Old 12-29-2003, 01:03 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 158
i find Bunji singing SOCA in 04BOY!

i like about three or four songs from bunji this year boy, what the hell going on, i like the one with he and onika, d all a we is one family song and the one with lil bits.

PS. still have is dub qualities but i guess he trying a ting this year , well see.
Old 12-29-2003, 01:06 PM   #2 (permalink)

Re: i find Bunji singing SOCA in 04BOY!

Originally posted by D socarat
i like about three or four songs from bunji this year boy, what the hell going on, i like the one with he and onika, d all a we is one family song and the one with lil bits.

PS. still have is dub qualities but i guess he trying a ting this year , well see.
yup so far I'm impressed wth what I've heard the tunes are much better than what he brought for 03.
Old 12-29-2003, 03:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
De Scribe

Credits: 531

I'm confused. What was he singing before??!!
Old 12-29-2003, 03:18 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 367

wAIT WHAT WAS HE SINGING B4 THOSE SONGS? CALYPSO?:CONFUSED:KICKS
Old 12-29-2003, 03:23 PM   #5 (permalink)

Re: Re: i find Bunji singing SOCA in 04BOY!

Originally posted by Midnight Robber
I'm confused. What was he singing before??!!

I think dey call it Dub i ent too sure but i know wasnt Soca!
Old 12-29-2003, 03:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
De Scribe

Re: Re: Re: i find Bunji singing SOCA in 04BOY!

I think dey call it Dub i ent too sure but i know wasnt Soca!
Oh okay. I'm glad you cleared that up. So Maximus, 3suns, Benjai and dem is not soca neider? Machel is soca huh? and Super Blue too? but not Bunji.

What makes them soca and the others not? I think you are limitting the artform by saying that these artist are not soca. They are ragga soca artists. But still soca artists all the same.
Old 12-29-2003, 03:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Soca DJ

Credits: 502
Re: Re: Re: Re: i find Bunji singing SOCA in 04BOY!

Oh okay. I'm glad you cleared that up. So Maximus, 3suns, Benjai and dem is not soca neider? Machel is soca huh? and Super Blue too? but not Bunji.

What makes them soca and the others not? I think you are limitting the artform by saying that these artist are not soca. They are ragga soca artists. But still soca artists all the same.
thank you could not have said it better myself i thought it was only me who thought this way hey robber big up yuhself dread. they want soca to stay stagnant and be the same for years and years without no change plus people are mistaking ragga soca for the more conventional soca leh we get it straight nah.
Old 12-29-2003, 03:53 PM   #8 (permalink)

Re: Re: Re: Re: i find Bunji singing SOCA in 04BOY!

(correct)

because there true to the artform, bunji and them want to change the music not into somthing orginal like superblue/ iwer, machel ect. but into raggae. these fellas dont care for Soca they would rather sing dub but since jamaica would not except them them fall back on soca, but instead of singing soca, they still want to Dub so the put in into music dirting the clean wata.

i dont have a problem with bunji and them as artist i have a problem with them and people calling them soca artist.......... this comming from a fella that does get vex when people mistake kiaso & soca eh...
Old 12-29-2003, 04:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
De Scribe

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: i find Bunji singing SOCA in 04BOY!

because there true to the artform, bunji and them want to change the music not into somthing orginal like superblue/ iwer, machel ect. but into raggae. these fellas dont care for Soca they would rather sing dub but since jamaica would not except them them fall back on soca, but instead of singing soca, they still want to Dub so the put in into music dirting the clean wata.

i dont have a problem with bunji and them as artist i have a problem with them and people calling them soca artist.......... this comming from a fella that does get vex when people mistake kiaso & soca eh...
But Machel just sing "Put up oonu hand now, show me oonu hand now". If the music didn't change we would still have chunes like Ethel etc. Not to take away from Ethel (a great song and others in its timeline) but I would like to see you be happy in a fete with a party of just Ethel-type songs and not just a back in times party. I think you are being a lil rash by saying that they don't care about the music. Trying to modify the music and make something of their own is not showing a disregard for the music. I really can't understand how you can say that they are not soca artists. All art forms have different genres. Paintings, Dance and especially music. To say that Bunji/Maximus/3Suns are not soca is like saying Mozart wasn't classical music because he was changed classical music.
Old 12-29-2003, 04:16 PM   #10 (permalink)

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: i find Bunji singing SOCA in 04BOY!

Originally posted by socaflex
thank you could not have said it better myself i thought it was only me who thought this way hey robber big up yuhself dread. they want soca to stay stagnant and be the same for years and years without no change plus people are mistaking ragga soca for the more conventional soca leh we get it straight nah.
yep i ratther stay stagnant then pull a sean paul or shaggy wiping the world bottom to sell they music on the account of culture. i ratther it just so, if soca music to progress i want it to be original, ( let them find us, what the hell we finding them for)

if trinidad wanted to be so much like jamaica music wise they should lock off all music but soca year round push they own thing until it reaches... raggae big in jamaica they put that first, raggae music even bigger in trinidad who put soca LAST.

yes there a differece in ragga soca and soca, i rate ragga soca like secound imji "single" to bunji "desperadoes" because Soca within the raggae can be herd More, and lyrics dont talk bout violence..... compared to bunji desperadoes which sound 99.2% raggae with lyrics about bussing slugs.....
Old 12-29-2003, 04:20 PM   #11 (permalink)

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: i find Bunji singing SOCA in 04BOY!

But Machel just sing "Put up oonu hand now, show me oonu hand now". If the music didn't change we would still have chunes like Ethel etc. Not to take away from Ethel (a great song and others in its timeline) but I would like to see you be happy in a fete with a party of just Ethel-type songs and not just a back in times party. I think you are being a lil rash by saying that they don't care about the music. Trying to modify the music and make something of their own is not showing a disregard for the music. I really can't understand how you can say that they are not soca artists. All art forms have different genres. Paintings, Dance and especially music. To say that Bunji/Maximus/3Suns are not soca is like saying Mozart wasn't classical music because he was changed classical music.

ahhhh guy listen again MACHEL saying put up allyuh hand now show meh allyuh hand now....
Old 12-29-2003, 04:24 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 8,444
HELLLLLOOOOOOO... ...steups.. can we just go back to saying what a GREAT set of songs Bunji have this year...

cause that argument (though i have Robber back here) is like beating a dead horse...steups...

But Bunji on a roll...
http://www.shopbop.com/welcome?invitation_code=4242223MG8R
http://www.beyondtherack.com/member/invite/B1206249
Old 12-29-2003, 04:26 PM   #13 (permalink)

machel

have soca in he belly, he might be a dub head but he promote SOCA first, that why he a soca artist, from what i hear the man blank alantik records becasue they tryed to change his music.... if that true and it sounds true i have nutting but respect for him.... up to this point machel hasnt disapointed me as far a soca, he does rarley go on raggae vibe and i does boooooo him... but he stilll SOCA........ because he put it first....
Old 12-29-2003, 04:28 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally posted by bunjigarlindarlin
HELLLLLOOOOOOO... ...steups.. can we just go back to saying what a GREAT set of songs Bunji have this year...

cause that argument (though i have Robber back here) is like beating a dead horse...steups...

But Bunji on a roll...

yuh calling meh a horse gyal, yuh sayin i stubborn????
Old 12-29-2003, 04:32 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 8,444
yuh calling meh a horse gyal, yuh sayin i stubborn????
who de reins fit.....

nah man i wasn't.... but i tired argue bout this... people goh listen to what they like...regardless
http://www.shopbop.com/welcome?invitation_code=4242223MG8R
http://www.beyondtherack.com/member/invite/B1206249