Old 02-08-2006, 05:33 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 9,996
How come Pan isn't an integral instrument in Soca Bands?

None ah dem seem to have pan sections? Am I wrong? What's wrong with having a two tenors, and double second alongside the brass section? Is there a good reason for this? Big up the old band Pan Vibes, that was nice to hear soca and pan and singing in a fete ( even though I was too small to member dem..still got tapes to listen to )
Old 02-08-2006, 05:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
el n00ņo

Credits: 14,984
Don't know, but I love hearing pan in a soca tune.
Old 02-08-2006, 05:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Credits: 2,430
Originally Posted by n00ner
Don't know, but I love hearing pan in a soca tune.
Ditto
Old 02-08-2006, 05:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Debble

Credits: 2,758
Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva
None ah dem seem to have pan sections? Am I wrong? What's wrong with having a two tenors, and double second alongside the brass section? Is there a good reason for this? Big up the old band Pan Vibes, that was nice to hear soca and pan and singing in a fete ( even though I was too small to member dem..still got tapes to listen to )
Expense, transport of extra delicate instruments although I have thought of it as being a great idea for a special show.
Old 02-08-2006, 06:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
DJ HOLLYWOOD

Credits: 611
Thats why you have to respect bands like Burning Flames(now RHF) for putting pan style sounds in there music year after year.
Old 02-08-2006, 06:20 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 6,725
Because pan is not considered brass and before synthesizers etc brass was the main component of a band.
Old 02-08-2006, 07:43 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 2,476
Originally Posted by Nutpower
Thats why you have to respect bands like Burning Flames(now RHF) for putting pan style sounds in there music year after year.
From "Go Go" in 1985 straight through to "Dung Tung "2005
Old 02-08-2006, 08:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 7,308

Good question...what is the answer ?
Old 02-08-2006, 08:38 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 29,987
Maybe because they're two separate entities?
Old 02-09-2006, 09:35 AM   #10 (permalink)

But it's so integral to culture (T&T especially )......transporting a pan...I can see that being cumbersome...but a tenor is so much easier to transport than drums
Old 02-09-2006, 10:53 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 29,987
But it's so integral to culture (T&T especially )......transporting a pan...I can see that being cumbersome...but a tenor is so much easier to transport than drums
Well RotiKing you goan start ah Soca pan band nah. Tell we how it work out fuh yuh.
Old 02-09-2006, 11:23 AM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Toppa_Toppa
Well RotiKing you goan start ah Soca pan band nah. Tell we how it work out fuh yuh.
Yea, I calling dem de "Drum Pan Sound"...next year we go buss.
Old 02-09-2006, 11:32 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 140,865
Well, I guess it is going to take a VINCY, again, to take another compotent, STEELPAN, of the ART FORM to the GLOBAL MARKET.

MATTAFIX LIVE

If you only hearing the AUDIO, it means that you will have to DOWNLOAD and install DIVX in order to see the VISUAL.

By the way, it is the SECOND song...but the first song WICKED same way.

Yeah mann, see the VINCY playing de STEELPAN for the WORLD to see.

Enjoy.

PS: It takes a WHILE to DOWNLOAD the LIVE segment so be PATIENT.