Old 08-21-2007, 12:36 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 684
Greenz Posse .....

I have to admit, I wasn't as impressed with this year's releases as I was with last year's BUT....

Berbice's Traffic song has been stuck in my head ALL DAY. That song is FYAH.
Old 08-21-2007, 12:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
KING MACCO

Credits: 4,734
Originally Posted by small_island_descent View Post
I have to admit, I wasn't as impressed with this year's releases as I was with last year's BUT....

to me, the jump/mad tunes were there. i have a quick mix i'll put up later. but we need some more groovy/ragga soca. Berbice have a sweet one "Water". but besides that, i haven't heard anything too catchy. but the jump up is definitly on point. Note also, the tunes that were not about rags and flags were the top 3 for roadmarch. any Grenadian artist reading this sight, please pay close attetion, THE RAGS AND FLAGS TING DON'T WORK FOR EVERYONE!!!!!!! STICK TO OUR NORMAL FORMAT!!
Old 08-21-2007, 01:10 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by spicexperience View Post
to me, the jump/mad tunes were there. i have a quick mix i'll put up later. but we need some more groovy/ragga soca. Berbice have a sweet one "Water". but besides that, i haven't heard anything too catchy. but the jump up is definitly on point. Note also, the tunes that were not about rags and flags were the top 3 for roadmarch. any Grenadian artist reading this sight, please pay close attetion, THE RAGS AND FLAGS TING DON'T WORK FOR EVERYONE!!!!!!! STICK TO OUR NORMAL FORMAT!!
TRUE SAY !!!
Old 08-21-2007, 01:21 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 4,462
Interesting you say this about rags and flags... but if we look at vintage Spice chunes you will see it was a totally different kind of arrangement when it came to soca... from Ajamu, Inspector, Wizard, Squeezy to name a few, the music had a afro-french type of musical arrangement, similar to Dominica, Belize, St. Vincent even...so when I hear some of these riddims coming out of Grenada, I just not feeling half of dem chunes atal! Some of these artists need to go back into the musical vault of Spice chunes and seek out what's there's and leh go other people ways of sound... Go back to yuh Horns, Drums, and sounds...
Old 08-21-2007, 04:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Brown Milk

Yuh dun know... That tune big and I also feelin' Spontaneous tune...
Old 08-21-2007, 04:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
KING MACCO

Originally Posted by Afro Samurai View Post
Yuh dun know... That tune big and I also feelin' Spontaneous tune...

DAT TUNE IS

Last edited by DJ Mr. X; 08-21-2007 at 04:44 PM..
Old 08-21-2007, 08:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
mk2

Credits: 205
In and between, there are some decent tunes. Berbice's "Traffic" tune is catchy and the possibility exists that it can blow up but I personally think it lacks good production. It wasn't mastered properly or probably wasn't completed. Berbice has a good song called Caribbean Girl that's pretty sweet too. Also, Sheldon Douglas has a few that are good tunes but never got their full share of publicity. With that said I think that the standard has dropped compared to last year's soca music from Greenz-there's a lot of work to be done to improve our soca music.
Old 08-21-2007, 08:50 PM   #8 (permalink)

DAT TUNE IS
I don't think I've heard any Spontaneous tracks for the year. what's it called ?
Old 08-21-2007, 10:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
passin thru

Credits: 127
boogie b drop some wicked tunes this year
Old 08-21-2007, 11:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
KING MACCO

Originally Posted by mk2 View Post
In and between, there are some decent tunes. Berbice's "Traffic" tune is catchy and the possibility exists that it can blow up but I personally think it lacks good production. It wasn't mastered properly or probably wasn't completed. Berbice has a good song called Caribbean Girl that's pretty sweet too. Also, Sheldon Douglas has a few that are good tunes but never got their full share of publicity. With that said I think that the standard has dropped compared to last year's soca music from Greenz-there's a lot of work to be done to improve our soca music.

not a party tune but definitely shows his artistic skills. this year is his. now it's to take it to another level.
I don't think I've heard any Spontaneous tracks for the year. what's it called ?
"You too rude" it's on the mix i posted in here
Old 08-22-2007, 03:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
Half Man - Half Beast

Credits: 27,270
Grenada didn't come big this year to me ah thal but I like these:

Berbice: caribbean girl
Berbice: water
*Baby killa: Rider*
Dilly Dally: when you move

Everything else that I heard from spice was boo. but I still listening maybe it have some more goodies out there.

The best inheritance parents can give their children is
a few minutes of their time each day.

Last edited by notorious saga; 08-22-2007 at 03:25 PM..
Old 08-22-2007, 10:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
vicious vixen

Credits: 132
i doh sure too much bout the tunes last yr but i was here for spice mas and made the best of all the songs lol....guess is a different vibe when u actually in a place during carnival and hear the music to when u hear it and u were'nt here
Old 08-23-2007, 09:12 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 139
Exclamation

I found the Music this year was excellent in terms of quantity, I believe we put out the same amount of quality as last year. If you were not actually here for and before carnival then your opininion of the music will be different cause you were not seeing the tunes performed and seeing crowd rection and so.

