Old 10-18-2006, 08:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 25,273
I actually feeling to go home for this fete!!!!

Check this lineup!!
In case you missed the announcements this past Sunday, here's the ENTIRE LINEUP for SOCA OR DIE 5 at the KOOL HAUS on SATURDAY NOVEMBER 4th.

MR VYBE ("Ting 4 D Road" - 2006 Caribbean Soca Monarch)
PETER RAM ("Woman By My Side" - one of the biggest tunes in Toronto in his 1st solo Canadian appearance)
BENJAI ("Amnesty rah rah", "Clear De Way", "Over and Over" - one of Toronto's favourite artists)
LIL RICK ("Hypa Dogg", "Hard Wine", "Unity Jam" - another one of Toronto's favourites)
MICHELLE SYLVESTER ("Go Ahead", "Sleeping In Your Bed", "Face Me" - 2005 Groovy Soca Monarch)
EDWIN YEARWOOD ("We Ready 2 Go", "Pump Me Up", "Sweatin", "Hot Spot"" - the list of hits go on and on)
KIMBERLY INNISS ("My Hips", "Obsession" - 1st Canadian performance)
NADIA BATSON ("One Island" - accomplished song writer and female lead vocalist with Kes The Band)
BARRY CHANDLER ("We Dey Oh", "Flames" - 2006 Party Monarch and Road March King of Barbados in his 1st Canadian performance)
MS ALYSHA ("Party" - #1 female lyricist)
PROBLEM CHILD ("Mad" - hype tune by a hype Vincy artist)
TERRY SEALES ("Hello", "D' Waist" - Trinidad's winer boy)
and last but certainly not least, ISAAC BLACKMAN ("To The Ceiling" - listen to the message in this track and see why I'm so Blessed and happy to be alive!)

The DJ LINEUP is insane too...from the KOS you have the 3 soca scorpios - DR JAY, MARXMAN, SIR PHILLIPS alongside EMAN & DIRTY DEZ...plus SOCA SWEETNESS, BLACKBERRY SOUNDCREW, RENEGADE SQUAD, GEMSTONE INT'L, POWER PLAY and on top of all that UMBA D'SHEPHERD from Trinidad who is celebrating his birthday as well!

SOCA OR DIE 5 - SATURDAY NOVEMBER 4th - KOOL HAUS - TICKETS ON SALE FOR $31 (plus service charge)

PLAY DE RECORD (Downtown) - 416.586.0380
DRUPATI'S (Etobicoke) - 416.745.4189
WIC @ 747 Flea Market (Brampton) - 416.540.7858 - ask for Jeff or Ansar
CHARLIES (Mississauga) - 905.896.3663
A KUT ABOVE (Scarborough) - 416.839.1489 - ask for Jeff
KINGDOM OF SOCA (Pickering or Brampton) - 416.245.6411 - ask for Eman (ext 1) or marXman (ext 6)
MODERN EDGE HAIR DESIGN (Ajax) - 905.426.6894
SENECA COLLEGE (Newnham Campus) - 416.491.8811 ext 6425 - ask for Diane or Lee
YORK UNIVERSITY (North York) - 647.891.4682 - ask for Shannon
BIG PHAT PROMO (Brampton & Mississauga) - 416.684.7428 - ask for Phats

Doors will open at 10p sharp...performances will begin at midnight...and we going till morning come.

I know its going to be pressure backstage and all that, but just imagine...I mean all these artists have big chunes individually, but can you imagine seeing KIMBERLY & LIL RICK performing "My Hips" together live? How about MR VYBE & MICHELLE SYLVESTER doing one of the most slept-on tracks of the year "Always On My Mind"? Geez an ages...just thinking about it is giving me goose bumps...SATURDAY NOVEMBER 4th is going to be a special night...actually, the entire weekend is going to be amazing...did you hear what I was doing on the FRIDAY night as well?
Old 10-18-2006, 08:57 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 2,911
So dem all performin to tracks?
Old 10-18-2006, 08:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Totee lickin shotz

Credits: 4,905
thats a fackin fete...

they need to bring this lineup to ny
Old 10-18-2006, 09:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
aka Tiny-Winey reppin SIA

Credits: 3,017
oh I already deh..ticket bought long time
Old 10-18-2006, 09:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 25,273
Originally Posted by Rummy View Post
dais a good question!!!
I ent see no band featured??
but i think i'd still enjoy the show
thats a nice line up....
Old 10-18-2006, 09:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
focused

Credits: 1,766
Originally Posted by Rummy View Post

yep...that's what happened @ soca or die 3 and most of soca or die 4
Old 10-18-2006, 10:27 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Rinababy View Post
dais a good question!!!
I ent see no band featured??
but i think i'd still enjoy the show
thats a nice line up....
nice lineup...but against tracks? Not that appealing (but it sure beats Miami where we don't get anybody really until Carnival). Thank god I going away for Christmas.
Old 10-19-2006, 04:03 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 100
got my tickets last friday....can't waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaait!!!
Old 10-19-2006, 08:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Culture First

Credits: 252
Originally Posted by spicy_trini View Post
yep...that's what happened @ soca or die 3 and most of soca or die 4
Why would I want to go to a fete to hear people sining off of tracks please ....
I may as well stay home and play de blasted Cd's
Old 10-19-2006, 10:40 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 100
Originally Posted by BajanSheriff View Post
Why would I want to go to a fete to hear people sining off of tracks please ....
lol i see somebody's never been to the kool haus for a soca fete.......bout stay home

u do that...more gyal for me
Old 10-19-2006, 11:30 AM   #11 (permalink)
aka Tiny-Winey reppin SIA

Credits: 3,017
when you play your cd's at home the artists does come out of the stereo and dance for you live?
Some artists don't need a band to make their performance worth while. I think that if you give a wicked performance without a band and only cd backing then your good. but thats just my opinion.
Old 10-19-2006, 05:03 PM   #12 (permalink)
look meh!

Credits: 1,132
Agreed, I've never been in favor of artists singing over tracks as well. No disrespect to the artists or anything it's just that when they have a live band behind them the energy is on a totally different level, a band is alot more versatile then an instrumental track (providing one is available, sometimes they does actually sing over the orginal track), and finally, it's a LIVE performance, therefore I just feel the music should be performed LIVE as well.

As far as this fete in question is concerned though, the lineup is hot!
Old 10-19-2006, 05:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Culture First

Credits: 252
Originally Posted by Socaboy View Post
Agreed, I've never been in favor of artists singing over tracks as well. No disrespect to the artists or anything it's just that when they have a live band behind them the energy is on a totally different level, a band is alot more versatile then an instrumental track (providing one is available, sometimes they does actually sing over the orginal track), and finally, it's a LIVE performance, therefore I just feel the music should be performed LIVE as well.

As far as this fete in question is concerned though, the lineup is hot!
Old 10-23-2006, 07:26 PM   #14 (permalink)

BTW...mark Yearwood off the list. Krosfyah in Suriname that day.
Old 10-24-2006, 12:32 AM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 9,323
Might as well perform to tracks anyway....at least right away you know what's happening.Nothing much live in some of these bands "playing" over recorded material, then leaving the stage and the drum machine accidentally coming on. And dont get me started about lipsyncmania.