Old 07-18-2007, 06:28 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 2,874
Good stuff on Hott 95.3...

Rupee, & DJ's Peter Coppin & Alvin Toppin been discussing all kinda shite regarding soca (how there is a time n place for 'clown' artistes, dub playin in cropover fete, importance of getting music done properly etc).

Nice discussion though I'm sure some people would take offense. I glad people have been reiterating the topics throughout the season because while there isn't anything wrong with dancehall...it's festival time. It's also important for other DJ's to hear the discussion as many of them in Bim are very guilty of doing the same stuff that they are talking about (playin reggae in fete, pushing shite music, etc).
Old 07-18-2007, 06:47 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 557
other dj's?.....more like one in de same damn discussion.
Old 07-18-2007, 06:54 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 35,009
Angry

Originally Posted by Rummy View Post
Rupee, & DJ's Peter Coppin & Alvin Toppin been discussing all kinda shite regarding soca (how there is a time n place for 'clown' artistes, dub playin in cropover fete, importance of getting music done properly etc).

Nice discussion though I'm sure some people would take offense. I glad people have been reiterating the topics throughout the season because while there isn't anything wrong with dancehall...it's festival time. It's also important for other DJ's to hear the discussion as many of them in Bim are very guilty of doing the same stuff that they are talking about (playin reggae in fete, pushing shite music, etc).
i was listenin to the discussion. u left out the part bout people listen to our radio and how we are suppose to put out good music fuh dem to hear. so contone, pong, those topless dancers, outpatients, big red, jafar, sicky, nard, basil, kiki, keisha christian, tc, mac fingall, kid site, etc. have to DISAPPEAR. i have been reiteratin that outsiders are listenin to see wat we have but no wanna dont want to hear i. i is just a small man so i need to tek my message to the media to get some ears opened. that is why i dont want CANNOT WAIT by lil rick to win nuffin. TUNES FROM BARRY AND BRUCE STAND A BETTER CHANCE TO BE HEARD ON THE RADIO OUTSIDE OF BARBADOS. I am shame at bajan soca artistes. tell dem carry dem clownin somewhere else and judge fuh HOUSE PARTY MONARCH wid that crap not down EAST COAST.

rupee needs to get his red arse and do dancehall or reggaeton instead of talkin bout redoin old tracks. how many times i have to tell he so? cha, soca is not meant fuh u to remain in go and do reggaeton like alison hinds she is good. i dont him to be in dat same boat as KL.

dat same dj does play bare crap on my radio so he need to shut up and get off the radio.
Old 07-18-2007, 07:08 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by kewwie View Post
other dj's?.....more like one in de same damn discussion.
Old 07-18-2007, 07:13 PM   #5 (permalink)

u laughing but i serious as tail. as ah sudden he's some sorta soca ambassador. he like dub suh bad he got de dub artists on soca beats and calling um soca on he album. stupse.

Peter Coppin is one ah de biggest bandwagonist we got bout hay.
Old 07-18-2007, 07:31 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by kewwie View Post
u laughing but i serious as tail. as ah sudden he's some sorta soca ambassador. he like dub suh bad he got de dub artists on soca beats and calling um soca on he album. stupse.

Peter Coppin is one ah de biggest bandwagonist we got bout hay.
I respect him as a producer, but yes...he push dancehall most of the year as a dj.
Old 07-18-2007, 07:36 PM   #7 (permalink)

uh huh...accent and all...
Old 07-18-2007, 08:00 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 3,300
I said this before. Soca does not get respect in Bim. Bim is strictly dancehall and reggae. If i were a talent scout for a record label and if i visited Bim in Sempterber and use the radio and dj's as where to look for talent, i would get on the next plane to Jamaica.

The sad part, while many of these so-called soca artist and producers make a living off soca, some have never earned a penny from dancehall or reggae but they push reggae and dancehall twelve months of the year, doing little for the music that sustains them and their families. One has to wonder where soca would be if local radio stations and dj's push it as much as they push dancehall and reggae.

Then, to add insult to injury, latinos take soca and call it reggaeton, and the morans at stations and the foolish dj's jump on the bandwagon, all because of the word reggae in reggaeton.

How can our artists achieve internationally when the local support is not there. As for rupee and coppin, i will leave my comments for another time.
Old 07-18-2007, 08:04 PM   #9 (permalink)

yuh ain't going to hear Bajan soca playing at reggaefest or any reggae show. Support 100% Bajan - really.
Old 07-18-2007, 08:15 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 35,009
Angry

Originally Posted by winn dixie View Post
yuh ain't going to hear Bajan soca playing at reggaefest or any reggae show. Support 100% Bajan - really.
why do u stop rantin? reggaeton is not any form of soca. reggaeton is a mixed with jamaican dancehall and latin music.

however, i agree wid u on the part bout september when i does feel i in jamaica. it does get me real vex. if only i was a dj BAJAN music (not only soca, i mean reggae by bajans, pop by bajans, r&b by bajans, rap by bajans, salsa by bajans, hip hop by bajans) would get push first. that is bajan music by bajan artistes.

dis year i real vex too all de fetes got TRINI artistes in dem. LAST YEAR BAJANS ONLY HAD THREE ARTISTES and dem got more than THREE TRINIS in fetes this year. ILLEGAL INVASION OF CROP OVER.
Old 07-18-2007, 08:36 PM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BAJANFUHLIFE View Post
why do u stop rantin? reggaeton is not any form of soca. reggaeton is a mixed with jamaican dancehall and latin music.
however, i agree wid u on the part bout september when i does feel i in jamaica. it does get me real vex. if only i was a dj BAJAN music (not only soca, i mean reggae by bajans, pop by bajans, r&b by bajans, rap by bajans, salsa by bajans, hip hop by bajans) would get push first. that is bajan music by bajan artistes.

dis year i real vex too all de fetes got TRINI artistes in dem. LAST YEAR BAJANS ONLY HAD THREE ARTISTES and dem got more than THREE TRINIS in fetes this year. ILLEGAL INVASION OF CROP OVER.
I had this discussion on here before. So i don't want to address it again. But for some comments that statement go to jouvay.com and read the kmc interview or go on power 96 and read the interview with daddy yankee. After reading those interviews, you just might have a different opinion.
Old 07-18-2007, 11:42 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 5,883
[QUOTE=BAJANFUHLIFE;2581010]why do u stop rantin? reggaeton is not any form of soca. reggaeton is a mixed with jamaican dancehall and latin music.

dis year i real vex too all de fetes got TRINI artistes in dem. LAST YEAR BAJANS ONLY HAD THREE ARTISTES and dem got more than THREE TRINIS in fetes this year. ILLEGAL INVASION OF CROP OVER.[/QUOTE]
Old 07-19-2007, 08:20 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 684
Its Crop Over and soca gotta play.
There is nothing wrong with more trini artists in the festival than they had bajans in Carnival. Its for more bajans to push their music in TnT and get on the cards for fetes. If ya really think bout it, a lotta trini artists dont get much work during Carnival, its ususally the same ones over and over again.

The discussions on HOTT yesterday evening were very interesting.
Rupee seems to forget that he himself would have started small, but of course people gonna reason his comments were misinterpreted.
All this talk about a filtering process so that only the decent tunes get airplay, realise to the average listener, they dont care about the quality of production, its if they think the music sounds good. There is tons of good music, dat cant get 5 spins a day cause de djs dont like it, who gien help dem??

Alvin reaosns about DJs who go out to play at a fete outside of the season and cant drop a soca tune.
I been talkin bout this now looooooonnnnng, and i keep makin the point, if as a producer of soca music, and you cant play soca tunes so de artists coudl get some royalties, you really expect somebody to tek you seriously when you come now fuh 2 months trying to plead wid people dat it is a business, and tellin bout how much money ya invested and does need to recover ??

Big respect tho to Alvin. Peter and Rupee fuh dat discussion throughout yesterdays show. Well done, even if i dont agree wid all dat was said, it was a great session
Old 07-19-2007, 08:27 AM   #14 (permalink)
Culture First

Credits: 251
Originally Posted by BAJANFUHLIFE View Post
i was listenin to the discussion. u left out the part bout people listen to our radio and how we are suppose to put out good music fuh dem to hear. so contone, pong, those topless dancers, outpatients, big red, jafar, sicky, nard, basil, kiki, keisha christian, tc, mac fingall, kid site, etc. have to DISAPPEAR. i have been reiteratin that outsiders are listenin to see wat we have but no wanna dont want to hear i. i is just a small man so i need to tek my message to the media to get some ears opened. that is why i dont want CANNOT WAIT by lil rick to win nuffin. TUNES FROM BARRY AND BRUCE STAND A BETTER CHANCE TO BE HEARD ON THE RADIO OUTSIDE OF BARBADOS. I am shame at bajan soca artistes. tell dem carry dem clownin somewhere else and judge fuh HOUSE PARTY MONARCH wid that crap not down EAST COAST.

rupee needs to get his red arse and do dancehall or reggaeton instead of talkin bout redoin old tracks. how many times i have to tell he so? cha, soca is not meant fuh u to remain in go and do reggaeton like alison hinds she is good. i dont him to be in dat same boat as KL.

dat same dj does play bare crap on my radio so he need to shut up and get off the radio.

What is wrong with Keisha Cristian? What is wrong with Kid Site? Alot of you just come on here and run ur mouth for no reason. What is wrong with TC.. she is consistent every year. The quality of her music is great. This seems more personal than anything else. I hope that Alvin and Peter set examples also.
Old 07-19-2007, 08:40 AM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 5,883
hypocrites and cowards i callthem ,from Trinidad go right back to de other islands