Old 08-07-2005, 10:22 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 684
I feel Onyan got cheated the last two years .......

In where he placed in Antigua roadmarch.

In my opinion, last year he should have finished in the top 3 for roadmarch with Run Run, Police ah Come.

This year, he should have placed in top 3 with Riddim box.

How come Onyan keeps getting shafted these last two years ?
Old 08-07-2005, 11:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Rebelucian

Credits: 5,779
i agree....Onyan was on de road...for St. lucia carnival this year...and riddim box and police ah come...is fyah!!
Old 08-07-2005, 11:42 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 5,426
I actually liked "Get Wet" better than riddim box....anyways....i truly beleive that Onyan is waaaaayyyyy under rated.

www.myspace.com/jalenamusic
www.youtube.com/jalenamusic
www.twitter.com/jalenarocks
Old 08-07-2005, 11:55 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by wukkinup
I actually liked "Get Wet" better than riddim box....anyways....i truly beleive that Onyan is waaaaayyyyy under rated.

I never heard that track. What's it like ? Jumpy, lots of riddim ? Details.
Old 08-08-2005, 01:11 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 2,875
I just got a bunch of Antigua music(including Onyan's CD)...will upload those as well as Anguilla music this week.
Old 08-08-2005, 01:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Daddy Cease in deh area

Credits: 2,629
Originally Posted by Rummacita
I just got a bunch of Antigua music(including Onyan's CD)...will upload those as well as Anguilla music this week.
Yesssss.....been patiently waiting
Old 08-08-2005, 03:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 11,418
Originally Posted by small_island_descent

In my opinion, last year he should have finished in the top 3 for roadmarch with Run Run, Police ah Come.

hellz....flippin....no.

you mighta like how the tunes sound -- your opinion so respect fully -- but there was no "shafting" going on. Just land ah Antigua for a carnival and you'll understand. "Riddim Box" is a sweet chune, definitely....buuuuuuuuut.......

noooooooooooooooooooooooooooo way was Riddim Box bigger than "Another Man" (Naycha Kid/El-A-Kru) or "All I Know" (Claudete Peters/Taxic). nooooooooooooo way chief. sorry.

If you were in Wadadli for carnival nooo way you would'a ever even think to make this post
Old 08-08-2005, 05:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Muzikal Revolushan

Credits: 153
this year he didn't couldn't beat the others out...
but last year I feel he could been in the top 3 easily...
Old 08-08-2005, 10:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Your Royal Sexiness

Credits: 127,352
Originally Posted by Mystic Xtremist
hellz....flippin....no.

you mighta like how the tunes sound -- your opinion so respect fully -- but there was no "shafting" going on. Just land ah Antigua for a carnival and you'll understand. "Riddim Box" is a sweet chune, definitely....buuuuuuuuut.......

noooooooooooooooooooooooooooo way was Riddim Box bigger than "Another Man" (Naycha Kid/El-A-Kru) or "All I Know" (Claudete Peters/Taxic). nooooooooooooo way chief. sorry.

If you were in Wadadli for carnival nooo way you would'a ever even think to make this post

I totally agree!
Old 08-08-2005, 11:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
Keep the Flames "Red Hot"

Credits: 173
Originally Posted by small_island_descent

Onyan's music is sweet but one thing he didn't take with him when he left flames was incredible marketing ability. He didn't win or place in the roadmarch category because his songs were not played as much as the others during jouvert, carnival monday & tuesday when the judging is done. It is the number of times the tune is played.
Old 08-08-2005, 06:42 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 124
hellz....flippin....no.

Onyan riddim box is way better than claudete song.
Old 08-08-2005, 06:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
STEADY WUK

Credits: 2,062
I Would Like Onyan To Sing With Burning Flames One More Time For For Last Lap
Old 08-08-2005, 07:16 PM   #13 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Originally Posted by vi 2 d bone
Onyan riddim box is way better than claudete song.
lemme try dis again....
noooooooooooooooooooooooooooo way was Riddim Box bigger than "Another Man" (Naycha Kid/El-A-Kru) or "All I Know" (Claudete Peters/Taxic).
Do you see the difference? What does better have to do with bigger (more popular)? Do ppl understand how Road March gets tallied?
Old 08-08-2005, 08:46 PM   #14 (permalink)

Okay, maybe I didn't make myself clear. I know that roadmarch all depends on how many times ur song gets played on the road. And I know that because of the amount of play that Another Man and All I know got on the radio and the road, they finish where they did.

What I want to know is why Onyan's song got played less than the others ? Correct me if I'm wrong but I am under the assumption that the reason why Flames keep winning roadmarch is because Antiguans love the freeup/wileout style that the Flames provide. Both Onyan's main songs this year and last year were of that nature. Yet, he got played less this year then songs that did not relate to the wileout style that Antiguans love.

Maybe I am just biased to free up/wileout songs but the way I see it I wouldn't expect a song about "wave ur rag" to place high in SKB roadmarch cuz SKB is much more of a wileout nation. So why would a song that does not capture Antiguan wileout style get more play over a song that does, especially when the song that does capture the wileout style sounds better than the one that doesn't ?
Old 08-08-2005, 10:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Only wile out songs get roadmarch? Nah breds, nah, incorrect....

Couple years ago, a sweet tune like "Ole Time Something" came away with road march. Why? It just did. Same thing with "More Gyal". So you can't even say only wile out songs does capture road march, no way.

But y'all (unnecessarily) beating up on the other songs -- and giving more credit to "Riddim Box" than you should. "All I Know" wasn't a straight rag-n-flags song, it's a lot more of up jump-up song, a lot more than ya giving it credit for. Listen to the bridge: "start to take a jump up, jump higher than that, jump up from the front to back, jump up if the party ???, jump if you love soca...". The song have some real energy, I don't know how I can describe dat to y'all. And why was "Another Man" popular? It just was man, it just was. Again, "Riddim Box" was a sweet tune, no doubt, but really and truly, it just didn't have the same kind of energy as others. I would'nt call it the ruffest wile out session tune, sorry boss. In fact, those weren't the only tunes that got more play than "Riddim Box".

But this is like trying to describe the taste of sugar, or the smell of a flower, etc. Some things just can't be described. Sometimes you can't dissect and study and talk about music when it's just something to be felt and experienced. You just gonna have to take me and others on our word, that you wouldn't even be having these thoughts if u just bought ur ticket and come to Wadadli last week.