Old 03-13-2003, 11:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
One Eye Monster Inc..

Credits: 1,778
Horns Trumpets...

Yuh know de B.R.A.S.S ....

All I want to know is de Artist and de song wit de best brass yuh hear?
Old 03-14-2003, 12:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
We Not I

Credits: 712
Re: Horns Trumpets...

Originally posted by Desperado
Yuh know de B.R.A.S.S ....

All I want to know is de Artist and de song wit de best brass yuh hear?
best brass is RoyCape .............:grabit
Old 03-14-2003, 12:15 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 306
TRAFFIK
Old 03-14-2003, 12:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
look meh!

Credits: 1,118
Hands down...Roy Cape!
Old 03-14-2003, 09:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
For the Love of Music!!!

Credits: 187
Roy Cape is far out in front. Remember 1995 when they had that song "Talk". When was the last time a band had such a big hit with an instrumental, pure brass.

Coming up in second place is Traffik. They have some experienced horn men who have been with the band for a looong time.

Big up all the horner men!!!
Old 03-14-2003, 10:29 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 1,712
aye Geedawg,
not sure, but i think Talk was by Taxi.

but Roy Cape and Traffik brass running things.

For a good few years though Blue Ventures horns was boss hands down.

If you want to take it back, Charlies Roots horns was best of it's time.

salt
Old 03-14-2003, 10:58 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 217
Roy Cape, Pleeeeese!

Everyone know TRAFFIK have the best horn section.
With man like Cap, Robbie and Trombone yuh cah touch dem fellas at all.
Old 03-14-2003, 11:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
For the Love of Music!!!

Originally posted by lordsalt
aye Geedawg,
not sure, but i think Talk was by Taxi.

but Roy Cape and Traffik brass running things.

For a good few years though Blue Ventures horns was boss hands down.

If you want to take it back, Charlies Roots horns was best of it's time.

salt
Right, Right Salt. How could I forget about Charlie's Roots. Now, that was a real horn section.

But on the "Talk" thing, I still have to say it's Roy Cape. I can't put my head on a block but I might put a couple of fingers on a block.

I think we should call in an unbiased arbitrator.....just now....

AYE SOCABOY!!!!!!!!!! Help a couple of brothers out nah.
Old 03-14-2003, 11:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
For the Love of Music!!!

Originally posted by kc1230
Roy Cape, Pleeeeese!

Everyone know TRAFFIK have the best horn section.
With man like Cap, Robbie and Trombone yuh cah touch dem fellas at all.
Based on the fact that I haven't been to Trini since 2001 and Roy Cape All Stars hasn't been in NY in quite some time (that I can recall), I would have to agree and say that TRAFFIK have the best horn section (IMHO) presently.

But as far as horn section arrangement and putting harmonies together, yuh still can't beat Roy Cape.
Old 03-14-2003, 11:35 AM   #10 (permalink)

Re: Re: Horns Trumpets...

Originally posted by UpTown
best brass is RoyCape .............:grabit
uptown ...yuh have a good ear... that is the best brass...
Old 03-14-2003, 01:32 PM   #11 (permalink)
look meh!

Credits: 1,118
Originally posted by GeeDawg
Right, Right Salt. How could I forget about Charlie's Roots. Now, that was a real horn section.

But on the "Talk" thing, I still have to say it's Roy Cape. I can't put my head on a block but I might put a couple of fingers on a block.

I think we should call in an unbiased arbitrator.....just now....

AYE SOCABOY!!!!!!!!!! Help a couple of brothers out nah.

Well actually, both of allyuh was wrong, "Talk" was by Troubadours! Since we callin ole time brass bands, have to large up the pioneers one time...Fitz Vaughn Bryan, John "Buddy" Williams, Joey Lewis, Joe "Tex" Williams, Dutchy Brothers, and others all the way up to Ed Watson, Gemini Brass, etc...
Old 03-14-2003, 02:28 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 9,296
Nah what allyuh talking bout...everybody knows that Square One has the best Brass

Seriously, I will have to see Roy Cape...they were jamming at Soca Monarch!!
Old 03-14-2003, 02:39 PM   #13 (permalink)
Sugar Aloes

Originally posted by Socaboy
Well actually, both of allyuh was wrong, "Talk" was by Troubadours! Since we callin ole time brass bands, have to large up the pioneers one time...Fitz Vaughn Bryan, John "Buddy" Williams, Joey Lewis, Joe "Tex" Williams, Dutchy Brothers, and others all the way up to Ed Watson, Gemini Brass, etc...
bossman yuh have it deh, but now ah days is Roy Cape and Traffix and fuh Socaboy ah go throw in TAXI remember them...:p
Old 03-14-2003, 04:20 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 1,712
Troubadours??
damn i losin me memory. datz 2 big goofs i make on soca tings now. we won't bring up dat brother marvin issue.

but pal joey, ed watson brass section was great too. they also did a lot of cover tunes as well. probably more cover tunes than original recordings but their horn section was nice. hell if datz de case we can go as far back to the old old time brass sections of Atilla the Hun, Roaring Lion and them guys. those 1920-30's calypso had brass like nothin else

salt
Old 03-14-2003, 04:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
For the Love of Music!!!

Originally posted by Socaboy
Yeah Socaboy, you are right. I make an out with that one. The troubadours did talk. I lost my pinky on that one.

But I remember the reason I thought that it was Roy Cape. I have a specific memory of Roy Cape on the road late Carnival Tuesday 1996 (I didn't go TNT in 1995 so I was wrong there too). Anyway, the band sounded tight, tight, tight palying "Talk". I surprised that the horn men still had that stamina at 7PM on Tuesday.

Yeah but the real brass is those horn sections from the bands Socaboy mentioned up there.