Old 10-21-2009, 08:34 AM   #31 (permalink)

Credits: 3,782
Originally Posted by small island rep View Post
I agree..some djs need to push di music...me personally im ah dj in nyc....even though roots are from "small islands", i always play soca from both leeward and windward islands....reason why is dah i have different ppl comin inna di dance from other islands and countries i.e central america which also listen to soca. But at di same time some of my fellow djs only play "deh" soca cause of their "fan base". Yes too much seperations inna di islands buh at di same time u have those that love all styles....listen soca music is easy to blend mix or waheva....its up to all parties from di artist management djs party goers and listeners and club owners to open up...its well than enuff soca chunes to buss rather than play 1 or 2 islands soca....to me if u doin ah soca jam or event, wit lots of ppl from all islands u need at least 3-4 djs from those respective areas, leeward and windward islands...so we need to buss all parties involved in deh heads especially djs for not promoting our beloved culture how it suppose to be done di right way...soca is soca no matter what!
Amen to that brotha
Old 10-21-2009, 10:51 AM   #32 (permalink)
Tough2B soft;hard2Btender

Credits: 200,410
hmmm

Instead of wondering why me ask what's next.

Everybody has a talent, but if you do not expose yourself you will not birth the talents within you. ---- Spike Lee.
Old 10-21-2009, 05:17 PM   #33 (permalink)

Credits: 7,576
But dah is di trend..soca music buss only durin carnival time..otherwise its reggae/dancehall and hip hop (believe it or not)! Its not year round....reggae/dancehall artists continually push music daily..soca does not! If these damn soca artists start thinkin like dah, pushin chune after chune round di clock den it would be no problem....buh soca artists dem to fetchin lazy....people need to open deh mouths...west indians has big mouths yet when it comes to tings like dis no fetchin action....all we do is puh up youtube videos and ting jus to say," we need to do this or dah" or " soca music is this or dah or not like dis "...meen wahn heh dah mehson...i wahn see action check....so we need to puh ah big whole in deh earhole and sound off on this matter...politics within soca music is bad fo yo health....
Old 10-21-2009, 07:35 PM   #34 (permalink)

Credits: 185,234
THE SOLUTION to SOCA NOT PERCEIVED to being SEASONAL is to GET RID of CARNIVAL COMPETITIONS....NO MORE ROAD MARCH COMPETITION...NO MORE SOCA MONARCH COMPETITION and NO MORE RAGGA SOCA COMPETITION.

Once this is DONE, the SPECTER of SOCA being SEASONAL will VANISH into THIN AIR.

YUHHHHHHHHHHH SEEEEEEEEEEEEEE MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
Old 10-22-2009, 11:25 AM   #35 (permalink)

Credits: 12,940
THE SOLUTION to SOCA NOT PERCEIVED to being SEASONAL is to GET RID of CARNIVAL COMPETITIONS....NO MORE ROAD MARCH COMPETITION...NO MORE SOCA MONARCH COMPETITION and NO MORE RAGGA SOCA COMPETITION.

Once this is DONE, the SPECTER of SOCA being SEASONAL will VANISH into THIN AIR.

YUHHHHHHHHHHH SEEEEEEEEEEEEEE MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

I have been saying that we should move past competiton for a while, you can look back and see it in some of my old post. BUT that will not solve the problem, Bim only had a Sweet Soca comp in 2009 for the 1st time and for over a decade we have been making seasonal Ragga Soca.

The solution is in 2 parts.
1) We need to create a music industry, not a soca industry a MUSIC industry and it obviously needs to be regional.

2) We need to start releasing soca outside of festival time! They were very few big songs released for Crop Over that were festival themed so there is no reason they could not be released at any point of the year.

Also it is time we stop babying the music.
Old 10-22-2009, 11:50 AM   #36 (permalink)

Credits: 5,416
Originally Posted by warrior View Post
I have been saying that we should move past competiton for a while, you can look back and see it in some of my old post. BUT that will not solve the problem, Bim only had a Sweet Soca comp in 2009 for the 1st time and for over a decade we have been making seasonal Ragga Soca.

1) We need to create a music industry, not a soca industry a MUSIC industry and it obviously needs to be regional.

2) We need to start releasing soca outside of festival time! They were very few big songs released for Crop Over that were festival themed so there is no reason they could not be released at any point of the year.

I will say amen to that and add one other thing - time to move beyond what I call BOOTY CALL music.

CaribRIA.com - Caribbean Brightest Stars
oceanbreezemusicfestival.com - Home
Old 10-22-2009, 12:48 PM   #37 (permalink)

Credits: 3,652
Originally Posted by Pure Vincy View Post
Listen i was at the front of the stage ......... i saw when beenie man dj and machal dj started to fight.......and they were fighting because machel dj unplug the music.......so you relax......

beenie dj came onstage and told him what happened and he announced to the crowd that machal aint want him to do his work.......and then beenie left the stage and then machal came on.....so dont act like u know anything....i stood right next to the fight......

so mr pinehill i aint believing any hype...i witness it
HAHHAHAHAHAHA! Waiiiitt!, machel had a dj and band too in d same nite?
hahahahahahhahaha. anyone who follows winer boy knows that machel aint got no dj. wuh sense dat mek he got a dj and a band too. or u left when d band was playing?
stups. anyhow bro. doesnt make a difference. all im sayin , leave dem stupid wars amongst d artist to figure out. dem tings does cus stupid rumours and negativity when artist like beenie do dem tings. soca already cripple and u just want to ad fuel to d fire.
Old 10-22-2009, 01:08 PM   #38 (permalink)

Originally Posted by caribarts View Post
I will say amen to that and add one other thing - time to move beyond what I call BOOTY CALL music.

