Old 08-16-2004, 02:06 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 2,470
Hurricane Ah Come, A Wicked Jam With An Important

IN LIGHT OF WHAT HAPPEN IN FLORIDA LAST FRIDAY AND SOME IMIXERS' EXPERIENCE WITH HURRICANE CHARLEY AH LOOK UP HURRICANE AH COME AND PAID REAL CLOSE ATTENTION TO THE LYRICS AND FOUND THAT IT DOES HAVE AN IMPORTANT MESSAGE ABOUT HURRICANE PREPAREDNESS.
AH EVEN DOES REMIND MYSELF ABOUT MY PERSONAL EXPERIENCE WITH HURRICANE HUGO AND EVEN LOOKING AT THOSE VIDEOS OF HURRICANE CHARLEY ON CNN AND THE WEATHER CHANNEL.

THE FIRST TIME I HEARD THE TUNE I THOUGHT I WAS A REALLY WICKED TUNE, WHEN I SAW FLAMES JAM IT ON THE PARKWAY IT WAS REALLY A WICKED JAM TOO! BUT OF WHAT JUST HAPPEN IN FLORIDA AND NOW WE HAVE 2 STORMS OUT THERE AND HURRICANE SEASON STARTING TO GO INTO FULL SWING, I FOUND THE LYRICS OF THE TUNE APPROPRIATE TO POST...EVEN THOUGH IT WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER IF IT WAS LIVE LINK TO THE ACTUAL TUNE.

VERSE 1
De weatherman warning there is ah storm in de area,
You better prepare yourself for a big disaster,
Trembling in me boots shaking I am so afraid,
Dis hurricane coming to do endless damage,

Get your hammer ready,
Get your plywood ready,
Get 2 by 4 ready,
Come leh we nail down , nail down,
Get your galvanize ready,
Get your coba(?) ready,
Get your nail dem ready,
And den go nail down, nail down, nail down, nail down

Hurricane ah come!
Man ah runnin for me life,
Hurricane ah come!
Couldn' t even protect me wife,
Hurricane ah come!
Ah hidin undaneath me bed,
Hurricane ah come!
Lawd, ah swear tonight me dead,

Batten down de door,
Nail down!
Batten down de window,
Nail down!
When you pound de nail,
Mind you nah buss you finger,
Nail down!
REPEAT 2X

Start to pound now!

Batten down! Batten down! Batten down! Batten down!
REPEAT 4X

Hurricane rip off de plywood,
WHOOSH!
Hurricane rip off galvanize,
WHOOSH!
Hurricane blow down de latrine,
WHOOSH!
Hurricane blow down de court-tent(?),
WHOOSH!
Hurricane rip off de kitchen,
WHOOSH!
Hurricane broke down de bathroom,
WHOOSH!
Hurricane take oof de house roof,
WHOOSH!
HURRICANE OVERTURN DE HOUSE!

VERSE 2
Coming from de east you got to prepare before it come,
This hurricane coming to make the whole place mash down,
You people in low line areas you must head to higher ground,
Torrential ah rain ah go make de wole place flood down,

Get your lightboat(?) ready,
Get your can food ready,
Your bead and biscuit ready,
Get your generator ready,
Get your batteries ready,
Get your flashlight ready,

Hurricane ah come!
Man ah runnin like ah mouse,
Hurricane ah come!
Had to run outside me house,
Hurricane ah come!
Fighting hard to stay alive,
Hurricane ah come!
Watch me dodging galvanize,

Batten down de door,
Nail down!
Batten down de window,
Nail down!
When you pound de nail,
Nail down!
REPEAT 2X

Start to pound now!

REPEAT 4X

WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
Hurricane take off de house roof,
WHOOSH!

Last edited by BFFan; 08-16-2004 at 03:00 AM..
Old 08-16-2004, 03:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
ST.KITTS JAM CREW

Originally Posted by BFFan
IN LIGHT OF WHAT HAPPEN IN FLORIDA LAST FRIDAY AND SOME IMIXERS' EXPERIENCE WITH HURRICANE CHARLEY AH LOOK UP HURRICANE AH COME AND PAID REAL CLOSE ATTENTION TO THE LYRICS AND FOUND THAT IT DOES HAVE AN IMPORTANT MESSAGE ABOUT HURRICANE PREPAREDNESS.
AH EVEN DOES REMIND MYSELF ABOUT MY PERSONAL EXPERIENCE WITH HURRICANE HUGO AND EVEN LOOKING AT THOSE VIDEOS OF HURRICANE CHARLEY ON CNN AND THE WEATHER CHANNEL.

