View Poll Results: Which artist do you consider to be better?
Bunji Garlin 41 55.41%
Shurwayne Winchester 33 44.59%
Voters: 74. You may not vote on this poll

Old 04-01-2005, 05:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
GWEH

Credits: 2,847
Greatest Artist: Bunji vs. Shurwayne

I figured I would do a number of polls pitting the best artists in the Caribbean against each other and seeing who come up on top. So I picked 16 artists who I think, based on their International appeal as well as the respect they have earned throughout the Caribbean, have cemented themselves as the top 16 performers in the West Indies (I am not too versed on the Soca performers but I think I got it mostly right).

The contestants:

1. Machel Montano
2. Bunji Garland
3. Beenie Man
4. Maximus Dan
5. Destra
6. Edwin
7. Sizzla
8. Elephant Man
9. Kevin Lyttle
10. Rupee
11. Allison
12. Sean Paul
13. Lady Saw
14. Iwer George
15. Shurwayne Winchester
16. Vybz Kartel

So machel beat Kartel easily. Which is just as I figured. Machel is a veteran and has a large following. Not to say that Kartel doesn't have a large fan base as well and is very well recieved here as well as in Jamaica. Someone said Kartel is not respected ... well maybe by Trinis but he is HUGE in Jamaica.

Next up:

Bunji Garland vs. Shurwayne Winchester
Old 04-01-2005, 05:08 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 5,902
bunji, bunji, bunji

FYI Fiyah, its Garlin (not Garland)
Old 04-01-2005, 09:00 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 2,971
I would have to say Bunji, he has been on the scene longer and has much more tunes.
Old 04-01-2005, 10:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Dippity Doo-Dah

Credits: 2,438
From an overall musical standpoint I have to say Shurwayne
Old 04-01-2005, 10:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
can u handle me?

Location: where is the greatest CARNIVAL?..well then yuh find meh!
Credits: 1,714
Originally Posted by puresexiness
I would have to say Bunji, he has been on the scene longer and has much more tunes.

???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? ?
Old 04-01-2005, 11:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
CERTIFIED SEXOLOGIST

Credits: 37

WHATTTTTTTTTTTTTT???????????????????????
Old 04-01-2005, 11:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
GWEH

Bunji out to an early lead. But its still tight.
Old 04-01-2005, 11:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
CERTIFIED SEXOLOGIST

BY FAR SHURWAYNE IS WAY BETTER THAN BUNJI. NOT TO SAY BUNJI ISNT CREATIVE, BUT U DONT KNOW IF HE SINGING FOR A REGGAE CROWD OR A SOCA CROWD. I STILL CONFUSED ABOUT WHAT KIND OF ARTISTE HE IS. LOOK HOW LONG SHURWAYNE BEEN AROUND AND CONSISTENT WID HE WORK. ALTHOUGH HE DOESN'T GET D RECOGNITION HE DESERVES, HE'S STILL A GREAT PERSON. HE HAS SO MANY MORE MASH UP TUNES AND MELLOW TUNES DAN BUNJI.
S H U R W A Y N E ALL D WAY.
Old 04-01-2005, 11:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
GWEH

Originally Posted by sexyspice
BY FAR SHURWAYNE IS WAY BETTER THAN BUNJI. NOT TO SAY BUNJI ISNT CREATIVE, BUT U DONT KNOW IF HE SINGING FOR A REGGAE CROWD OR A SOCA CROWD. I STILL CONFUSED ABOUT WHAT KIND OF ARTISTE HE IS. LOOK HOW LONG SHURWAYNE BEEN AROUND AND CONSISTENT WID HE WORK. ALTHOUGH HE DOESN'T GET D RECOGNITION HE DESERVES, HE'S STILL A GREAT PERSON. HE HAS SO MANY MORE MASH UP TUNES AND MELLOW TUNES DAN BUNJI.
S H U R W A Y N E ALL D WAY.
Well I want people to vote for who they want to ... but at the same time I also want them to be objective about how successful each artist is (bear in mind a major part of an artists success is how his music is taken around the world). So its not just about how long an artist has been around or what genre they sing.
Old 04-01-2005, 11:29 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 24,388
lyrical bunji

only thing shurwayne have going for him is that his top selling tunes closer to soca..

one question though.. the song don't waste the water what is it trully about?
Old 04-01-2005, 11:33 AM   #11 (permalink)
CERTIFIED SEXOLOGIST

Originally Posted by Oneshot
lyrical bunji

only thing shurwayne have going for him is that his top selling tunes closer to soca..

one question though.. the song don't waste the water what is it trully about?
TO TELL U D TRUTH, ALTHOUGH I LOVE SHURWAYNE I DOH LIKE DAT TUNE WID BUNJI. TO ME BUNJI DISPLAYS BAD MAN TUNES AND SHURWAYNE DISPLAYS MASH UP AND LOVING TUNES.
Old 04-01-2005, 11:34 AM   #12 (permalink)
not ur friend...

Credits: 1,865
i'd have to saw shurwayne....nicer music u could dance too

puresexiness i think shurwayne been around before bunji....
Old 04-01-2005, 11:35 AM   #13 (permalink)
CERTIFIED SEXOLOGIST

Originally Posted by da_ice
i'd have to saw shurwayne....nicer music u could dance too

puresexiness i think shurwayne been around before bunji....
HE HAS.
Old 04-01-2005, 12:02 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 6,569

Bunji has not been out longer than SHerwin
And Lyrics Bunji
but overall
SHerwin
He is the Soca man self right now
Old 04-01-2005, 12:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
GWEH

Wow ... this one is close.