Old 05-06-2007, 11:35 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,433
how does V.I. youth steelband sound

how they compare to trini youth bands. cease i done know you check it already.

Old 05-07-2007, 12:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
ah like chupidness

Credits: 13,825
they sound really good from what i understand...vi got the next best steelbands next to trinidad and tobago
Old 05-07-2007, 01:05 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 153,643
Originally Posted by limintrinibwoy View Post
they sound really good from what i understand...vi got the next best steelbands next to trinidad and tobago
ever hear de lucian ting? choops
Old 05-07-2007, 01:10 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 701
I think they sound good...not sure if they ready to challenge the top school bands in TnT, but sounds as though they'd at least hold their own. How entrenched or established is the youth/school steelband competition in the VI? I ask because I think this is what would make the difference and send youth steelband to the next level in terms of technique and performance in the VI.

In TnT it is a huge annual deal...very, very competitive and very cutthroat (not in terms of ruthless, but in terms of one slip up and you watching ah hole batch ah schools pass yuh by) that's how competitive it is. Some of the top steelbands and their arrangers partner with certain schools... so it even becomes a de facto competition fought vicariously by these 'adult' steelbands thru the students.

Big up the youth carrying on the cultural torch no less though
Old 05-07-2007, 10:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mr. BALTIMORE

Credits: 8,082
Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
I think they sound good...not sure if they ready to challenge the top school bands in TnT, but sounds as though they'd at least hold their own. How entrenched or established is the youth/school steelband competition in the VI? I ask because I think this is what would make the difference and send youth steelband to the next level in terms of technique and performance in the VI.

In TnT it is a huge annual deal...very, very competitive and very cutthroat (not in terms of ruthless, but in terms of one slip up and you watching ah hole batch ah schools pass yuh by) that's how competitive it is. Some of the top steelbands and their arrangers partner with certain schools... so it even becomes a de facto competition fought vicariously by these 'adult' steelbands thru the students.

Big up the youth carrying on the cultural torch no less though
That's one thing that impresses me about the panorama competition in
Trinidad. It seems that most bands hit their last note 9:57 - 9:59 into
their performance. I am amazed at how so many players can do their
part while performing as one.
Old 05-07-2007, 03:02 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 701
Originally Posted by Redlocks View Post
That's one thing that impresses me about the panorama competition in
Trinidad. It seems that most bands hit their last note 9:57 - 9:59 into
their performance. I am amazed at how so many players can do their
part while performing as one.
Almost as impressive to me are the judges...I don't even know how they manage to develop that finely tuned an ear to be able to detect the 'flaws' in some of these performances. On that level (Panorama finals) everything sounds so darn good to me ear.
Old 05-07-2007, 07:41 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 2,476
Originally Posted by limintrinibwoy View Post
I appreciate your compliment of our VI steelbands, but bwoy u ah lookin fu wan cutasss fram dem Grenadians and Antiguans.
Old 05-07-2007, 07:43 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by biggadon View Post
how they compare to trini youth bands. cease i done know you check it already.

Damn I wish I could find Ebonites on youtube...very nice sound steelband on the road. I think some of the teachers of Rising Stars play with some of the big bands in Trinidad. And they have used some of the Trini arrangers too.

Last edited by BFFan; 05-07-2007 at 07:45 PM..
Old 05-08-2007, 12:58 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BFFan View Post
Damn I wish I could find Ebonites on youtube...very nice sound steelband on the road. I think some of the teachers of Rising Stars play with some of the big bands in Trinidad. And they have used some of the Trini arrangers too.

well ebonites, used to sweet ah rass. i remember those days.

as for rising stars they have all local vi arrangers.
Old 05-08-2007, 07:00 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by biggadon View Post
well ebonites, used to sweet ah rass. i remember those days.

as for rising stars they have all local vi arrangers.
They had sound real nice this festival, slower than the old days but sweet. But its good Rising Stars using local arrangers.
Old 05-08-2007, 07:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
ah like chupidness

Credits: 13,825
Originally Posted by lucian maddness View Post
ever hear de lucian ting? choops

gwan somewey eh lol

Originally Posted by BFFan View Post
I appreciate your compliment of our VI steelbands, but bwoy u ah lookin fu wan cutasss fram dem Grenadians and Antiguans.
well from what i've heard? i could only talk for wat ah kno..i cud be wrong
Old 05-08-2007, 08:59 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 2,701
they sound ok but they need to work on their runs... dey don't sound clean atal, too jumbled. and dem pans need to be tuned. dey definitely have potential though.

Last edited by Dougla Ting; 05-08-2007 at 09:08 PM..
Old 05-11-2007, 11:53 PM   #13 (permalink)
Daddy Cease in deh area

Credits: 2,635
here's another video of them performing with VI reggae artist Pressure

Mama Pressure ft. Rising Stars

Add to My Profile | More Videos
Old 05-12-2007, 07:07 PM   #14 (permalink)

yo cease that is absolute hottness! gwan pressure.
Old 05-12-2007, 07:10 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 4,546
I think this is nice .