Old 03-06-2005, 02:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
joon-yah

Smile Hello Soca People . . .

I've always been an undercover soca fan, but never took the steps to get to really know the genre. I've been somewhat intimidated to step into this forum, because I've seen how the Soca Chat can get. I find myself into the Bajan soca most of the time, especially Krosfyah and Square One (are they Bajans?). I often enjoy soca from Antigua because I feel alot of kompa and zouk vibes within it. Anyhow what are some artists and songs that you'd request that I should get into?

Last edited by joon-yah; 03-06-2005 at 02:05 PM..
Old 03-06-2005, 02:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
joon-yah

oh yeah . . . Faluma by Square One (? i think its by them).
what language are they speaking?
Old 03-06-2005, 02:28 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 2,905
Originally Posted by joon-yah
oh yeah . . . Faluma by Square One (? i think its by them).
what language are they speaking?
The song is from Suriname originally I believe...not sure what they speak there aside from Dutch.

To answer your questions above, yes Square 1 & Krosfyah are from Barbados. Have you checked the a/v room? There are a lot of nice soca songs...not really sure where to start.

You have any cd's?
Old 03-06-2005, 05:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
the lost one

Credits: 1,972
Originally Posted by joon-yah
I've always been an undercover soca fan, but never took the steps to get to really know the genre. I've been somewhat intimidated to step into this forum, because I've seen how the Soca Chat can get. I find myself into the Bajan soca most of the time, especially Krosfyah and Square One (are they Bajans?). I often enjoy soca from Antigua because I feel alot of kompa and zouk vibes within it. Anyhow what are some artists and songs that you'd request that I should get into?
Undercover hey better den nothing, welcome to de wonderful world of soca. I think if your a beginner to start at the introduction to soca by listening to big artists like, Machel, Destra, Iwer, Bunji, Maximus, artists like dat. If yuh have any soca based queries send me ah message and i will be proud to help yuh. Laterz