islandmix.com register | Connect with Facebook islandmix rss feed | Contact Us | Static Radio Live
Like Tree6Likes

Old 02-21-2012, 10:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
War Is Upon Us

Credits: 743,592
Question Groovy Soca To Cross The Stage?

Hearing numerous accounts of people not being satisfied with this years power soca to cross the stage to. More specifically...PYF.

So would people have been happier with Bacchanlist or other top groovy tunes from this year? How would you feel crossing the savannah stage to a groovy tune?

For me it depends, the last time i cross the stage and a power tune was a no brainer was "Band Of The Year"
Old 02-22-2012, 03:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Unique woman

Credits: 126,440
I would not mind crossing the stage to groovy if it was melodious and made me feel like dancing. It just should have very good vocals, lyrics, and the music is kick-ass.

When You Get.. Give.... When you learn... teach (Maya Angelou)

Be the change you wish to see in the world.
Let us work with others to change our communities.

Old 02-27-2012, 08:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
War Is Upon Us

Originally Posted by TriniTrini View Post
I would not mind crossing the stage to groovy if it was melodious and made me feel like dancing. It just should have very good vocals, lyrics, and the music is kick-ass.
First time that i can remember where Ive seen this many people complain about the power songs being played. ALOT of people are feeling betrayed lol.

Soca Mafia to di werlllllllllll
Socapro likes this.

__________Aviators...Looking down on everyone else since 1903__________

Old 02-27-2012, 08:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Credits: 22,127
Originally Posted by OverLord Strum View Post
First time that i can remember where Ive seen this many people complain about the power songs being played. ALOT of people are feeling betrayed lol.

Soca Mafia to di werlllllllllll
Good observation but please also note most of the folks complaining about power soca songs are more complaining about the choice of song rather than the pace. Also note most complaining on here did not go to T&T Carnival.
theunknownone likes this.

Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer"
Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London
On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM)
www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd
email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk

Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!!
Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology!
Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!!

Old 02-27-2012, 08:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
War Is Upon Us

Originally Posted by Socapro View Post
Good observation but please also note most of the folks complaining about power soca songs are more complaining about the choice of song rather than the pace.
This is exactly what i meant. Not the pace at all...i think everyone prefers something to jump up to, to cross the stage.

Also note most complaining on here did not go to T&T Carnival.
I wasnt talking about Imix...i was talking about most of my friends, & family who participated in carnival that are complaining. I can't speak on the matter because i was the odd man out who had to stay in the US and work.

Old 02-27-2012, 08:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Credits: 22,127
Originally Posted by OverLord Strum View Post
This is exactly what i meant. Not the pace at all...i think everyone prefers something to jump up to, to cross the stage.

I wasnt talking about Imix...i was talking about most of my friends, & family who participated in carnival that are complaining. I can't speak on the matter because i was the odd man out who had to stay in the US and work.
Ok cool!

Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer"
Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London
On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM)
www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd
email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk

Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!!
Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology!
Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!!

Old 02-27-2012, 08:35 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 41,244
I took the time out while I was on the plane going trini and I listen to a few of them songs I truly think they have some good songs that was over looked and some artist did not really push destra had a great song but I feel not many people knew the song and I did not really hear it play on the radio while I was down there.

Greenz till I die ( Pantonic panorama 2011 for me )

Old 02-27-2012, 08:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
War Is Upon Us

Ok cool!
And your thoughts?

Old 02-27-2012, 08:40 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 41,244
Good observation but please also note most of the folks complaining about power soca songs are more complaining about the choice of song rather than the pace. Also note most complaining on here did not go to T&T Carnival.
We tend to get a lot of people that did not attend complain about the music some people will not get the full feel of some of big events where they at.

When I was sent the 3 zero riddim I had it on my Ipod I played the benjai (peoples champion )for a dj and I said he going and mash up the place with this song and played it for a few people the y said the same thing few week later we went to a party the song play and one of them look at me and say I was right the song sound diff in a club scene

Greenz till I die ( Pantonic panorama 2011 for me )

Old 02-27-2012, 08:46 AM   #10 (permalink)
War Is Upon Us

Originally Posted by theunknownone View Post
I took the time out while I was on the plane going trini and I listen to a few of them songs I truly think they have some good songs that was over looked and some artist did not really push destra had a great song but I feel not many people knew the song and I did not really hear it play on the radio while I was down there.
Which one is that?

Originally Posted by theunknownone View Post
We tend to get a lot of people that did not attend complain about the music some people will not get the full feel of some of big events where they at.
I agree with having to be at carnival to get the full feel of some songs. Case in point "Advantage" from last year. I thought it was mediocre...but when i heard it at events in carnival..it became a good song.

This year has the makings of the same progression for PYF, BUT not nearly as many people who went carnival this year complained this much about Advantage.

Old 02-27-2012, 09:56 AM   #11 (permalink)
DCDB

Credits: 123,021
years from now, people will remember wotless over advantage,,, and they will remember bachanalist over pyf shite.....
Old 02-27-2012, 09:57 AM   #12 (permalink)
War Is Upon Us

Originally Posted by Edghill Thomas View Post
years from now, people will remember wotless over advantage,,, and they will remember bachanalist over pyf shite.....
Lord Strum likes this post.

Old 02-27-2012, 10:30 AM   #13 (permalink)
forever hungry!

Credits: 62,564
very true
Old 02-27-2012, 11:47 AM   #14 (permalink)
Strength and Powers

Credits: 203,483
badman doh like posts eh but...

+1

we run tings... tings nuh run we

Old 02-27-2012, 02:48 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 67,774
How was the response to Wotless and Advantage this year?