rum rum and more rum
Credits: 29,581
Do you think soca will be water down???
state you all opinions do you think soca will be water right down in the next 5 years? and starting to sound like r&B or rap? and the true sound of soca disappear?
bódycasi
Credits: 54
i dont think so. not even reggae get it
may groovy soca with a lot of rnb elements ... |
SOCA OR DIE
Credits: 15,817
maybe if the IMIX senior citizens in an attempt to get Susie from Kansas into soca have their way- then it could potentially get watered down, but hopefully, that's why their will always be artists, bands, and musicians that want have a passion for incorporating traditional instruments (pan, tabla, etc), bringing great lyrics, and that are not afraid to reach above 150bpm or even 160bpm to make big tunes tunes for the road that will mash up the scene
and those are the bands that I will support |
Credits: 11,825
Yes "Mainstream" is watered down by nature, Rap-heads complain about "commertial hip hop", mainstream country is waterred down, mainstream Rock is waterred down, mainstream Latin american songs tend to be waterred down. So as soca artist try to go mainstream the music they produce will become watered down. Now this is not a bad thing, it is just a thing. The more "hard core" a cultural item is the more it will appeal to people of that (and similar) cultures only. No Unless C'bean culture disappears, people will always make soca music, that is just how it is. Bajans will always wuk up stink so people will always make wuk up music, even if it is low quality. Not Exactly Well culture is always evolving and soca will change. The mixing of RnB, Dancehall, Rap, Rock... with soca is actually health, and should happen once it is the heart of the people/singer, Edwin mix RnB with soca all the time and look at the Coconut Tree riddim. So 'the true sound of soca disappear' or soca make not be present in soca come 2047 but it would have just evolve out and not been "taken" out. Something Interesting Might Happen If soca does disappear, a new music will appear to meet the cultural need of the people. |
Credits: 9,004
Not if you're a producer. You're in production....no? Or is it just a name? I never did understand why Soca fans get so freaked out about the music being done in different styles, you choose the style you prefer.