Old 11-01-2007, 03:27 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 11,861
Electronic Soca

Have you guys heard any? I would love to see this development in soca. How bout wunna?
Old 11-01-2007, 05:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mr. BALTIMORE

Credits: 8,065
Follow The Leader by Nigel & Marvin Lewis has an electronic sound
to it. I have always appreciated the energy level of live soca so
to me sounds that are more electronic would be a step backwards.
Old 11-01-2007, 05:40 PM   #3 (permalink)

Well all soca isn't hype. I heard one that was mellow, like trance. I think it would just be another evolution of the music.
Old 11-01-2007, 11:30 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 804
Originally Posted by Redlocks View Post
Follow The Leader by Nigel & Marvin Lewis has an electronic sound
to it. I have always appreciated the energy level of live soca so
to me sounds that are more electronic would be a step backwards.
Me too. Don't you just hate it when you hear one boom song that has all dem kinda electronic effects in it and really makes you move, but den when time come for de artist to perform de same song live dey don't have de same effect on yuh cuz dey can't replicate all dem electronic effects using regular or traditional instruments? You just end up not gettin de same feeling. Plus, too much electronic effects in soca does make it sound too close to techno music, especially when de song really too fast or don't have a strong soca beat to begin with.
Old 11-02-2007, 01:56 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 9,310
Originally Posted by warrior View Post
Have you guys heard any? I would love to see this development in soca. How bout wunna?

Almost all the soca I hear is electronic, and live, it's usually coming from a box.

Development?
Old 11-03-2007, 01:52 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 2,474
Burning Flames made some tunes that had some sort of electronic techno flare to it, meaning the usual riddim box accompanied with some sort of electronic sound or rythym, like Morning Noon and Night, The Wetter The Better, Pappy Show, don't know if I should also include Gym Jam or Spring Chicken.

Also back in 1988, the did an album "Light Years Ahead" were the singing was done with electronic voices something like alvin and the chipmunks, (atleast thats how it sounds when its played over the radio but its regular voices on my cassette)

Lord Nelson and Lord Kitchener did some experimental tunes with disco and pop also back in the late 70's and early 80's.
Old 11-04-2007, 11:07 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 233
Electronic Soca

I think there have already been a few very popular tracks that could considered "Techno" or Electronic. As recent as the Cricket World Cup, there was "Game of Love & Unity" (SHAGGY/ Rupee/ Faye-Ann) That deemed very Techno to me. Also Fireman Hooper from St. Vincent had - "Put Your Hands Up" which was could easily be placed in a techno category. I believe Benjai did "Me Backbone Hurtin Me.." on the same riddim.
Old 11-05-2007, 03:36 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 20,796
Originally Posted by triksta View Post
I think there have already been a few very popular tracks that could considered "Techno" or Electronic. As recent as the Cricket World Cup, there was "Game of Love & Unity" (SHAGGY/ Rupee/ Faye-Ann) That deemed very Techno to me. Also Fireman Hooper from St. Vincent had - "Put Your Hands Up" which was could easily be placed in a techno category. I believe Benjai did "Me Backbone Hurtin Me.." on the same riddim.
uh huh....

www.myspace.com/diggasoca

www.soundsbestwithsoca.com/dematrixshow
Old 11-06-2007, 01:07 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by triksta View Post
I know, I love it. Hopefully I can convince the guy to release the soca trance for crop over and you will get to hear it.
Old 11-06-2007, 02:42 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 20,796
Originally Posted by warrior View Post
I know, I love it. Hopefully I can convince the guy to release the soca trance for crop over and you will get to hear it.
to b real i didnt like d rupee tune frenzy n d world cup song its a weird ting ...even my bredrin's boy tarrus tune ENERGY is similar 2 wot yall call electronic soca!!!

www.myspace.com/diggasoca

www.soundsbestwithsoca.com/dematrixshow
Old 11-09-2007, 09:12 AM   #11 (permalink)
el n00ño

Credits: 14,975

music player

performed by "Eclectik "
Produced by Kasey Phillips & Shawn "Da Ma$tamind" Noel.
Written by Kasey Phillips & Nikholai Greene of Precision Productions.
A Product of RoboMan Music
Old 11-09-2007, 09:22 AM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 3,300
there was big hit out of bim several year. i think it is called kick up yuh leg jump.
Old 12-19-2007, 12:26 AM   #13 (permalink)

Can't Stop by 17 Plus used some electronic beats. Its in the AV room.
Old 12-31-2007, 11:49 PM   #14 (permalink)

This is Seveteen Plus using a little electronics back in the late 80s

Can't Stop-used a distinct electronic beat in it.
http://www.islandmix.com/avroom/avpl...&avroomid=1110

Judy -this had electronics stylisms in it.
Little Judy
http://www.islandmix.com/avroom/avpl...y&avroomid=764

Mary used electric guitars and had a nice electronic beat to the end, I remember this one being a contender for roadmarch in St. thomas back in 87.
Mary
http://www.islandmix.com/avroom/avpl...y&avroomid=766

But to reiterate what someone said earlier, all soca today is electric due the thew rythym box. This band, 17 plus, along with burning flames were among the first in the soca genre to use it back in the mid to late 80s.. There are elements from their music that could be useful for many soca music producers today.
Old 01-01-2008, 10:22 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 140,818
Originally Posted by BFFan View Post
Burning Flames made some tunes that had some sort of electronic techno flare to it, meaning the usual riddim box accompanied with some sort of electronic sound or rythym, like Morning Noon and Night, The Wetter The Better, Pappy Show, don't know if I should also include Gym Jam or Spring Chicken.

Also back in 1988, the did an album "Light Years Ahead" were the singing was done with electronic voices something like alvin and the chipmunks, (atleast thats how it sounds when its played over the radio but its regular voices on my cassette)

Lord Nelson and Lord Kitchener did some experimental tunes with disco and pop also back in the late 70's and early 80's.
I THOUGHT dem FELLAS' VOICES were ALREADY like ALVIN and the CHIPMUNKS?