Old 10-10-2008, 01:09 AM   #1 (permalink)

If Claudette Peters was a Trini wouldn't she be the UNDISPUTED Queen of SOCA?

Over the last two years at least Claudette Peters has been dominating soca in the region. She is by far the best soca diva going today. Yet when we here about the soca queens of the caribbean we only here of Destra amd Allison Hinds. I am of the view that if Claudette was from Trinidad she would be recognised as the Undisputed Queen of SOCA .
wHAT YOU GUYS THINK?
Old 10-10-2008, 01:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Just got an Imix PHD

Location: Dominican Republic and puerto rico.. dem gyal sweet
idk bout Queen but she wud be one of de most popular in de region.

if yuh gone prison and yuh i hear i got your woman we just frens
Old 10-10-2008, 01:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
D Konpa-Zouk Shotta

CP is very underrated. That bring it on song is boss oui

Bring It On (2008 Antiguan Soca Monarch Winner) Taxik - www.taxikmusik.com - Claudette Peters
Old 10-10-2008, 01:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
D Konpa-Zouk Shotta

Originally Posted by Sugar Sugar View Post
Over the last two years at least Claudette Peters has been dominating soca in the region. She is by far the best soca diva going today. Yet when we here about the soca queens of the caribbean we only here of Destra amd Allison Hinds. I am of the view that if Claudette was from Trinidad she would be recognised as the Undisputed Queen of SOCA .
wHAT YOU GUYS THINK?
Of course. But it seems like times are changin and people starting to play the music from these islands (to a point). Me personally i am getting sick of waiting on Destra for a new video . There are plenty of other queens in the Caribbean at least two from each island that are putting it down.
Old 10-10-2008, 02:14 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Sugar Sugar View Post
wHAT YOU GUYS THINK?
Every island should be responsible for pushing their own queen, the Trinis got behind Destra, the Bajans behind Allison, and the Vincies behind Zoelah. They're not waiting for people from outside their borders to crown their queens. In other words, if the fans in Antigua think that Claudette is their queen then she is. And yeah, I like Claudette.
Old 10-10-2008, 11:45 AM   #6 (permalink)

Groovy wise, she's definitely a soca queen

Uptempo, she has some work to do.
Old 10-10-2008, 12:03 PM   #7 (permalink)

She is great and powerful
Old 10-10-2008, 04:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
2 save da day

well, she is a queen in her own rights; since, she is the lone female to have won a soca monarch title in the caribbean, and she has an even better oppurtunity of claiming such title, by wining the international soca monarch.

Originally Posted by BRIAN View Post
Every island should be responsible for pushing their own queen, the Trinis got behind Destra, the Bajans behind Allison, and the Vincies behind Zoelah. They're not waiting for people from outside their borders to crown their queens. In other words, if the fans in Antigua think that Claudette is their queen then she is. And yeah, I like Claudette.
well the anu gov was pushing tizzy as oppose to claudette.

Originally Posted by small_island_descent View Post
Groovy wise, she's definitely a soca queen

Uptempo, she has some work to do.
i think i have an idea as to where you're coming from......but i don't think she needs work....iz jus that she needs to stop having dem long lines in her songs, and stop dragging out her words like that, which makes it sound as if she's singing a ballad(mardi gras and showtime-prime examples). uptempo, songs need to have short lines, which makes it hype and racey.
Old 10-10-2008, 04:46 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by wadadli 2 the rescue View Post
well, she is a queen in her own rights; since, she is the lone female to have won a soca monarch title in the caribbean, and she has an even better oppurtunity of claiming such title, by wining the international soca monarch.
True.

That is WACK. I mean, this year I really like Tizzy for the most part, but Claudette has way too much singing talent not to be pushed just as much as Tizzy.

i think i have an idea as to where you're coming from......but i don't think she needs work....iz jus that she needs to stop having dem long lines in her songs, and stop dragging out her words like that, which makes it sound as if she's singing a ballad(mardi gras and showtime-prime examples). uptempo, songs need to have short lines, which makes it hype and racey.
Something like that. Actually that probably is what it is. Her verses don't have any breaks in them to make the song sound really hype. I mean, y'all don't have to like Oungku all that much BUT one thing about Oungku, when he chants, he can make most of his recycled riddims hype again by using those short catchy phrases. Claudette sings more like Onyan up an uptempo song, too much singing, not enough chanting.
Old 10-10-2008, 04:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
2 save da day

True.

That is WACK. I mean, this year I really like Tizzy for the most part, but Claudette has way too much singing talent not to be pushed just as much as Tizzy.

well it's only now they are trying to throw their weight behind her........like the coverage tempo did on antigua's carnival, it was oriented around her. (they featured her alot and she was the host)
Something like that. Actually that probably is what it is. Her verses don't have any breaks in them to make the song sound really hype. I mean, y'all don't have to like Oungku all that much BUT one thing about Oungku, when he chants, he can make most of his recycled riddims hype again by using those short catchy phrases. Claudette sings more like Onyan up an uptempo song, too much singing, not enough chanting.
mp3 wise i can't stand oungku lol, but i must admit....nobody has as much vibe as him on the rd "nobody". claudette she's the same...she is hype live, not on mp3 though.
Old 10-10-2008, 05:01 PM   #11 (permalink)

alison hinds won barbados party monarch already.

i still dont know who claudette peters is. i saw her perform on the digicel risin star show in barbados and that is all. with destra and alison hinds, people know them. claudette still got long ways to go to say she is queen. she cant be known only in the antigua and the other small soca nations. trinidad and barbados are the biggest soca nations, why not promote herself in trini and barbados? i should not be on de internet lookin up on claudette. i dont have to do with alison nor destra.

Last edited by BAJANFUHLIFE; 10-10-2008 at 05:03 PM.
Old 10-10-2008, 05:03 PM   #12 (permalink)

True.

the only reason 4 that was bcoz Tizzy already had a major region wide hit. Oh she did sing Antigua Nice too, that's another reason.
Old 10-10-2008, 05:16 PM   #13 (permalink)
2 save da day

Originally Posted by BAJANFUHLIFE View Post
alison hinds won barbados party monarch already.

i didn't know this abt alison, but i really meant to say..c.p has the most titles under her belt

i still dont know who claudette peters is. i saw her perform on the digicel risin star show in barbados and that is all. with destra and alison hinds, people know them. claudette still got long ways to go to say she is queen. she cant be known only in the antigua and the other small soca nations. trinidad and barbados are the biggest soca nations, why not promote herself in trini and barbados? i should not be on de internet lookin up on claudette. i dont have to do with alison nor destra.
Old 10-10-2008, 07:06 PM   #14 (permalink)
ms_socadiva

didnt know bout she till julian posted ah video..her chunes ah sweet but she is not the queen..allison is the queen of soca IMO!! and she is not trini...
Old 10-11-2008, 08:48 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by ms_socadiva View Post
didnt know bout she till julian posted ah video..her chunes ah sweet but she is not the queen..allison is the queen of soca IMO!! and she is not trini...
preach it sister.

btw, i would not have known bout claudette until she performed at digicel risin stars. so how she home people want to name she queen when no one knows her?