Old 03-06-2006, 08:12 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 688
If all the Band of the Year controversy is true ....

Doesn't that mean that Shurwayne would be the real roadmarch winner for 2006 ?

I'm just wondering cuz if it's true that Band of d Year has sampled two separate songs, then I don't see, under Trinidad's sampling rules, how Band of d Year can win.

And, from my knowledge, "Can't Wait" by Shurwayne has no samples.

Now personally, I can admit my bias. I like Shurwayne's song much better than Band of d Year and I wish it won first time around.

But what do y'all Imixers think ? If the controversy is true, should Shurwayne win the roadmarch ? Also, would y'all be mad if he got the crown for his 3rd time in a row ?
Old 03-06-2006, 08:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
cyan.mis.d.festival.again

Credits: 417
Shurwayne?

Didn't Scandalous come second? No matter how you slice Machel tekkin' de title this year.
Old 03-06-2006, 08:23 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 140,978
Originally Posted by t-daughta
Shurwayne?

Didn't Scandalous come second? No matter how you slice Machel tekkin' de title this year.
Scandalous came THIRD.
Old 03-06-2006, 08:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
cyan.mis.d.festival.again

Credits: 417
oops...
Old 03-06-2006, 08:54 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 702
Originally Posted by small_island_descent

I'm just wondering cuz if it's true that Band of d Year has sampled two separate songs, then I don't see, under Trinidad's sampling rules, how Band of d Year can win.

And, from my knowledge, "Can't Wait" by Shurwayne has no samples.

Now personally, I can admit my bias. I like Shurwayne's song much better than Band of d Year and I wish it won first time around.

But what do y'all Imixers think ? If the controversy is true, should Shurwayne win the roadmarch ? Also, would y'all be mad if he got the crown for his 3rd time in a row ?
Funny thing is...Band of the Year contained no 'samples'

I guess all this talk from north of the border means this tempest in a teapot finally reach T.O.?

Old 03-06-2006, 09:08 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 606
If people so vex go and take back the title nah.

Steups.
Old 03-06-2006, 09:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 25,276
Originally Posted by dumper
If people so vex go and take back the title nah.

Steups.
Relax nah.....
oh geez why is this so serious for you?
it jus shit talkin we talkin.......
Old 03-07-2006, 12:30 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 895
Originally Posted by small_island_descent
Obviously NOT since TUCO wrote the rules and has the final word and said the song was OK and would not be disqualified.

I would assume thats the end of it unless someone brings a lawsuit...sure dont matter what Imixers think.
Old 03-07-2006, 12:22 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark
Funny thing is...Band of the Year contained no 'samples'

I guess all this talk from north of the border means this tempest in a teapot finally reach T.O.?

we reach the stage we warming up

song win talk done
Old 03-07-2006, 01:43 PM   #10 (permalink)

FYI: For those who MIGHT be CLUELESS about TUCO rules.

Rule Number 11 in TUCO's “Rules Of The Road March Competition 2006” says: “Calypsoes that depend on samples or adaptation of existing melodies shall not be eligible and will not be considered in the Road March competition.”
Old 03-08-2006, 02:04 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 126
TUCO (& I think COTT also), made a public statement on Ash Wednesday / Thursday that following Carnival (while d judges were tallyin d marks) they had checked the song "Band of the Year" for any samples and they found none.

Last edited by Kathryn; 03-08-2006 at 02:23 PM..
Old 03-08-2006, 11:07 PM   #12 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Credits: 2,438
Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA
FYI: For those who MIGHT be CLUELESS about TUCO rules.

Rule Number 11 in TUCO's “Rules Of The Road March Competition 2006” says: “Calypsoes that depend on samples or adaptation of existing melodies shall not be eligible and will not be considered in the Road March competition.”

According to their conception of what a sample is, the song does not contain a sample...
Old 03-08-2006, 11:24 PM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by SeReNDiPiTy
According to their conception of what a sample is, the song does not contain a sample...
What is their CONCEPTION of a SAMPLE and when did this CONCEPTION came about?
Old 03-09-2006, 12:40 AM   #14 (permalink)
Musician/Superhero

Credits: 1,085
Originally Posted by Kathryn
TUCO (& I think COTT also), made a public statement on Ash Wednesday / Thursday that following Carnival (while d judges were tallyin d marks) they had checked the song "Band of the Year" for any samples and they found none.
Firstly, if TUCO said it contained no samples, are they going to also claim it doesn't contain an "adaptation of an existing melody"?

Secondly, COTT said NO SUCH THING. They have actually publicly come out AGAINST the ruling of TUCO's President, Michael Legerton.

And Thirdly, whoever the judges are that determined that the songs were not in violation... clearly these people need to never judge anything ever again. STEUPS!
Old 03-09-2006, 12:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
RasGunta

Credits: 1,150
This morning a statement was realesed saying that Band of The Year has interntional sampling and it wil have to be disqualified.