islandmix.com register | Connect with Facebook islandmix rss feed | Contact Us | Static Radio Live
Like Tree5Likes

Old 02-22-2012, 11:20 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 13,728
Doh Drag D Flag (2011) vs Pump yuh Flag (2012)

ah wonder if ah hearing things? Dis cyah jus be a coincidence right?

Now I rate Kernal eh...but no wonder power soca fail dis year. Take ah holiday...go in d bush...up ah mountain...anywhere yuh cud regroup and get some inspiration cuz dis eh cuttin it.
Old 02-22-2012, 11:53 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 41,208
Cosign
Old 02-23-2012, 12:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Credits: 22,126
I love them both and can’t decide which one I love more so good job Kernal on producing both tracks!!

Both songs are wicked, I hope both artists do follow-ups next year or maybe even a flag song collaboration!!

Watch here, the Grenadians sing at least 50 Jab-Jab songs every year with Tallpree being the worst culprit and no one complains!

As I see it jab-jab is a soca style and jump&wave is another soca style both originating from T&T!!

Once the song is good and gets people partying and getting on mad for carnival or in the fetes then it has served its purpose!

If a Jab-jab or jump&wave song wins Soca Monarch or Road March then better still and congrats to the artist!

Keep up the good work Shal, Machel, Tallpree, Iwer, etc!
We love you all once you keep those hits flowing!

None of those folks sitting down at home and complaining about your songs are paying your bills, it’s the folks that are getting on bad in the fetes to your songs like myself that do!

Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer"
Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London
On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM)
www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd
email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk

Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!!
Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology!
Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!!

Last edited by Socapro; 02-23-2012 at 12:27 AM..
Old 02-23-2012, 07:05 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 58,717
made that comparison as soon as i heard it and even shwocased it on my show .... but hey GO PYA (A being Ass) with it ...lol

Digga D - Unity Krew (UK)

www.twitter.com/diggasoca
www.largeradio.com/ every sundays 4pm to 6pm US (8-11pm UK)
http://calaloo.podOmatic.com
www.ustream.tv/channel/diggasoca
www.myspace.com/diggasoca

Old 02-23-2012, 08:15 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 13,728
Originally Posted by Socapro View Post
I love them both and can’t decide which one I love more so good job Kernal on producing both tracks!!

Both songs are wicked, I hope both artists do follow-ups next year or maybe even a flag song collaboration!!

Watch here, the Grenadians sing at least 50 Jab-Jab songs every year with Tallpree being the worst culprit and no one complains!

As I see it jab-jab is a soca style and jump&wave is another soca style both originating from T&T!!

Once the song is good and gets people partying and getting on mad for carnival or in the fetes then it has served its purpose!

If a Jab-jab or jump&wave song wins Soca Monarch or Road March then better still and congrats to the artist!

None of those folks sitting down at home and complaining about your songs are paying your bills, it’s the folks that are getting on bad in the fetes to your songs like myself that do!

*pelts bottle of JERGENS* steupsss...
Old 02-23-2012, 09:50 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 399,776

I wud never recommend you as a DJ to play at a gig. Real talk
Socapro likes this.
Old 02-23-2012, 10:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Originally Posted by T-MAKAA View Post
I wud never recommend you as a DJ to play at a gig. Real talk

I don't need your recommendation as I am already popular enough as a DJ (in fact overworked) and also do my own Jab-Jab and Flag party promotions!!

In fact I DJ less and promote more these days but I do expect my DJs to carry out my 50% minimum Jab-Jab and Jump&Wave music policy at my events or they get the sack!!

And btw my birthday is almost the same day as Machel Montano's (I was born on 26th November and Machel was born on 27th November) so I think we have similar marketing traits and both promote our events properly!
So by the time folks are ready to come to my events the brainwash is complete and they are ready to lap up whatever we have been feeding them on the radio and via our mix-cds!!

It’s all about the Soca Matrix, so please don’t take the red pill before coming to one of my events!

www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd

Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology!

Last edited by Socapro; 02-23-2012 at 10:31 AM..
Old 02-23-2012, 10:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Icon

Credits: 435,701

I swear you does annoy my ass. Was Jesus born in Trinidad too, how bout the pyramids of Egypt, the dead sea scrolls, etc.?

Make me ask you a question....

Let's say 10,000 Igbos were picked up and sailed to the Caribbean. They sold 5K to TnT and 5K to Grenada. You think the ones in TnT got all musical and retained dem culture and the 5K in Grenada just pick spices, work the land and scratch dem buttom?

Please stop disrespecting those who came before you.

