Credits: 259
Entertaining addicts - What can we do to help?
The phenomenon of drug addiction in our local entertainment industry is nothing new, but now it is reaching critical mass.
Many of our local artistes feel it is a crisis. One soca singer is creating a buzz about his addiction and downward spiral. He is regularly seen in St James in a state of near vagrancy. He is often inebriated and sometimes falls down or is incoherent. Near a popular bar he is not ashamed to ask those he knows for handouts. Many only have scorn for him, though he is one of our greatest calypsonians. Those who used to wave rags for him now wave him away. One night in particular, this reporter saw the singer take a spill in a St James drug store. He came in to purchase a pair of blue sunglasses; the store did not have any. He became upset, slurred when he spoke and teetered when he walked. Seconds later, he fell to the floor, knocking a display as he went down. One person went to his aid; others weren’t so kind. “Leave he!” a worker at the drug store shouted. “Why you ain’t go somewhere and dead, (name called)!” The singer seemed unfazed by the taunts, picked up his bag and left the store. His daughter has to bear the brunt of talk generated by her father’s downfall. Everything, from her father being a vagrant, to her father washing cars for $10, she has heard. All the rumours hurt her because, after all, she loves her father very much. “He made a mistake and he is on drugs but that is not something to laugh at. I love my father and it hurts,” she said. “The people who say he has a problem are the wrong ones; the ones who just laugh and don’t help him with the problem.” She also said she is currently strategising on how to help her father, but is not sure where he lives as he moves constantly. She is seeking the help of other entertainers who are former addicts themselves, among others. She thinks she can help her father get better, but admits it will be hard. “I love that man; he is my father,” she said. “It is difficult to get a person to admit they have a problem. My sisters and I are trying to help him.” “Let people say what they want. They don’t know what is really going on,” she stated. Another of our very long standing and promising soca stars, with hit songs below his belt, sang a poignant song about cocaine and the addiction to it. This was his way of catharsis, for he had a strangling addiction to the white powder himself. Many cite this dependence as what led to the decline in his career. He hasn’t had a hit in years. Brother Resistance, Rapso founder and long time stalwart in the business, thinks it is time to act on the problem. “It comes as if we all have a problem if one of our entertainers is addicted and going down,” he said. “We cannot just close our eyes and pretend it is not happening.” Resistance thanks God for keeping him away from drugs, though he has seen many people he knows fall under the spell of the white horse. “I have seen people with everything reach down to nothing,” he said. “I remember when cocaine was just coming in and everybody was trying it. Somehow I knew this thing was evil. It used to be a posh people drug back then. Look at it now.” Resistance thinks Tuco does not do enough to help addicted artistes. “We need some sort of half-way house or re-hab sanctuary,” he explained. “Somewhere where the artistes will be taken away from the vices; somewhere where they will not be ashamed to admit they have a problem and will not have to face embarrassment.” He noted that Rebirth House and other places do exist, but thinks that the shame associated with drug addiction keeps entertainers from seeking help there. He thinks all the artistes and entertainment organisations should come together and make a place for entertainers only, somewhere removed from the city. A similar place to this is the Promises Rehab center in the US, where entertainers from Diana Ross to Ben Affleck have checked in to get help for their problems. “Until we do that,” Resistance said, “more and more of our artistes will fall by the wayside.” |
I saw this in the guardian and after reading I think it's truly tragic at how we love them one day and when the fall with treat them with such disgrace and disgust.
True...it doesn't make it easy to give them monetary help, but trying to help in any way instead of treating them like dogs is better than none. |
Credits: 140,835
Aryo is some REAL JOKERS buoy.....call ARYO self LOVERS of SOCA MUSIC...WOW....real JOKERS fo TRUE. |
Credits: 687
But putting him down is definitely not helping. I mean, after they put him down, what they think he's gonna use to help ease the pain ? Instead they should be encouraging him and saying that since he's a man that was once a star, he could rise again. Maybe not musically but in something. Then, he may realize that he doesn't need drugs for a high cuz he gets that high off of the people who support him. |
Credits: 6,463
we have spoken in this topic a few times
Not cause a couple people now catch wind of it makes it news. People dat laughing let them laugh their time will come. There are those who care for him deeply but it is not as easy as taking him off the streets. How many of allyuh have actually dealt with an addict? Not many i could bet. It is a whole different zone. especially if they dont want to be helped. I hope he does beat this habbit. But only time will tell. He has even spoken of the cocaine thing in His tune Rebecca. So its not a new problem. But it has definately gotten the best of him. As for him not having a hit in years the reporter obviously doesnt follow music or else he would know the man tunes have still been boss but arent getting any airplay. But as for now forget he music and lets hope he gets better |
30 Never looked this good
Credits: 17,434
If she's spiritual, and believes in prayer, then that's about all she has at this point. I always say I don't wish addiction on my worst enemy (if it's the addict, or those affected by the addiction indirectly) I truly pray that he rises above this! |
I totally agree, prayer is definitely the answer. I truly hope he gets better before he gets worst or even becomes dead. I would hate to hear that about he bwoy.
But what's even sadder we have so many artiste in the same state like Super, but you don't really hear to much about them. I remember years ago, people talking about General Grant and Baron. It looks like Baron change he situation, but do we truly know. How about General Grant...you really don't hear to much about he now. |
Ms.Allison
Credits: 247