Credits: 125
I startin Alyu early (fiiah whey yuh) Calypso birthed Reggae and HIP HOP
http://www.bolt.com/quintin72/photo/...njojpg/2269744 that thing that the guy has in his hands is a Banjo.pic taken 1912 of a calypso band in Trinidad and Tobago ,so lemme see 1912 pic of calypso band with banjo , 1950 Mento got banjos in they music HMMMMM. (gwan from here with that Banjo= Mento thing)
1902 Recorded Calypso http://www.bolt.com/quintin72/audio/2270092 taken from an album compiled by kaiso pioneer Called Lionel Belasco born in the1800's in Barbados ,Venezuela or Trinidad grew up in Trinidad and had his own kaiso band playing kaiso by 1900, which means it was around long B4 that. Record Footnotes site this song as 1902 or before. Ska legend Lauren Aiken, Rollin Stones mag, the jolly boys website, even the great BOB MARLEY credited Calypso as fathering reggae, a site named REGGAE. COM say Mento and calypso is the same thing ,and u still talking SHYTE, you site tempo but we all know that the tempo argument is non existent because I posted many slow kaiso and Bakes mentioned extempore so that’s a done deal. Jolly boy’s website say that Calypso parented Mento regardless of who wrote it, it had to be approved and I am sure if the powers that be, weather Jolly boys or other musical researchers, knowing how fierce they are in defending the music of JA would not have passed it if it was not true. Harry Belafonte say he was singing Calypso you say he singing Mento, in fact some of his biggest hits were penned and sang way before JAFAKIN Harry got a hold of them by Trini kaisonians (mama look a booboo written and sang by, Lord melody****http://www.bolt.com/quintin72/audio/2269705 mama look a booboo, Harry Belafonte**** http://www.bolt.com/quintin72/audio/2269958, Shame and scandal written by Sir Lancelot, re written and sang by, Lord Melody then Harry Belafonte, http://www.bolt.com/quintin72/audio/2269717 PETER TOSH AND THE SKATALITES http://www.bolt.com/quintin72/audio/...d_scan/2269769 hmmmm de great peter Tosh was singing a kaiso, wham he couldn't find any mento songs, again re enforcing that reggae was birthed by kaiso so dais a dead point I just wanted to come and correct a prior post. Now Let we talk on hip hop , Kool Herc hip hop’s father (according to you dated hip hop to 1978, that is 7 years after Lancelot lane (rapso elder) had a hit with Blow away (which he referred to as a poem song ) it was Brother resistance (Masimba Lutallo) who coined the name rapso in the 80’s because he thought it sounded like the rapping of Calypso so here we go again CALYPSO the original Caribbean music born in TRINIDAD in the 1900’s gave birth to REGGAE and HIP HOP and no matter what u say alyu chayr take that away from us. Now Post yuh dotishness lemme kill yuh, and when yuh commin come good cuz ah done tell u I have music and VIDEO u don’t even know exist. |
GWEH
Credits: 2,831
So dih way ah mash yuh up in the last argument has been haunting for the last month and a half huh?! So a month later yuh mek thread after yuh search the entire net for any and all evidence that Calypso birthed BOTH reggae and HIP HOP. Ok fadda... guess what? You win. Calypso birthed reggae and hip hop and probably all manner of other genres as well. Let that be your reality on Imix. I will believe what is believed in the real world. Have fun with disillusion. Congrats!!!! ![]() |
![]() Last edited by De instigator; 10-13-2006 at 11:32 AM.. |
GWEH
Credits: 140,802
Battle Royal Ptii Begins.
GWEH
Credits: 70
Credit needs to be given where it is due, Africa for our music, the base for Caribbean music is out of Africa, take a listen to their music - the old singers or their style of dance, you can't wine more than them.
Credits: 15,604
![]() ![]() |
Credits: 698
Nobody not crediting AFRICA , but if a man bring a pot from France and in that pot he make pelau in germany u gotta give germany some credit fuh usin the pot to make a meal. same thing with kaiso.
Credits: 140,802
AFRICA is DEFINITELY the BASE for VINCY MUSIC....and the ONLY ONE. |
Pork Mout
Credits: 3,613
i aint getting in this bassa bassa.....
i just dropped in to mention that Irvine Burgie (writter of B'dos anthem) wrote a number of songs that Harry Belafonte sang....including De Yo ......saw it on a documentary last week....intersting nah ![]()
GWEH
Lawd hav merci!!!! |
100% correct .Leh JAFAKIN Harry haul he mudda C**T
GWEH
The origins of the "Banana Boat Song" are often stated incorrectly. The song was originally a Jamaican folk song of unknown authorship; it was sung by Jamaican banana workers, with the familiar melody and the common refrain ("daylight come and we wanna go home"), but with many different sets of lyrics, some possibly improvised on the spot. The first recorded version was done by Trinidadian singer Edric Conner and his band "The Carribeans" in 1952, on the album Songs From Jamaica; the song was called "Day De Light". [1] It was also recorded by Louise Bennett in 1954. In 1956, singer/songwriters Irving Burgie and William Attaway wrote a version of the lyrics that was recorded that same year by Harry Belafonte; this is the version that is by far the best known to listeners today. Also in 1956, folk singer Bob Gibson, who had travelled to Jamaica and heard the song, taught his version of it to the folk band The Tarriers. They recorded a version of that song that mixed in the chorus of another Jamaican folk song, "Hill and Gully Rider", and released it, spawning what became their biggest hit. This version was re-recorded by Shirley Bassey in 1957, and became a hit in the United Kingdom. [2] So the Bajan rewrote the song and Harry adopted the new lyrics... but the song existed long before. |