ENOUGH, ENOUGH, ENOUGH

-Mahmoud Abbas

Old 02-23-2012, 10:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Originally Posted by Chinks View Post
I swear you does annoy my ass. Was Jesus born in Trinidad too, how bout the pyramids of Egypt, the dead sea scrolls, etc.?

Make me ask you a question....

Let's say 10,000 Igbos were picked up and sailed to the Caribbean. They sold 5K to TnT and 5K to Grenada. You think the ones in TnT got all musical and retained dem culture and the 5K in Grenada just pick spices, work the land and scratch dem buttom?

Please stop disrespecting those who came before you.

I am not disrespecting anyone in fact quite the opposite, I give due respect to all our Soca pioneers!

Stop toting and give Penguin his due respect!!

You obviously don't know the history of Jab-Jab Soca!

It was started in T&T but the Grenadians embraced it and ran with it from 1999 onwards starting with Tallpree’s “Old Woman Alone”.

Here is the very first Jab-Jab Soca track and there were many more from T&T artists before the Grenadians embraced it and ran with it:

Look de devil dey-PENGUIN (1980):
Ljohnb00 likes this.

www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd

Last edited by Socapro; 02-23-2012 at 11:11 AM..
Old 02-23-2012, 10:59 AM   #10 (permalink)
Icon

I don't engage in who record what first. But if that is the claim, then speak in those terms. And not some assness bout Trinis invented Jab Jab...like if we alone retained all ancestral identity.

It makes us; but mainly you and those who think like you look STUPID.

ENOUGH, ENOUGH, ENOUGH

-Mahmoud Abbas

Old 02-23-2012, 11:07 AM   #11 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

I don't engage in who record what first. But if that is the claim, then speak in those terms. And not some assness bout Trinis invented Jab Jab...like if we alone retained all ancestral identity.

It makes us; but mainly you and those who think like you look STUPID.
I said Jab-Jab-Soca, so learn to read properly before pulling out your gun to kill an innocent person who speaking facts!

I could also give you some history on Jab-Jab and Jabmolassie connected with the pitch lake in South Trinidad but I think I better stop now in case you start to tote feelings about that as well but history is history!

www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd

Old 02-23-2012, 11:10 AM   #12 (permalink)
Icon

I said Jab-Jab-Soca, so learn to read properly before pulling out your gun to kill an innocent person who speaking facts!

I could also give you some history on Jab-Jab and Jabmolassie connected with the pitch lake in South Trinidad but I think I better stop now in case you start to tote feelings about that as well but history is history!
You could do and say wha you want. But know that with all the TnT buttom skinning you doing, know that plenty of the greats you talk about blood lines run thru Grenada you jack of an ass.

ENOUGH, ENOUGH, ENOUGH

-Mahmoud Abbas

Old 02-23-2012, 11:16 AM   #13 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

You could do and say wha you want. But know that with all the TnT buttom skinning you doing, know that plenty of the greats you talk about blood lines run thru Grenada you jack of an ass.
I think you are the jack ass, I never denied that fact about some greats with Grenadian bloodline, did you see me do that in any of my posts?

In fact I have Grenadian family too and many of my best friends here in the UK are Grenadian!!

You need to stop being so over-sensitive and quick to tote feeling about what I say! When I talk I try to deal strictly with documented facts that can be proven rather than with pure speculation like some folks here on Imix!

P.S.
Btw, don't be vex with me for deciding that I will defend T&T ‘s honour here on this site!
There is a fella on here that makes it his duty to attack everything Trini with total obsession and lack of logic and I don't see many of you pulling him up!
So what if I decide to redress that imbalance regards the Trini bashing campaign on here?!

www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd

Last edited by Socapro; 02-23-2012 at 11:24 AM..
Old 02-23-2012, 11:21 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 41,244
Jab jab went on the map around that time but since I was small I always new jab in Grenada and when I went trini was mud and my mom ad them would always tell how they would play jab when the was small and sailor mas in Grenada. Dont get me wrong Trinidad is link to soca but they are so much other countries that have soca from times with kitch and dem days but their country is not a popular one so music is not recognized
Socapro likes this.

Greenz till I die ( Pantonic panorama 2011 for me )

Old 02-23-2012, 11:21 AM   #15 (permalink)
Icon

I never denied that fact, did you see me do that in any of my posts?

In fact I have Grenadian family too and many of my best friends here in the UK are Grenadian!!

You need to stop being so over-sensitive and quick to tote feeling about what I say! When I talk I try to deal strictly with documented facts that can be proven rather than with speculation like some folks here on Imix!
Says the guy who ends everything with an (!).

Boy go sap yuh head wid some Alcalado and take ah lil 5 nah.

ENOUGH, ENOUGH, ENOUGH

-Mahmoud Abbas