Old 08-09-2005, 11:28 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 6,441
How allyuh rate Denise plummer?

Never really see she name mentioned in here so looking for some views on she.
Old 08-09-2005, 11:32 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 14,221
cosquel wit she costumes

but i tink "nah leavin" was mih favorite from she, she is a true true trini and did a lot for women in calypso
Old 08-09-2005, 11:42 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 6,441
Originally Posted by sharkbait
cosquel wit she costumes

but i tink "nah leavin" was mih favorite from she, she is a true true trini and did a lot for women in calypso
I now picturing some of them costumes
My love for she just increased
Old 08-10-2005, 12:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Keep the Flames "Red Hot"

Credits: 173
I love that woman. She is an inspiration to me when it comes to soca. Whenever I feel lazy to go to a jam I just think about that woman's stamina in a party at her age.
Old 08-10-2005, 01:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Culture First

Credits: 251
Denise hmmm, very versatile capable of singing anything.. Definitely a class to be reckon with.
Old 08-10-2005, 01:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
como el lindo clave

Credits: 5,002
she is stellar
Old 08-10-2005, 09:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Credits: 60,832
Originally Posted by saveoursoca
Never really see she name mentioned in here so looking for some views on she.
I love she to death and can't wait for the new song. Nah leavin is my fav song from her also. That should be a National Caribbean Anthem if all of we really become one currency and passport.
Old 08-10-2005, 10:17 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 1,706
Denyse Plummer is one of my favorite calypsonians and i rate her very high. She endured being booed and pelted at performances early in her career, but still continued to do her music w/ out bending until she eventually became loved by most.

Denyse is a calypsonian w/ very high morals and not 1 smutty or double entendre calypso/ca can be found in her entire discography; and she's been singing since mid 70's. i think she was part of a band actually b4 going solo, but not too sure. Her music career has gone full circle in singing calypso songs regarding spiritual, political, love, independence, partying and of course tunes for pan. a true national of her country and sticks to the basics of brass, pan and iron. not to mention i also mimick her trademark dance moves in a fete.

aside from just songs, she carries the spirit of carnival in her heart each time she performs. it's very rare to catch Denyse performing w/ out a mas costume and masqueraders behind her on stage. also has her trademark line "What Is Thissss?!" phrase.

Calypso Favorites:
21st Century Man, Dance Children, Nah Leavin', National Purge, The Message, What I Am

Pan Favorites:
Identity, Feeling Nice, Fire & Steel, Woman Is Boss, For The Love

Soca Favorites:
Ah Ready To Jam, Bashment Kushi, Excitement, Tempo, What Goes Around, Hot Blooded Woman, My Time, Carnival Killer

these r just some personal fave's, but she has so much more.

salty

p.s.
her name is actually spelled "Denyse" and not "Denise" as most ppl mix up.

sos - u gotta hear that song again that we watched her perform in toronto. was from 1990 called "The Message". i put that in my top 3 of her all time songs.