have some people who still to this day when I tell them about his song "Food Fight", they still don't have an idea what it means...

Sharkbait and you're right if he entered Soca Monarch, he would real' mash up dat stage. I never forget his performance of "Kick It Whey"... the only thing was his announcement of the TnT football team, that was a bit long, but the performance was GREAT!!
Old 09-28-2005, 12:23 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by HoneyEmpress

I think Maximus has a chance to be a great Calypso artist if the tempo and arrangement of his music changed. But lyrically, INCREDIBLE!! I have some people who still to this day when I tell them about his song "Food Fight", they still don't have an idea what it means...

Sharkbait and you're right if he entered Soca Monarch, he would real' mash up dat stage. I never forget his performance of "Kick It Whey"... the only thing was his announcement of the TnT football team, that was a bit long, but the performance was GREAT!!
maximus could definitely do it, if he's not singing about something positive, he's talking about current issues, if he slows down his pace and gets the right music, he could make it in calypso like nuttin.

bunji on de other hand...i eh know........i eh know how much calypso he might come out wit, he does only have so much to say.
Old 09-28-2005, 12:25 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by sharkbait
Rearrange Order and Zion and he'd be singing Calypso and I think he'd do decent in Calypso Monarch.
Old 09-28-2005, 12:26 PM   #10 (permalink)

Rearrange Order and Zion and he'd be singing Calypso and I think he'd do decent in Calypso Monarch.
ok.
Old 09-28-2005, 02:17 PM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by HoneyEmpress

absolutley NOT
Old 09-28-2005, 02:25 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by saveoursoca
absolutley NOT
disagree. He redid Soca Train and it mashed up bad. This plus his consciousness and intelligence makes me feel he'd do some damage in a Calypso Monarch.
Old 09-28-2005, 03:17 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 1,725
i thought about this for a day and the furthest i think maxidanny would of made is the prelims if that. i'm still upset at the fact that Crazy even made as reserve.

salty
Old 09-28-2005, 03:26 PM   #14 (permalink)

disagree. He redid Soca Train and it mashed up bad. This plus his consciousness and intelligence makes me feel he'd do some damage in a Calypso Monarch.
not taking anything away from his creativity
Yuh already know my take on ragga guys
but he makeup is not that of calypso.
Old 09-28-2005, 03:31 PM   #15 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 11,428
people should have a lil thing called "foresight", and realize what talents are applicable across related genres...that or not be so blinded by haterism.

maximus if he studied and worked at it would do well at calypso.
he have a thing called "talent", particularly at writing lyrics and developing melodies.

yuh forget how many ppl in some of these competitions doh even write their own tunes and have to be coached, etc. he done have a leg up on them.

Last edited by Mystic Xtremist; 09-28-2005 at 03:34 PM..