DJ HOLLYWOOD
Credits: 610
El-a-Kru heats up Trinidad
Friday March 10 2006 by Tahna Weston Fresh from Trinidad’s Carnival, El-A-Kru is reporting a successful trip. Lead female vocalist Tanzania “Tizzy” Sebastian told the SUN the trip was worthwhile. “It was a great experience on road for Carnival Monday and Tuesday playing for 2 P’s and D Pod mas’ troupe. It was a great experience working with them again.” She explained that the band had the opportunity to play all the hottest tunes out of T&T in addition to two of the band’s big hits- Naycha Kid’s Another Man and her Off Limits song. Sebastian said that while in Trinidad they took the opportunity to release Another Man, Off Limits and Maria. She added that the video for Off Limits was also released and is being shown on TV 6, Gayelle TV and Synergy TV. “The music was great and the atmosphere was also good…it’s always a great experience to show what El-A- Kru and Antigua is about. “It was good to re-establish our relationship with the mas’ troupe and T&T and the music… it was a good opportunity to work with them again,” Sebastian said. She added that EL-A-Kru was able to make quite a few contacts and added that the band would in the not too distant future, “do something in Canada, Jamaica and the US.” Sebastian thanked the many individuals, who made their trip to Trinidad possible, including Peter Samuel, one of the members of 2 P’s and D Pod, Cliff Harris and the other Trini crew “for looking out for El-A-Kru while we were in T&T.” The Kru had the official release of Off Limits, on ABS’ Good Morning Antigua & Barbuda last Friday. Sebastian said the response from the Antiguan community has so far has been very great and noted that the band is looking forward to bigger and better things. She said plans are in the pipeline to produce similar videos of the band’s music. She added they may do one from the “Changes” album or from this year’s album, which the band is currently working on in the studios. “We are presently in studio and you can look forward to another great album this year. “It’s going to be hot as usual and bigger and better.” The band has been going to T&T since 1997, but Sebastian has been travelling with them for about five years. |
Your Royal Sexiness
Credits: 127,888
they got good music........love off "limits" and "stand up"
Spitfire
Credits: 243
Thanks for posting the article Power...glad to hear that El A Kru was well received in TNT and that they enjoyed themself on the road. I will have to check out Synergy TV to see if I can ketch de vidyo for "Off Limits" one of my many favorites from the album. Large up Tizzy, Naycha, Blade and the whole crew
I wonder if the video is up on their website |
Phuck arf nuh man!!
Credits: 1,664
Credits: 5,427
I heard Naycha Kid is not with them any more.Anyone know if thats true?
Spitfire
oh lord! I dunno but, I guess somebody will tell us soon enuffwhey is Lady Charmer or Shan 1 when u need dem |
Debble
Credits: 2,756
Credits: 5,427
Credits: 124
what is el a kru basing their success on? This is the first I hearing about dem being in Trinidad. Their presence was very low key.
Credits: 137
I wonder what SHE basing it on? Nachya left them but I hearing a rumour dat he going to another band which I think will bring him down even more... I told you guy's I personally weren't impressed with them live last year nor when I saw then new years. FAbulous C.D yes but to me Nachya is a single artiste he doesn't belong in a band.. 10mins of Nachya is fabulous but more dan that he becomes very boring to me so he would make a great single artiste... He'll be in NYC so you'll see what I'm talking about when he performs as a single artiste compared to whole night as a band member.. |
Debble
Credits: 2,756
rhel sweet
Credits: 9,247
![]() ![]() |
Spitfire
It's sad to hear bout Naycha leaving El A Kru simply b/c it means yet another line up change and dat just can't be good for dem. All i have to say is I feel they need to add a ragga soca artist b/c I fine that element was really nice on the "Changes" album |
Credits: 27
I read that article and I think I understood her saying that the trip as far the job they had went very well. I did not get the impression that she said anything else. I spoke to my buddy(Dwayne) from Halcyon steel band and he told me that they saw them on the road and they sounded excellent. He and some of the guys followed them he said for quite a while and they had a great time.
As far as the Naycha Kid situation, I dont see it as that much of a big deal. The other two vocalists in that group are excellent in their own right. Its now their time. And for me as long as Tizzy is there, thats fiine for me. But thats just me. I think she is awesome. Blade is a great vocalist and I think he is coming into his own now. I expect greater things from him. I wonder who they will have next. But I think they are just fine. If these guys can weather the storm after Byke and the other guys left I dont see why this should be any problem. I'm still a big fan and I wish them all the best. But thats just me. |
Spitfire
I know him daz all I wanted to say ![]() buh I agree wid the ress ah yuh post too |

I wonder if the video is up on their website

I dunno but, I guess somebody will tell us soon enuff

It's sad to hear bout Naycha leaving El A Kru simply b/c it means yet another line up change and dat just can't be good for dem. All i have to say is I feel they need to add a ragga soca artist b/c I fine that element was really nice on the "Changes" album
daz all I wanted to say