THE FIRST TIME I HEARD THE TUNE I THOUGHT I WAS A REALLY WICKED TUNE, WHEN I SAW FLAMES JAM IT ON THE PARKWAY IT WAS REALLY A WICKED JAM TOO! BUT OF WHAT JUST HAPPEN IN FLORIDA AND NOW WE HAVE 2 STORMS OUT THERE AND HURRICANE SEASON STARTING TO GO INTO FULL SWING, I FOUND THE LYRICS OF THE TUNE APPROPRIATE TO POST...EVEN THOUGH IT WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER IF IT WAS LIVE LINK TO THE ACTUAL TUNE.

VERSE 1

Get your hammer ready,
Get your plywood ready,
Get 2 by 4 ready,
Get your coba(?) ready,
Get your nail dem ready,

Hurricane ah come!

Batten down de door,
Nail down!
Batten down de window,
Nail down!
When you pound de nail,
Nail down!
REPEAT 2X

Start to pound now!

REPEAT 4X

WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!

VERSE 2

Get your can food ready,

Hurricane ah come!

Batten down de door,
Nail down!
Batten down de window,
Nail down!
When you pound de nail,
Nail down!
REPEAT 2X

Start to pound now!

REPEAT 4X

WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
bffan dat chune wicked nah rass they made it after hurricane luis hit antigua hard in 1995 so they made de album 1996 i got the album that song take everywhere by storm even the boxer shorts chune when flames came from NY they came straight st.kitts for the boxer short jam i remeber dat when the whole of st.kitts went to buy boxers ever store was sold out on dat saturday jezzz they even jam hurricane ah come and it was a road jam so u know i remember dat i still got they album and i got de new album debblish rage the whole album real real good it got de old flavour in it flames and onyan is my favourite bands out of antigua jed
Old 08-16-2004, 10:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Credits: 1,073
BFFAN, I cyah wait to meet you girl. you is a girl of my own heart.
Old 08-22-2004, 01:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
BIG_KEV

Credits: 219

Oh yes a wicked tune daddy, one of many from de Flames, bwoy da year dey hurricane come every wey flames min dey. Woosh (1996) a wicked album nuff tunes.

~ah you too NUFF AND HEDGE UP~
Old 08-22-2004, 11:37 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 19,757

VERSE 1

Get your hammer ready,
Get your plywood ready,
Get 2 by 4 ready,
Get your coba(?) ready,
Get your nail dem ready,

Hurricane ah come!

Batten down de door,
Nail down!
Batten down de window,
Nail down!
When you pound de nail,
Nail down!
REPEAT 2X

Start to pound now!

REPEAT 4X

WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!

VERSE 2

Get your can food ready,

Hurricane ah come!

Batten down de door,
Nail down!
Batten down de window,
Nail down!
When you pound de nail,
Nail down!
REPEAT 2X

Start to pound now!

REPEAT 4X

WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
WHOOSH!
ah wish ah woulda had dat song to play last week
Old 08-22-2004, 01:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
anunupe

It's a sight to see even today when flames play that song in Lions, on the parkway or in any of their jams. My favourite part is when they say "WHOOSH", and thousands of people simultaneously "fling" their hands in the air. Wicked jam and album.
Old 09-01-2004, 01:04 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 2,470
Well, It Looks Like Most Of We Islands Dodge The Bullet Again With Hurricane Frances But Bahamas And Florida And Coastal Southeastern Usa Not Out Da Woods Yet.
Old 09-01-2004, 01:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
ST.KITTS JAM CREW

Well, It Looks Like Most Of We Islands Dodge The Bullet Again With Hurricane Frances But Bahamas And Florida And Coastal Southeastern Usa Not Out Da Woods Yet.
for real bffan we dodge it for real but we aint out de woods yet
Old 09-01-2004, 01:14 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 19,757
Exclamation

Time to bring back de tune :devil

You Rated this Thread: