Credits: 1,039
'The Golden Voice' Mighty Terror dies at 86
legend passes: The Mighty TerrorThe Copyright Music Organisation of Trinidad and Tobago (COTT) was thrown into mourning yesterday afternoon, as news of the death of calypso composer, the Mighty Terror, swirled through the local music community. Terror, popularly known as "The Golden Voice" in tribute to his strident but mellifluous baritone, was among COTT's founding members, having joined the agency on January 1, 1985. He received COTT's Golden Achievement Award in 2004 at their sixth Music Awards ceremony at Queen's Hall, St Ann's. "I'm not sure that such a description exists, but Terror certainly was no ordinary calypsonian," said COTT chief executive officer, Allison Demas . "We shall all miss him very much." Born Fitzgerald Cornelius Henry on January 13, 1921, at Arouca, Terror campaigned in England for a significant portion of his early career, joining forces with (the late) Grandmaster Kitchener and eventually teaming with the Bert Mc Lean Trio for a series of tours, before returning home in 1965, after 22 years abroad. A year after he returned to Trinidad (1965), Terror won the calypso crown doing "Play Mas" and "Steelband Jamboree." Terror is survived by his wife Gloria and four daughters, all of whom live in the USA. RIP MIGHTY TERROR |
Credits: 5,078
A huge blow to the calypso and soca world. It's tragic how these cultural icons are passinf from the earth without receiving proper recognition or appreciation. I just hope he does not end up another forgotten figure in the consciousness of Trinbago which so often has been the case.
Rest in Peace with the ancestors Terror
Credits: 1,717
sad indeed. RIP Terror and thx 4 all u'r wonderful contributions 2 the calypso world. many of the greats continue to pass, but something needs 2 be established so they won't be 4gotten. salty |
Credits: 4,508
Many blessings to the Mighty Terror and may he R.I.P...
People we should look into his chunes, especially those who have passed or who are elders to the fraternity of music ... especially soca dj's and artists... remember where "all a we" came from... Here's a few to check out: (thanks to S.N. for the links) "Callaloo Tonic" "Life in London" "No Carnival in Britain" |
look meh!
Credits: 1,124
Another legend gone...Rest in Peace
Credits: 699
Fie on all dat sorrowful pining, Terror lived a full life, even though he probably still had a li'l bit of sumting to share with we still. Eternal rest to one of the true pioneers of the then nascent calypso genre...along with Kitch and others like Blakie and Roaring Lion, these artists travelled abroad and helped put Trinidad on the map...and indeed the whole of the caribbean by spreading the joyful gospel that is Calypso music. They have paved the way for others such as a Machel and a Shurwayne and a Rupee...and Flames et al to follow. Godspeed on your new assignment good king, and may flights of angels sing thee to thy rest... |
Credits: 699