Credits: 6,186
Here is why soca artist & soca music will get no where
1. Poor support from fans
2. Music is always evolving no matter what genre, but for some reason each time a soca artist sings something different haters quick to say $$hit like "it's dancehall, it's r&b, they copying jamaicans" etc. Nuff dancehall artist sing soca busy signal for example. 3. Dancehall has far more support than soca in soca nations, but yet people bashing soca artist for singing dancehall. 4. Modern dancehall have far more soca influence than people think. Have a listen to older dancehall, they were alot slower and less about whining. So why people hating than soca moving toward the dancehall influnce as dancehall did towards soca. 5. Soca riddims are big Trinidad and other Caribbean islands but yet foreigners like most people on this site give soca riddims poor support. Everytime I go to a soca club in the states I here the same old music from 10 years ago. Btw. I expect the picture frame riddim to cause damage in Trinidad.
Credits: 4,246
[QUOTE=readingtrini;3327624]1. Poor support from fans( This is probably the only thing here that makes any sense)
2. Music is always evolving no matter what genre, but for some reason each time a soca artist sings something different haters quick to say $$hit like "it's dancehall, it's r&b, they copying jamaicans" etc. Nuff dancehall artist sing soca busy signal for example. The problem here is that we lack a definition of soca and defining where it crosses the line and becomes another genre escapes us. Because a soca artist is singing a song does not make it soca, what defines groovy soca, what defines mid tempo soca, what defines up tempo - maybe if we understood the divergence in the music, we would understand how much of a genre you can combine with soca and have it still remain soca 4. Modern dancehall have far more soca influence than people think. Have a listen to older dancehall, they were alot slower and less about whining. So why people hating than soca moving toward the dancehall influnce as dancehall did towards soca. It's called loss of identity and, soca and calypso is the most prevalent music in the english speaking Caribbean and it needs to be preserved and protected, whether or not you can appreciate that sentiment. If you don't protect what is yours, no one else will, just ask the people from the country dancehall originated in. 5. Soca riddims are big Trinidad and other Caribbean islands but yet foreigners like most people on this site give soca riddims poor support.( support for soca rhythms where an entire album sounds the same with different lyrics is absurd - such an album lacks creativity, it is one of the major hindrance to the development of the music, you cannot take such an album to anyone outside of the Caribbean community, rhythm albums begin and die in the Caribbean- they offer nothing promotional or bring development to the music. Producers who continue to produce them are sinking the genre. |
SOCA OR DIE
Credits: 16,261
even the most hardcore soca supporters mostly only support "hits" whereas in other genres, even if a song doesn't get big...people at least know it or can name it off the album that they purchased and thus the support is greater
need to see more soca junkie women that can name and support some non-hits and/or album only cuts that might have never received one spin during Carnival...that's sort of how I measure how supportive fans of soca really are versus some woman from TT that lives in the US or UK, goes home for the Carnival and dances to the music but when Carnival is done "puts THAT music away" and goes back to listening to American music or whatever is hot at the time I'm not hating on other music, because I love all types, but if women are only dancing to certain songs during Carnival in the islands or when it comes back around for one weekend in the states, then soca music continues to be seasonal- plus, the men follow the women and if the women only want to hear certain songs- thats all the majority male selectors going to play |
Credits: 11,860
The problem with the statements that wunna just gave.
Define Soca?!?! Ok, define Rap, RnB, Rock, Pop... Most modern music has no real definition look at the international hits, most have Rock, Pop, RnB, Rap, Electronic/Dance influences. RnB singing on Rap beats, Rapping on Electronic Beats, RnB singing on Electronic beats, Country sing on Pop Beats... In a world where music is in a "post-genre" era how you going define soca now? Another reason soca is not big is because some of us have too high expectations. How big is/was Linkin Park in your island? How big is Cold Play? They were/are HUGE but if our culture is not about that musical vibe it will not be big/mainstream in our country. The same is true for soca, does the soca vibe match the culture of non-caribbean people as a whole how big do you really expect soca to be? The solution to our problem is simple. 1) More regional unity in the soca movement in every aspect 2) Soca artist need to expand what they sing, the Caribbean Queen Alison Hinds is moving into Reggae and Dancehall, Lyttle singing RnB (personnally I think it suits him better anyway). |
The reason why these artists sing reggae and dancehall, these genres are already accepted in mainstream, if you put a song out that sounds the same, ten to one, it will have potentional, try Uplaya and see, upload a reggae and a soca and see what kind of awards the songs get. If DJ's, producers, artists are unwilling or not capable of recoginizing what is needed to get their music to a wider audience, why should the wider listening audience give a damn. Ignoring of soca in the world arena is going to continue until the people who produce it, come to an understanding of what it is and where they want it to go |
Credits: 1,287
This is why soca music will not go anywhere.......
