Old 07-11-2005, 10:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Credits: 1,074
Frolic...

okay, its been long awaited... and with all the controversy and hype surrounding it, I thought it deserved its own thread.

new album by Burning Flames... dedicated to Onika.... finally released in Antigua this weekend.

It took a minute and alot of thought, but I think it is safe to say now that I am hooked. I ent gonna say too much, cuz I wanna hear your analyses.

Title track: Frolic. A tribute to Onika, and admittedly one of my favorite tunes

Radio: first tune on the album to grab me off the bat. Lif an drap dah renkin tune deh.. RADAW

Dung Tung... sweet sweet pan tune. classic.

Dun Dem... de lyrics say it all... "de harder dey come... de more megah dun dem".. Oungku cannot done

Badminded... first listen, thought it sounded just like the old stuff... ie "Live CD" but second, third, and fourth listen... definitely guh mash up de road an Lions...

Zest.. Ester soundin pretty darn good wid this nice jump up tune.

anyway, those are my faves. lemme know what yall think. Benjie, whey you? I know you had to hear it arready.
Old 07-11-2005, 10:50 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 2,877
Cool...will have to grab one up this summer.
Old 07-11-2005, 10:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Paradise!

Credits: 8,012
Sound like yuh ready to mash up Antigua...no hanging on de truck jouvert then
Originally Posted by yanktiguan
okay, its been long awaited... and with all the controversy and hype surrounding it, I thought it deserved its own thread.

new album by Burning Flames... dedicated to Onika.... finally released in Antigua this weekend.

It took a minute and alot of thought, but I think it is safe to say now that I am hooked. I ent gonna say too much, cuz I wanna hear your analyses.

Title track: Frolic. A tribute to Onika, and admittedly one of my favorite tunes

Radio: first tune on the album to grab me off the bat. Lif an drap dah renkin tune deh.. RADAW

Dun Dem... de lyrics say it all... "de harder dey come... de more megah dun dem".. Oungku cannot done

Badminded... first listen, thought it sounded just like the old stuff... ie "Live CD" but second, third, and fourth listen... definitely guh mash up de road an Lions...

anyway, those are my faves. lemme know what yall think. Benjie, whey you? I know you had to hear it arready.
Old 07-11-2005, 10:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Originally Posted by BAD LEROY BROWN
Sound like yuh ready to mash up Antigua...no hanging on de truck jouvert then
who?? wid lyrics like fyah yuh foot, fling yuh foot now, fyah yuh foot... not me.
Old 07-11-2005, 11:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Paradise!

who?? wid lyrics like fyah yuh foot, fling yuh foot now, fyah yuh foot... not me.
just mind yuh nah kick me
Old 07-11-2005, 11:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Debble

Credits: 2,755

Damn, you move quick a rasssss. Busy weekend. But you should done know that nuttin go tap de Masta.
Old 07-11-2005, 11:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Debble

I was kinda suprised that Kyia only had one song (Sweet Spot). But I guess he is still developing her.
Old 07-11-2005, 11:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
Paradise!

Originally Posted by benjie
I was kinda suprised that Kyia only had one song (Sweet Spot). But I guess he is still developing her.
So is she the permanent choice for the band?
Old 07-11-2005, 11:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
soca revolutionary

Credits: 2,695
yo...do they have any songs on this albm that rival debblish and rush...which in my opinin are the two best jump up songs flames have done since onyan left...any songs that are as good as those two...with a ruff riddim...???
Old 07-11-2005, 11:47 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Damn, you move quick a rasssss. Busy weekend. But you should done know that nuttin go tap de Masta.
quick like you, i knew youd be on point.

I like Sweet Spot, its real catchy. Its kinda weird though, but I think both ladies soundin REAL close to Onika. I dont know if its due to Oungku's guidance or what... but its reeeal close.
Old 07-11-2005, 12:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Debble

Originally Posted by BAD LEROY BROWN
So is she the permanent choice for the band?
I believe both her and Esther are permanaent. That was what Oungku wanted with Esther and Onika but it never worked out. Might have been bad timing.
Old 07-11-2005, 12:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
Debble

quick like you, i knew youd be on point.

I like Sweet Spot, its real catchy. Its kinda weird though, but I think both ladies soundin REAL close to Onika. I dont know if its due to Oungku's guidance or what... but its reeeal close.
That is due to Oungku. When he writes a song, it is intended to be sung in a particular way.
Old 07-11-2005, 12:21 PM   #13 (permalink)
Paradise!

I believe both her and Esther are permanaent. That was what Oungku wanted with Esther and Onika but it never worked out. Might have been bad timing.
ok nice
Old 07-11-2005, 12:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

That is due to Oungku. When he writes a song, it is intended to be sung in a particular way.

yea, thats what i figured too.

stargate, nothing can rival those. nah, its too early for me to tell... but badminded definitely has de ruff jump up riddim.

Dun dem and Radio are ruff too.
Old 07-13-2005, 11:38 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

i just realized that in Frolic, their is a part where he names all her songs. that just makes all the more special. wonderful song, wonderful tribute. .