View Poll Results: Which artist is greater?
Beenie Man 22 70.97%
Iwer George 9 29.03%
Voters: 31. You may not vote on this poll

Old 04-04-2005, 12:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
GWEH

Credits: 2,818
Greatest Artist (still round 1): Beenie vs Iwer

I figured I would do a number of polls pitting the best artists in the Caribbean against each other and seeing who come up on top. So I picked 16 artists who I think, based on their International appeal as well as the respect they have earned throughout the Caribbean, have cemented themselves as the top 16 performers in the West Indies (I am not too versed on the Soca performers but I think I got it mostly right).

The contestants:

1. Machel Montano
2. Bunji Garlin
3. Beenie Man
4. Maximus Dan
5. Destra
6. Edwin
7. Sizzla
8. Elephant Man
9. Kevin Lyttle
10. Rupee
11. Allison
12. Sean Paul
13. Lady Saw
14. Iwer George
15. Shurwayne Winchester
16. Vybz Kartel

So last week we had Machel taking down Kartel and Bunji beating out Shurwayne in a TIGHT contest.

Next up: Beenie Man vs. Iwer George. Two veteran performers and definately two of the best in the business. This one will be a monster of a battle! On yuh marks .. get set .. vote!!!
Old 04-04-2005, 01:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Totee lickin shotz

Credits: 4,904
tha is a tuff battle for iwer, i aint see no way iwer could win this 1, but ya never know...
Old 04-04-2005, 01:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
To know me is to love me

Credits: 1,364
hmm that is a bad match up. you can't compare the two. bad match up in my opinion. Two different types of music. Two different levels of commercial and international appeal. I have to say beenie man is the man with the master plan. Iwer is good 2 but hmmm can't compare the two. Yuh can't pair peaches with grapes.
Old 04-04-2005, 01:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
GWEH

Originally Posted by tropicalbeauty
hmm that is a bad match up. you can't compare the two. bad match up in my opinion. Two different types of music. Two different levels of commercial and international appeal. I have to say beenie man is the man with the master plan. Iwer is good 2 but hmmm can't compare the two. Yuh can't pair peaches with grapes.
What do you mean by different levels? Meaning one is at a higher level than the other? That would answer the question then would it not?

Because you sing different genres does not mean you cannot be compared.
Old 04-04-2005, 01:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
GWEH

Originally Posted by Bajan_bedroom_bully
tha is a tuff battle for iwer, i aint see no way iwer could win this 1, but ya never know...
Strangely enough I thought this would be tough based on the bias towards soca on here. Guess I was wrong.
Old 04-04-2005, 01:23 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 9,868
I think we should just get it over with and have the beenie vs machel clash....we all know those are the two greatest in the caribbean.
Old 04-04-2005, 01:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Totee lickin shotz

Originally Posted by fiyah
Strangely enough I thought this would be tough based on the bias towards soca on here. Guess I was wrong.
yea thats why i say ya never know...the trini bias might come out.... but if ya honestly based it on what you said, you have to pick beenie man, tough tough match up for iwer
Old 04-04-2005, 01:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
TRINIPOWA

Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva
I think we should just get it over with and have the beenie vs machel clash....we all know those are the two greatest in the caribbean.

For real!!!
Old 04-04-2005, 03:38 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 29,649
Beenie would take this rounds.
Old 04-04-2005, 03:40 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Bajan_bedroom_bully
yea thats why i say ya never know...the trini bias might come out.... but if ya honestly based it on what you said, you have to pick beenie man, tough tough match up for iwer
Wha Trini bias?
Old 04-04-2005, 03:42 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 140,596
Beenieman by a good MARGIN.
Old 04-04-2005, 03:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 23,917
Originally Posted by Toppa_Toppa
Wha Trini bias?
Just ignore it...commonly spouted...repeatedly refuted.
Old 04-04-2005, 05:18 PM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by currygyal
Just ignore it...commonly spouted...repeatedly refuted.
Mm-hm.
Old 04-04-2005, 05:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
I'm that B!tch!

Credits: 670
Beenie win dis boy...an plus ah doh like Iwer much nah.
Old 04-04-2005, 06:59 PM   #15 (permalink)
Totee lickin shotz

Come on lewwe get more ppl fuh iwer

do de iwer
butterfly
shadow
wave!!