CaribRIA.com - Caribbean Brightest Stars
oceanbreezemusicfestival.com - Home
SERIOUSLY, WHAT MAKES U THINK that you're ANY DIFFERENT from the PEOPLE who create these SOCA EVENTS?

LQQK where U R HAVING this OCEAN BREEZE FESTIVAL. You're HAVING it in ANTIGUA?

Why?

Is it BECAUSE you're of ANTIGUAN BACKGROUND or is AFFILIATED with ARTISTS from ANTIGUA?

SAME SHIT, DIFFERENT EVENT!!

YUHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH SEEEEEEEEEEEE MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEeee
Old 10-22-2009, 01:32 PM   #39 (permalink)

SERIOUSLY, WHAT MAKES U THINK that you're ANY DIFFERENT from the PEOPLE who create these SOCA EVENTS?

LQQK where U R HAVING this OCEAN BREEZE FESTIVAL. You're HAVING it in ANTIGUA?

Why?

Is it BECAUSE you're of ANTIGUAN BACKGROUND or is AFFILIATED with ARTISTS from ANTIGUA?

SAME SHIT, DIFFERENT EVENT!!

YUHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH SEEEEEEEEEEEE MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEeee
Where do you get it is a soca event?

Where did you see that this was a regular music festival? Why should it not be in the Caribbean? You want it in your country, make the proposal.

VP you need to move beyond your narrow mind? If you went to the website you would see the full name. Ocean Breeze Music Festival & Conference
Old 10-22-2009, 01:51 PM   #40 (permalink)

Where do you get it is a soca event?

Where did you see that this was a regular music festival? Why should it not be in the Caribbean? You want it in your country, make the proposal.

VP you need to move beyond your narrow mind? If you went to the website you would see the full name. Ocean Breeze Music Festival & Conference
Did EVERY CARIBBEAN NATION GIVEN the OPPORTUNITY to BID to HOST this FESTIVAL or was it AUTOMATICALLY GIVEN to ANTIGUA because of your AFFILIATION with SAID NATION?
Old 10-22-2009, 01:53 PM   #41 (permalink)

Credits: 23,316
Originally Posted by PineHill View Post
HAHHAHAHAHAHA! Waiiiitt!, machel had a dj and band too in d same nite?
hahahahahahhahaha. anyone who follows winer boy knows that machel aint got no dj. wuh sense dat mek he got a dj and a band too. or u left when d band was playing?
stups. anyhow bro. doesnt make a difference. all im sayin , leave dem stupid wars amongst d artist to figure out. dem tings does cus stupid rumours and negativity when artist like beenie do dem tings. soca already cripple and u just want to ad fuel to d fire.
what did beenie man do?
Old 10-22-2009, 02:15 PM   #42 (permalink)

Did EVERY CARIBBEAN NATION GIVEN the OPPORTUNITY to BID to HOST this FESTIVAL or was it AUTOMATICALLY GIVEN to ANTIGUA because of your AFFILIATION with SAID NATION?
Like the USA, Antigua is my backyard and it is easier to work out the kinks in places that you are familiar with. It is not practical to hold such and event in the USA, that defeats the purpose of putting out a brand that will work for the region.

The first two years, I expect people to think like you, but realistically by the time I send a bid to the countries to do it in their backyard, it would never get off the ground. Because it is in Antigua, doesn't mean that I don't have to find people to fund the parts that need funding. So what do you want to do VP?
Old 10-22-2009, 03:01 PM   #43 (permalink)

Like the USA, Antigua is my backyard and it is easier to work out the kinks in places that you are familiar with. It is not practical to hold such and event in the USA, that defeats the purpose of putting out a brand that will work for the region.

The first two years, I expect people to think like you, but realistically by the time I send a bid to the countries to do it in their backyard, it would never get off the ground. Because it is in Antigua, doesn't mean that I don't have to find people to fund the parts that need funding. So what do you want to do VP?
Ah GO WATCH from de SIDELINES for NOW.
Old 10-22-2009, 03:45 PM   #44 (permalink)

Credits: 3,782
Originally Posted by warrior View Post

I love this idea cause i been saying it ,but can people put away there differences to get it done .
Old 10-22-2009, 03:48 PM   #45 (permalink)

Credits: 3,652
Originally Posted by direct_effect View Post
what did beenie man do?
beenie was performing. his music got pulled and a fight broke out by d dj booth. then he said on d mic machel montano trying to sabatoge his show.

i wud like someone tell me who is machel's dj or which of machel's guy pull out d plug. cus no one seems to know.