Old 04-27-2007, 12:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
el n00ņo

Credits: 14,991
Question How many of you go to see the ol' timers?

Fetes featuring the legends of soca & calypso?

Just wondering. I rarely hear people here mentioning that they went to see such shows. Seems to always be about the new generation, even though the classics never fail to put you in the right groove.
Sparrow, Crazy, Baron, Rose, Stalin, Aloes, Shadow, Scrunter, Becket, Ajamu, Soso, etc.

I was lookin at this flyer when I thought of it:

Old 04-29-2007, 03:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
el n00ņo

Just like I thought...
Old 04-29-2007, 04:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Daddy Cease in deh area

Credits: 2,638
only if they performing for free.....this another generation

I still like their music though, but nah I wouldn't go out my way to see them
Old 04-29-2007, 04:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
el n00ņo

Originally Posted by cease10 View Post
only if they performing for free.....this another generation

I still like their music though, but nah I wouldn't go out my way to see them
That's what I'm wondering. If people still love those classic tunes, why not see 'em live? Is it cuz you know you're not gonna get the crazy, uptempo soca atmosphere?
Old 04-29-2007, 05:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Daddy Cease in deh area

Credits: 2,638
Originally Posted by n00ner View Post
That's what I'm wondering. If people still love those classic tunes, why not see 'em live? Is it cuz you know you're not gonna get the crazy, uptempo soca atmosphere?
I think it's an atmosphere ting, in terms of i wouldn't really go there to lime, it'll be an older mature crowd there.

now if I have a significant other or a good date, might be a nice event to take her too

but not a limin thing at all
Old 04-29-2007, 05:06 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 160,143
Me not as much maybe because growing up I was ALWAYS at their shows... so I figure I've seen it all

Old 04-29-2007, 10:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Sanity Challenged

Credits: 3,637
Only seen one on the list but only cuz he was performin in a show with more current artist...Most people who see those fetes are middle-aged. I remember when there was a show(Calypso Classic I think) featuring Baron, Stalin, Aloes etc. only time I've seen my mother counting down the days and getting there early.