For Example in Vincy Party Animal is a big tune when it was sent to me and I thought Kassav would not be pleased at all. It was only after seeing the way Vincentians reacted to this tune on a dvd of a fete there and highlights of their Carnival I had to change my opinion. Cause its different when you herar a tune on your stereo than when you can see how a crowd reacts when it's played.

But back to Grenada Traffic was not my favorite tune but for some reason the masses like it and that is Road March's deciding factor. I think if Tallpree made a more serious push he could have challenged it. God Knows he needs a victory of any sort.

I think any fair Grenadians should thank all the artiste for their 2007 effort. Although I think the following need special accomendations of some sort Lavaman people still cyan hear, Brother B. had a number of hit songs, Nnika had a wonderful Soca and a beautiful Groovy Tune(if Destra or Faye-Ann sung them I am sure they would be mega hits so please get behind this talented diva from the spice), Inspector always a crowd pleaser, Ajamu can never get stale, Sheldon also had some good material, Luni Sparks and Electrify have solidified themselves as household names and Mr. Killa who has a lot of tunes and will have a solid album that VP or someone should pick up.

There are other noteworthy individuals and individual songs like 4 Brass, Mr. X, Elo, Papa Jerry, Kinky Kim, Don Carlos(Johnny Quest), Pupa Leendi, Scholar, Boogie B. and big up a new artiste named Bad vibes.

The Last thing I would like to say in parting is Please Grenadians support your own music and your own artiste esoecially you all overseas cause these guys sacrifice tremendously. Please call the radio and request grenadian tunes and make sure all fetes you attend you are properly represented by a good cast of Grenadians on the bill. Artiste need more Int'l exposure and in order to get it the music has to reach out there and it is up to us to push it. Lets not wait for other people to push it for us lets big up Grenada muisc for ourselves first. We need to love our own music to show others that they should love them too.

BTW: anyone wishing for promotional copies of the music and mixes please PM ME.
Old 08-23-2007, 09:15 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 139
Exclamation

I found the Music this year was excellent in terms of quantity, I believe we put out the same amount of quality as last year. If you were not actually here for and before carnival then your opininion of the music will be different cause you were not seeing the tunes performed and seeing crowd rection and so.

For Example in Vincy Party Animal is a big tune when it was sent to me and I thought Kassav would not be pleased at all. It was only after seeing the way Vincentians reacted to this tune on a dvd of a fete there and highlights of their Carnival I had to change my opinion. Cause its different when you herar a tune on your stereo than when you can see how a crowd reacts when it's played.

But back to Grenada Traffic was not my favorite tune but for some reason the masses like it and that is Road March's deciding factor. I think if Tallpree made a more serious push he could have challenged it. God Knows he needs a victory of any sort.

I think any fair Grenadians should thank all the artiste for their 2007 effort. Although I think the following need special accomendations of some sort Lavaman people still cyan hear, Brother B. had a number of hit songs, Nnika had a wonderful Soca and a beautiful Groovy Tune(if Destra or Faye-Ann sung them I am sure they would be mega hits so please get behind this talented diva from the spice), Inspector always a crowd pleaser, Ajamu can never get stale, Sheldon also had some good material, Luni Sparks and Electrify have solidified themselves as household names and Mr. Killa who has a lot of tunes and will have a solid album that VP or someone should pick up.

There are other noteworthy individuals and individual songs like 4 Brass, Mr. X, Elo, Papa Jerry, Kinky Kim, Original Sans, Don Carlos(Johnny Quest), Pupa Leendi, Scholar, Boogie B. and big up a new artiste named Bad vibes.

The Last thing I would like to say in parting is Please Grenadians support your own music and your own artiste esoecially you all overseas cause these guys sacrifice tremendously. Please call the radio and request grenadian tunes and make sure all fetes you attend you are properly represented by a good cast of Grenadians on the bill. Artiste need more Int'l exposure and in order to get it the music has to reach out there and it is up to us to push it. Lets not wait for other people to push it for us lets big up Grenada muisc for ourselves first. We need to love our own music to show others that they should love them too.

Old 08-23-2007, 11:17 PM   #15 (permalink)
KING MACCO

Originally Posted by Damione_D View Post

There are other noteworthy individuals and individual songs like 4 Brass, Mr. X, Elo, Papa Jerry, Kinky Kim, Original Sans, Don Carlos(Johnny Quest), Pupa Leendi, Scholar, Boogie B. and big up a new artiste named Bad vibes.

just for the record,,,,,i go by this name too,,,,,so don't get it twisted.
good post by the way