saturday night at socafest, while beenie man is doing his thing, one of machal mantano guys came and unplugged the music, taking out beenie man record........ while the man had the crowd going.........Beenie man was so royally pissed he called out the organisers and machel mantano for trying to sabotage his work......the whole crowd was boooing machel and company, the organiser had to tell the crowd to cool out....... it was the first time i ever seen people heading to the doors while machel mantano was doing his thing........ people was even booing during his performance....i mean trinies and other was still danicing cause they paid 60...... but he was not getting the crowd response like before........when soca artist act like they bigger than the music thats why soca aint go no fcuking where......... |
Credits: 20,793
![]() oh gosh dat dey was 2 much kicks reading dat!!! but onna lighter note!!! THIS IS THE ANTHEM to ARTISTS... DJ's .... PRODUCERS.... FANS Artist - you can make it if u really want.. DJ - You can spin dem tracks if you really want.. Producers - You can make or break the industry if you really want.. Fans - You can support and buy it if you really want ... but WE ALL MUST TRY n TRY n TRRRRRRRRRRRRYYYYYYYYYY ![]() ps: i cant wait for the groovy mix segment soon on IIMIX ... ya ready!! ![]()
Credits: 11,860
I don't dissagree with you, what I am saying is that soca as is now will not appeal to the non-soca world. Caribbean music can and should evolve to hit international markets. But that is not the same as soca going mainstream. Artist really need to create music for different markets and the Caribbean can be a major market if seen as a whole. Make music of the C'bean, music for North America, Latin America, Europe... My point tis the big stars don't only do one genre of music, in fact the "genre line" seem to no longer exist and I like it! |
Coming from the man who believes he is the savior of the genre, that was beyond rude. |
Credits: 140,784
He NEVER SAVED IT and will NEVER SAVE it. I DOH NUH why ARYO TEND to BELIEVE his BS. WINER BOY is simply LINING his POCKETS under the PRETENSE of, if he is not the TOP DAWG, SOCA GAAN TRU, and some aryo CHUPIDEE people ACTUALLY BOUGHT into the HYPE. SERIOUSLY, what the PHUCK has he EVER DONE TO TAKE THE MUSIC BEYOND the WEST INDIAN ENCLAVES in FOREIGN? ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!!! SO ARYO STAY DEY BOUT WINER BOY is the SAVIOR OF SOCA. YUHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH SEEEEEEEEEEEEE MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEeee Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 10-12-2009 at 10:42 PM.. |
VP go back and read what I said, I am not a believer that he ever will. Not possible. |
Credits: 1,287
Trust this........ I am never going back to a Machel Mantano show......fcuk Winner bwoy and his Low HD crap......
When A man feel he bigger than the music, this is the crap that is happen.....what beenie man has achieved, machel will only read about...... can't believe i could be this pisst after a good concert.... |
Credits: 2,188
I think some of the soca producers or to blame in a way. I dont think they try hard to push some of the songs, when I was younger and would go and buy records I would be able to get all the latest reggae and when it came to soca it was like I had to travel across the word for an song and by the time you find it its like two seasons done pass. Even now it still happens you hear songs and cant get them you ask the dj for it and dont want to give it to know one and I had some tell me that b4 they dont want any and any one with music they playing. So how can soca music realy move if you cant even get it in stores to buy
Credits: 20,793
we have discussed this issue many times within this thread and its breakdowns... ![]()