#31 (permalink) |
Todays DJ's SUCK! they dont know sh!t about music. Dj's had to wheel tunes back in the days in a reggae dance because they had too not because they wanted too! Back in the days once a selector played a wicked tune the crowd would make sooooo much noise that the dj HAD to wheel the tune. Now the DJ wheels a tune and talks just because he feels like it. Just because you like a tune doesnt mean that it should be wheeled! Soca tunes should NEVER be wheeled! if it is a wicked soca song then you use your MIXING skills to restart the song!
My favorite new trick is the wheel over mix trick! To all the new DJ's reading this........... YOU SUCK! |
#32 (permalink) |
Member Since 1998
Credits: 1,885
Well Well Well!!!!! This has been some interesting reading, I must say. For soooo many years I have been saying that the ART OF MIXING soca has gone. Imagine I had played at a fete and there was NO mic. Well, this one DJ wanted to know where the mic was. When he was told there wasn't any, d man start to carry on about he can't dj without a mic. Steupssss!!!
You just can't mix soca like reggae/dancehall. All this damm juggling shyte. Let the music play. I mean 2 versus and wheeeeeeeeeeeeellll it off to the next track? C'mon!!!!It seems the attention span is getting less and less. I would like to dance with a lady for more than 2 songs. The way some of these new dj's play 2day, that's not likely to happen. Then having some sound effects to cover up there lack of mixing skillz. More Steupsssss!!! DJ's - LEAD AND NOT FOLLOW OTHERS. DO YOUR OWN THING. As for alot of DJ's on a card. It's a promoter thing. The dj will have his following. Hence, more money for the promoter. Anyway, that's my mix on this. Bless |
#33 (permalink) |
SAME SH!T DIFFERNT TOILET
Credits: 780
and when dem wheel a tune 3, 4 or 5 times...
Its annoying... |
#34 (permalink) | |
SAME SH!T DIFFERNT TOILET
Credits: 780
#35 (permalink) |
TenderRubberWaistLuva
Credits: 932
Well waw, finally a thread about the shit i been complainin about for a while now.
I am happy to see i am not the only one who feels this way about the shit that is goin on with some of these blasted so called djs, i would surely call them MJs instead{mic jockeys} cuz is talk they talk all the friggin time. I ain fraid no one so i will name a few that been flopin up lately, infiniti sound full ah shit like crab, them is the 20second ray ray blah blah djs that treat soca like reggae and love to hear them own stinking mouth. Young Cow used to be my boy when he was younger, used to pelt some style that the other djs ain pelt the whole party, now he gettin he wood suck he feel he gotta air his mouth and follow them other fool fool boys. For what i hear natural freaks got a problem with me and to them i say suck yuhself, yuh fulla shit too. Used to be good, but likin yuhself too much as well. There are a few others but i ain really know the name. I in party every weekend so trust me i know how that shit is, and so far i have been disappointed by every fete since except the trini boom flex, and the one in reflections with sherwayne. That is why i love Sokalyso so much you hear chunes for days and if you hear anything repeated it is just a few tunes and is not close at all. The djs play the song almost to the end and they keep kool no talkin just mixing, they ain need to air their mouth to let themselves be known or wheele no song becuz they feel that shit is cute. The crowd hype up over the selections played. |
#36 (permalink) | |
Culture First
Credits: 344
#37 (permalink) | |
Credits: 386
and to make it worse 103.1 also have a 12 year old on the station little rage. well the child only talkin talkin talkin and he not even talkin clear. The older dj's shouldnt even let him touch the mic let him learn the art of disc jockeying let him learn how to operate the fader and ting instead of the talk over button. it is a shame. I dis agree that there are no good dj's though it have plenty good dj's but there true skill isnt seen because of talkin and the forwardin of tunes. But I know of dj's who know how to handle they self when time come |
#38 (permalink) |
TenderRubberWaistLuva
Credits: 932
I will agree that there are some good DJs that i have heard play so far, they know how to mix in the songs and they give you a good song selection as well as let the songs play. For what i have seen so far i can say close connection, Back 2 Basics, foreign bass, Boom, as well as a couple other that names i am not familiar with so far due to lack of exposure, but i will know the names soon enough, sorry if i missed out any names.
But this talkin shit gots to stop, that is the main reason i do not listen to any of the radio stations, when i am on my way to a fete i usully tune in to either 103.1, 104.7 or 95.1 to hype me up, and usually in the space of time it takes me to drive, most of the time i gotta keep switchin between stations becuz of the talkin. Sometimes you do get a nice selection of music played on the radio, i mean real bad chunes and thing, songs you know about but dont hear in the fete, when the same djs come to a fete you dont hear these songs, instead you get the same songs that the last dj played and in the same order, is like they playin one cd with the mix of songs on it. |
#39 (permalink) | |
CTA VP of Local Affairs
Credits: 28,179
A disrespectfull caller will never be heard no matter what they said and how on point it was. You can't fault YC for that one. I see no reason why any on air personality needs to ignore when someone does that on the air live. |
#40 (permalink) | |
look meh!
Credits: 1,717
#41 (permalink) |
Humbled
Credits: 1,034
STOP COMPLAINING AND DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT IS WHAT I SAY LOL. NEXT TIME U SEE A DJ WHEY CHAT TOO MUCH GO UP AND SAY YO
(NO ONE HAS TO KNOW WHAT U SAID TO HIM/HER) GET ENOUGH OF YOUR FRIENDS TO DO IT AND WATCH THE DJ CHANGE!!! |
#42 (permalink) | |
Credits: 8,876
IVe done it |
Aye YOU...
question......

C'mon!!!!
now you about 10 lines up to get their chance to play..
(NO ONE HAS TO KNOW WHAT U SAID TO HIM/HER) GET ENOUGH OF YOUR FRIENDS TO DO IT AND WATCH THE DJ CHANGE!!!